We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beat the heat @ Naini Retreat”
Review of The Naini Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Naini Retreat
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beat the heat @ Naini Retreat”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We reached Nainital on the night of 1st May 2013 from Mumbai via Delhi. We were greeted with a chill breeze the moment we stepped the gate of Naini Retreat. Shivered down through some steep steps to reach the reception area which was lit with beautiful earthen lamps and brass pots from where we were guided to our room. The garden area was awesome with a beautiful fountain in the centre, camp fire on one side and a live orchestra playing some old melodious songs. I must admit that the guy has a really sweet voice.
The warmth of the room makes you feel good. We had a garden facing room and could hear the music from the porch. The food and the staff @ the restaurant were very good. The staffs @ Gurney House- the restaurant are very nice. They give individual attention and see to it that we are satisfied with the service. The breeze and the view from the garden are lovely. One can see the mountain top which you can visit by cable cars. Beautiful landscape, gardens in full bloom, cool climate all makes stay @ Naini retreat memorable. It has a very well maintained garden with beautiful flowers of different types and size. My 9 year old son was so happy and excited seeing the flowers that he was out with the camera whenever he got the opportunity. Only after I came back I realized that the camera has more pics of the beautiful garden than any of ours.
The hotel also has a boutique which sells Dress materials, western outfits, handmade woolen garments, accessories, bags etc. We did some shopping from there too. The lady attending you in the boutique is also very down to earth. The only thing I missed having a spa treatment as we stayed for only 3 nights. Though we intended to stay at one of the other hotels managed by Leisure hotels @ Corbett, we did not get the booking and had to come back to Naini, but we did not regret coming back because we were so comfortable with the entire atmosphere and stay here. The only disappointing thing here is the steep steps climbing to the main gate especially for elderly people. Otherwise a 9/10.
In short a memorable stay.

Subhiksha Pramod

Room Tip: Choose a garden facing room or Naini lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SubhiPramod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderfuI & Detaled comments about us . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your detailed feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest once again.
Kind regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    236
    38
    7
    11
See reviews for
411
189
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bhavnagar, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

we went to this resort on 29th april 13 to 1st may 2013. this is fantastic resort, food is excellent, staff is nice, you will definitely love this property. one should go for superior room since this rooms are garden facing. you can enjoy camp fire, music in the night.. you can enjoy best of foods and some play activity. garden is well maintained, but this resort is little on hill side so if you have your taxi or own vehicle there is no problem, however resort is providing their car also for going to market during day time..Go for this property you will enjoy and relax...

Room Tip: select superior room ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Mr Anand
Thank you for your wonderfuI words about the property , Services & food . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest again & again .
Kind regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked our stay at the Naini Retreat through Umesh @ Leisure Hotels and arrived at Nainital on 27th April. The view from Naini is great, especially from the garden facing rooms (we were thankfully upgraded to a garden facing room from a deluxe room). Breakfast in the garden amidst greenery and cool morning breeze overlooking mountains and the lake was enchanting to say the least. Their service is v.good and they make sure guests have a good time at the hotel. We sure had a good time and would love to visit again. Rooms are pretty good, the food is ok, and the pick up and drop service from the hotel to the mall road is a boon, if you dont have your own vehicle. Unfortunately, the pick up and drop facility is ON only upto 7 PM in the evening, and that is the only negative really about this place because a). you wont find taxis easily to go up to the hotel and b). walking up could be very tiring given the steep slope of almost a 750m - 1000m or thereabouts.

Room Tip: look for the garden facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravirpurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest ( Mr Ravi )
Thank you for your wonderfuI comments about the property & hospitality . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest once again.
Kind regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We reached Naini Retreat late late at night around 2 am on the 14th of April. Front office manager Prem Mehra had hot dinner waiting for us though we were too tired to eat by that time.
From 15th to the 22nd it was a wonderful experience for us.The resort itself has the charm of yesteryear with the present day facilities. The grounds are well maintained and the garden facing room that we had was the appropriate choice for us. The food at Gurney House was delectable and we enjoyed the personal attention that we received from the wait staff, the room staff and the hotel people in general.
The hotel has a live band every night and it made the evening that much more enjoyable and it allowed guests to gather at the bonfire in the court yard and make friends.
The band were generous enough to allow guests to sing with them and I attach a link here of a video of some such singing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PrOAAhDnsbg&list=UU-vSZM2jbOl_Mamuee4y3vw&index=1
We particularly like to thank the manager of the resort Mr Anand Mehta for his kind courtesy that made our stay very enjoyable.

Randhir and Sarla Jesrani. Columbus Ohio USA

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agiman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir ( Mrs & Mr Jesrani )
Thank you for your wonderfuI comments about property & hospitality . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest again & again . pls do not forget us .
Kind regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Amazing views. Comfortable rooms. Spa treatments. Courtesy car down to the mall or an easy walk. Only slight disappointment was that they advertised a gym which wasn't open yet. Lots of different room types to suit different needs. Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nooj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderfuI words about the property , d . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest once again.
Kind regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

When we reached the hotel, at around 9 o clock in the night, through the steep winding tracks... the view of the hill station that hit us as we got off the vehicle was nothing less than breathtaking. It was so gorgeous that it kinda made the whole trip for us. And the lovely garden view rooms with the back entrance, on the ground floor, were a gorgeous addition to the whole experience.

Good food, great service... all in all, an excellent experience.

Ps: its on a hill in a secluded spot but is actually just a 5min walk downhill to the mall road.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderfuI comments about the property , Services & food . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest once again.
Kind regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great place to stay and only a short walk into the town (coming back is up hill a different matter but a good workout).
Staff are very attentive and nothing is a bother. Husband enjoyed his trip around the peaks with a sporty member of staff. Great selection on the menu and plenty of choices for breakfast. Omelette maker is world class (best in India).
The beds were a bit hard but we all have different likes.
Thanks to all at the Naini Retreat for making our second to last stop in India such an enjoyable time.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room ask to have it changed. We did as first room (305) had all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderfuI comments about the property , Food & Services . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest once again.
Kind regards
A.s.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.4 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#12 of 50 in Nainital
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#7 of 50 in Nainital
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.7 mi away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#5 of 50 in Nainital
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#15 of 50 in Nainital
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naini Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naini Retreat

Property: The Naini Retreat
Address: Ayarpatta Slopes, | Mallital,, Nainital 263001, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nainital
#1 Family Hotel in Nainital
#1 Spa Hotel in Nainital
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Naini Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wrapped in quiet Himalayas, Nainital is one of India's most elite hill stations. Once the residence of Maharaja of Pilibhit, The Naini Retreat, one of the finest hotels in Nainital, has a majestic building exuding an Old World Charm that houses the most modern luxuries one could ask for. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Nainital. Furnished with all the modern day amenities, the Hotel blends the world of hospitality with exceptional services for each of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Naini Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital
Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing