We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simple hotel with the best location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elphinstone Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elphinstone Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Noida, India
Level Contributor
192 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“simple hotel with the best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

i stayed here for only 1 night and it was worth staying here.The room and the bathroom were big enough.The hotel atmosphere was very good.The flowers outside the room were really beautiful.The location is at the starting of the Mall Road,it is also close to the lake entry from where you can get a boat.The hotel is cheap and homely.The parking and the service,both are good and well-organised.Overall,it is a pleasant hotel,recommended.

Room Tip: take the room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anantjain26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    55
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
71
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

very good service. clean, nice and tidy. got the capability to become the best in class in its area with 24/7 hot water. nice and friendly staffs.
Advisable to prebook this hotel as it full almost all year round. parking is a bit of trouble with unavailability of enough space.
Bfast quality is pretty good considering the indian menu of Aloo ke paranthe.

for me the best rooms are the cheapest ones as they have the huge lawn balcony attached to them. here one can relax and enjoy the full panoramic view of the lake.

Room Tip: the lowest cost rooms with lawn facing the lake. btw all rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rchaterji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 02 Nights / 03 Days with my family.

A good hotel, total value for money. the first hotel on the mall road, close to the mall road toll gate, tallital rickshaw stand and the bus stand, thus making your travelling easy. Boat ride is just across the road. If you are travelling by your own car then the parking is too far off.

Room Service is good. Behaviour of the staff is excellent. Food is good but restricted choice of menu, price reasonable. The rooms have beautiful garden in front in the ground floor or a common balcony for the 1st & 2nd floor rooms. You sit in the garden/balcony and you get view of the Lake .The view is so good that you can just sit there for hours together...

The rooms are huge in size and so are the bathrooms. You get a sitting area in almost room which is a luxury in most hotels in Nainital.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalgaon, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

During my stay at Nainital , i stayed at this Hotel .The hotel is situated just opposite naini Lake only the Mall road in between . The rooms have beautiful garden in front .you sit in the Garden and you get full panaromic view of the Lake .The view is so good that you can just sit there for hours together unwinding .Morning start with a Cup of coffee sitting in the garden , afternoon go site seeing , evening just get down and stroll on Mall road ........best way to spend Holidays .

Room Tip: If you are travelling by your own car , please negotiate Parking along with booking itself otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pramodjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The best selling point of this hotel is the view of the lake from its rooms & garden. I started scouting from the other end of the mall and reached this hotel at last and immediately agreed for it.

This place is a colonial structure built originally in 1920 but was taken over and renovated/extended by its current owner. The sheer size of the property can tell you that it is not one of the usual small & tacky hotels you find on the mall. As soon as you enter the garden, you will see a sculpture of Queen Elizabeth from pre colonial era. You will also see the huge idol of Lord Shiva built in 1970's in their garden. The place exudes charm and if you have taste for beauty, you will love staying here. Being on the Mall Road adds another benefit that you can just walk or get a rickshaw from the rickshaw stand nearby.

The rooms are average and are still of the same architecture as they were 50 years ago. The only thing which has changed is the paint and lights. BUT the rooms are HUGE and so are the bathrooms. You get a sitting area in every room which is a luxury in most hotels in Nainital.

The service is excellent. Please ask for a waiter called Devender who is a cheerful fellow and will help you out of orders for food, sightseeing, history of the property, etc. He is a really nice chap and one of the reasons you would want to come to this hotel.

The only con for this place is their manager's BAD Attitude. If the management is reading this review, get a decent manager.

Room Tip: Go for rooms at the garden level. This way, you can enjoy the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discoverer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

On the Mall Road. First hotel on the mall.
Has an amazing location and gives a splendid view of the lake unlike any other over expensive, over hyped hotels.
Complete value for money. Big spacious, airy rooms.
Has its own parking also which is a major issue there in Nainital.
Big balconies in front of the room.
You can enjoy your tea just outside your room overlooking lush green trees and the serene lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHANANJAYATREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is the awesome hotel and value for money. We stayed in room no 48 and its the perfect lake facing room and the view from hotel is heavenly. We spend 2 hours in searching for any good hotel in mall road, as were not able to do online booking before visiting. After viewing other hotels on mall road we decided to stay here, and lucky to get room no 48, as it was on top floor the view from room perfectly beautiful to view lake, if you are nature lover then this is the best hotel and rooms service is also very good and staff is very friendly and help full. it has a beautiful lawn outside where you can relax and view the nature beauty. But if you wan to get food in hotel the choices are less in menu and food is ok ok and there should be some more modifications in hotel like escalators should be there as it has too many staircases to climb. On our checkout we left at 11am, but our volvo was at night and the best part was that they provide you room to keep your luggage even after checkout and you can also spend your time in the guest room after checkout which we did as it rained heavily on that day. Overall it was a wonderful experience and we would surely visit again.

Room Tip: Top floors with lake view and natures beauty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#8 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#23 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krishna
Hotel Krishna
#15 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphinstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphinstone Hotel

Property: Elphinstone Hotel
Address: Mall Road, Nainital 263002, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphinstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing