We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high priced heritage hotel !”
Review of The Naini Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Naini Retreat
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A heritage hotel which promises a lot but fell below our expectations. Senior citizens and those with leg problem will find this place unsuitable as entry to the reception and hotel is down a flight of stairs and thereafter more stairs to climb up and down before one reaches the lake view rooms. That itself is a misnomer..one has to peer through the tree cover to get a glimpse of the lake. The rooms are well done and furniture and furnishings very contemporary...the wooden ceiling are done beautifully with a polished finish. The bathroom though small does not have a bath tub, needed to soak in during the cold weather. The Gurney House restaurant serves Indian, Chinese, and continental food ...the place is done up with memoralia of the royal family spread on the counter tops and at strategic places. The fireplace gives a feeling of warmth. Found the reception staff rather stiff and not really friendly and forthcoming in helping with information on places of interest to visit. Housekeeping staff and restaurant staff were efficient and very polite and ready to attend to any malfuncting. Comfortable but little pricey specially in winter when occupancy rate is practically 2%

Room Tip: Do not get persuaded to take the lake facing rooms...rather opt for the rooms on the higher floor, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please accept our sincere thanks for sharing your review. We are very happy to know that you had a memorable vacation at The Naini Retreat , Nainital .

We request you to come over again and stay with us for another wonderful vacation Hope to see you soon.
Warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 762 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Naini Retreat made our Nainital visit so much better and complete. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, even in the peak winter, and is flooded with light and air. Wonderful food and extraordinary service. The decor is unparallel and difficult to match with any good hotels I've stayed in anywhere in the world. Fabulous hotel. Go for it for a complete experience of the beautiful hilly getaway.

Room Tip: Go for the duplex, if travelling with children. Awesome experience for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sha0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please accept our sincere thanks for sharing your review. We are very happy to know that you had a memorable vacation at The Naini Retreat , Nainital .

We request you to come over again and stay with us for another wonderful vacation Hope to see you soon.
Warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very comfortable stay. We chose the garden view rooms which had a nice sit-out area in front and a fountain that lent it quite a character and we loved sipping our morning tea there.The property is a royal palace converted into a hotel owned my the maharaja of pilibhit .The restaurant outside seating offered a beautiful scene of the lakes and the mallroad just looked like a golden necklace around it.The food was very delicious
We all had a nice time , especially in evening with bonfire and live singing it was a great experience .

Room Tip: Rooms opening towards the garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulRathore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please accept our sincere thanks for sharing your review. We are very happy to know that you had a memorable vacation at The Naini Retreat , Nainital .

We request you to come over again and stay with us for another wonderful vacation Hope to see you soon.
Warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Staying here is a heavenly experience.staff is good hotel is well maintained.we were welcomed with welcome drinks and snacks,had clear wonderful full view of Nainital Lake and the beautiful houses on the hill.Rooms were quite cozy and warm..i would recommend this hotel for everyone,one can blindly go for it.The hotel is well located and offers the serenity that one looks for in such hill stations..

THe food is delicious and served hot even in room service which is quite commendable considering that the kitchen is a far way off from the suites.One thing was cooked on spot like pasta.

Room Tip: For Families-Suite rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InvulnerableArjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please accept our sincere thanks for sharing your review. We are very happy to know that you had a memorable vacation at The Naini Retreat , Nainital .

We request you to come over again and stay with us for another wonderful vacation Hope to see you soon.
Warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

staying here is a heavenly experience.staff is good hotel is well maintained.we were welcomed with flowers and delicious cookies.dinner was mind blowing.heavenly food i must say.i would recommend this hotel for everyone,one can blindly go for it.it was beyond our expectation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vab1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please accept our sincere thanks for sharing your review. We are very happy to know that you had a memorable vacation at The Naini Retreat , Nainital .

We request you to come over again and stay with us for another wonderful vacation Hope to see you soon.
Warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were a family of 9 incl 3 kids staying for new year 2013... the service was impeccable and the staff went out of the way to make our stay comfortable. We stayed in their suites which I would recommend to any one travelling with kids. The food is good, served piping hot even in room service which is quite commendable considering that the kitchen is a far way off from the suites. The hotel is well located and offers the serenity that one looks for in such hill stations.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie-sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please accept our sincere thanks for sharing your review. We are very happy to know that you had a memorable vacation at The Naini Retreat , Nainital .

We request you to come over again and stay with us for another wonderful vacation Hope to see you soon.
Warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Naini Retreat, Nainital.
We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during December’12. While reaching hotel we felt long internal road is taking us to the hotel but, then hotel’s location was such that we had clear wonderful full view of Nainital Lake and the beautiful houses on the hill.
Rooms were quite cozy and warm although washrooms size was bit tight. The good thing about this hotel was restaurant served delicious food and every time we went for breakfast & dinner they offered us one item which, was cooked on the spot and we really enjoyed having, of-course tasty hot soup always was good to start with.
Staying in this hotel is recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel offers wonderful full view of Nainital Lake and the beautiful houses on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManojZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please accept our sincere thanks for sharing your review. We are very happy to know that you had a memorable vacation at The Naini Retreat , Nainital .

We request you to come over again and stay with us for another wonderful vacation Hope to see you soon.
Warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
09760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 51 in Nainital
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.6 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#6 of 51 in Nainital
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#8 of 51 in Nainital
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#5 of 51 in Nainital
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naini Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naini Retreat

Address: Ayarpatta Slopes, | Mallital,, Nainital 263001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nainital
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nainital
#1 Family Hotel in Nainital
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nainital
Price Range: $106 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Naini Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wrapped in quiet Himalayas, Nainital is one of India's most elite hill stations. Once the residence of Maharaja of Pilibhit, The Naini Retreat, one of the finest hotels in Nainital, has a majestic building exuding an Old World Charm that houses the most modern luxuries one could ask for. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Nainital. Furnished with all the modern day amenities, the Hotel blends the world of hospitality with exceptional services for each of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Naini Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital
Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing