We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque and good service”
Review of The Naini Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Naini Retreat
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Picturesque and good service”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked our stay at the Naini Retreat through Umesh @ Leisure Hotels and arrived at Nainital on 27th April. The view from Naini is great, especially from the garden facing rooms (we were thankfully upgraded to a garden facing room from a deluxe room). Breakfast in the garden amidst greenery and cool morning breeze overlooking mountains and the lake was enchanting to say the least. Their service is v.good and they make sure guests have a good time at the hotel. We sure had a good time and would love to visit again. Rooms are pretty good, the food is ok, and the pick up and drop service from the hotel to the mall road is a boon, if you dont have your own vehicle. Unfortunately, the pick up and drop facility is ON only upto 7 PM in the evening, and that is the only negative really about this place because a). you wont find taxis easily to go up to the hotel and b). walking up could be very tiring given the steep slope of almost a 750m - 1000m or thereabouts.

Room Tip: look for the garden facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravirpurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest ( Mr Ravi )
Thank you for your wonderfuI comments about the property & hospitality . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest once again.
Kind regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    235
    37
    7
    11
See reviews for
405
187
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We reached Naini Retreat late late at night around 2 am on the 14th of April. Front office manager Prem Mehra had hot dinner waiting for us though we were too tired to eat by that time.
From 15th to the 22nd it was a wonderful experience for us.The resort itself has the charm of yesteryear with the present day facilities. The grounds are well maintained and the garden facing room that we had was the appropriate choice for us. The food at Gurney House was delectable and we enjoyed the personal attention that we received from the wait staff, the room staff and the hotel people in general.
The hotel has a live band every night and it made the evening that much more enjoyable and it allowed guests to gather at the bonfire in the court yard and make friends.
The band were generous enough to allow guests to sing with them and I attach a link here of a video of some such singing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PrOAAhDnsbg&list=UU-vSZM2jbOl_Mamuee4y3vw&index=1
We particularly like to thank the manager of the resort Mr Anand Mehta for his kind courtesy that made our stay very enjoyable.

Randhir and Sarla Jesrani. Columbus Ohio USA

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agiman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir ( Mrs & Mr Jesrani )
Thank you for your wonderfuI comments about property & hospitality . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest again & again . pls do not forget us .
Kind regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Amazing views. Comfortable rooms. Spa treatments. Courtesy car down to the mall or an easy walk. Only slight disappointment was that they advertised a gym which wasn't open yet. Lots of different room types to suit different needs. Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nooj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderfuI words about the property , d . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest once again.
Kind regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

When we reached the hotel, at around 9 o clock in the night, through the steep winding tracks... the view of the hill station that hit us as we got off the vehicle was nothing less than breathtaking. It was so gorgeous that it kinda made the whole trip for us. And the lovely garden view rooms with the back entrance, on the ground floor, were a gorgeous addition to the whole experience.

Good food, great service... all in all, an excellent experience.

Ps: its on a hill in a secluded spot but is actually just a 5min walk downhill to the mall road.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderfuI comments about the property , Services & food . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest once again.
Kind regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great place to stay and only a short walk into the town (coming back is up hill a different matter but a good workout).
Staff are very attentive and nothing is a bother. Husband enjoyed his trip around the peaks with a sporty member of staff. Great selection on the menu and plenty of choices for breakfast. Omelette maker is world class (best in India).
The beds were a bit hard but we all have different likes.
Thanks to all at the Naini Retreat for making our second to last stop in India such an enjoyable time.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room ask to have it changed. We did as first room (305) had all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderfuI comments about the property , Food & Services . We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback highly motivates us. Our goal is to provide our guests with warm, efficient and personalised service We look forward to having you as our guest once again.
Kind regards
A.s.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

See the hotel has best location as far as the view the view from hotel and the garden , fountain and outdoor sitting is concerned . But the problem is you need 10 min drive from mall to reach hotel. And even the stairs from parking to reception, sometimes you feel so tired to board car. The staff is very co operative and make every effort to make your stay comfortable. Though you will miss bathroom sleepers, shaving kit and other amenities in room but no regret to sacrifice these for such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Regards at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Greetings
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your feedback with our team. Please note some of the supplies are on demand . We do believe in personalized and exceptional service. We value your patronage and sincerely look forward to your next visit to serve you and exceed expectations.
Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This place is awesome! Its a perfect mix of luxury, serenity, old-world-charm and the best part is you never feel you are in a resort/hotel but always amidst Nainital!

We were a group of 7 and took 2 rooms.. Never felt packed and the rooms were next to each other. The breakfast spread was apt with good mix of Indian/Continental preparations..

Room service was good, though toilets can be refurbished a bit. Also, if they can extend the free pickup from Mall till 9PM, it would be icing over the cake. The live music is good, but need to keep the quality in mind,.

Would whole-heartedly recommend friends to stay there..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerInPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Greetings
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your feedback with our team. We do believe in personalized and exceptional service. We value your patronage and sincerely look forward to your next visit to serve you and exceed expectations. Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.4 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#13 of 49 in Nainital
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#6 of 49 in Nainital
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 49 in Nainital
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#7 of 49 in Nainital
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naini Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naini Retreat

Property: The Naini Retreat
Address: Ayarpatta Slopes, | Mallital,, Nainital 263001, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nainital
#1 Spa Hotel in Nainital
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nainital
#1 Family Hotel in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Naini Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wrapped in quiet Himalayas, Nainital is one of India's most elite hill stations. Once the residence of Maharaja of Pilibhit, The Naini Retreat, one of the finest hotels in Nainital, has a majestic building exuding an Old World Charm that houses the most modern luxuries one could ask for. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Nainital. Furnished with all the modern day amenities, the Hotel blends the world of hospitality with exceptional services for each of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Naini Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital
Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing