We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stay At The Naini Retreat : Rejuvenating experience. (Colonial Era Charm - Bravo)”
Review of The Naini Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Naini Retreat
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Greetings

This is Pranav Mehta here. My Family (My Parents) and I Stayed at the Naini Retreat for a Good 8 days period in one of the Lake Facing room's which the hotel offers. And I must say that the experience was really nice. We had a pleasant and a memorable stay at the hotel -

{however there are some points which I would like to mention, wherein ceratin quality improvisation on the same would be really fruitful for the hotel and worth the money spent from customer/client/guest perspective, please. PFA the feedback in points B.), C.) and D.) of this review.}

Of the staff with whom major interactions had taken place whilst in the hotel during our stay (including) - 1.) Mr. Prem, Mr. Mehta, Mr. Ranjeet @ the front desk & 2.) Mr. Jalal, Mr. Bungla, Mr Anand, Mr. Harish, Mr. Anup and above all Mr. Mahendra (the chef) in the restaurant and all the other member's of the hotel whose name's are not mentioned in this list, were all very courteous enough to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Also to mention, that they were always there/present to..listen to and cater to our personal requests.

For Your Reference and Kind Perusal:

A.) Hotel's Location - Two Thumbs Up.

B.) The Room (Lakeview room) - Though little small for triple occupancy, it has a very nice private sit-out overlooking the lake and nainital town, accessible from the room. Overall the room was good with decent interiors and spacious bathroom. It had an ethnic charm. Ammenities provided were good.

There was some issue of dust particles constantly falling from the ceiling in the bathroom/basin area, which was taken care-off appropriately by Mr. Prem when informed regaring the same.

Hot water was available most of the times during morning hours and also at night (though the hotel needs to work on "actual - 24 hours" Hot water service., being a Luxury Hotel, located in one of the coldest regions in India - Uttarakhand, + for guests visiting in Winter when the tempratures range from minus/0 degrees - 7/8 degrees etc. Hot Water in the room is a basic requirement and a must).

Rationing on usuage of water (when necessary and required) in a luxury hotel shouldn't be the case.

Morning Newspaper, Mineral Water Bottle's (certain specific number) and In-Room Cookies or Fruits must be provided by Hotel's Compliments (once during the day and not only during check-in)., if guests are going for the higher category room's in the hotel., which is the case elsewhere at any given luxury property.

All the above is mentioned as the Hotel Charges a Handsome amount for a day's stay in such a category of room. And these small improvisation's/suggestions would be like a cherry on top of a cake.

C.) Restaurant - has the old world charm and has tastefully decorated interiors and some of the window-side tables offer fantastic views of the lake and nainital (Thumbs Up for that).

The food in terms of make/preparation and variety was good enough, however a certain additions/rotations in the menu for breakfast specifically should be a delight. Cut-Fruits/Whole Fruits were not there in the spread, during breakfast, which I took a note off and would like to request the Management to start providing the same (just to mention that In any luxury property or even in a property which wouldn't be equivalent to the standard's of The Naini Retreat..fruits are always provided during breakfast hours.

D.) The Most Important Factor (which If worked on, would make a lot of positive and meaningful difference) - THE APPROACH TO THE RECEPTION AREA AND further up to the Restaurant and Certain Other Room's from the entrance, "is a task in itself for certain guests especially during the cold and when exhausted post a day's excursion". More So for the people who are aged or for the one's who are not physically fit or able.."the long flight of stair-case which need's to be taken everytime one wants to go out of the hotel or even to reach the reception (in our case), is a big hurdle." !!

We definately had a thrilling experience and would like to return to your hotel some day in the future, by the grace of god.

Room Tip: Lake Facing Rooms are the Best with a private sit-out..!! Though Suit room's are spacious and ca...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManaUtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheeraz A, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff , We have taken a note of your suggestions .

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
The Naini Retreat , Nainital
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for The Naini Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 755 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

In terms of property is concerned its very good and the quality of food is fantastic...People out there are very nice in terms of hospitality....One must visit naini retreat when you planning for Nainital...Special thanx to Mr. Mehta and Prem & Mr. Doonga and also his team..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheeraz A, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
The Naini Retreat , Nainital
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Hi, i am Ashish this is the best vacation ever in my life, it was a great trip. excellent staff services.
i would like to thanks some special staff. Ranjit ( From Front desk ) , Harish Natwal ( From Restaurant ) . your restaurant services can't compare with any one.

i have only one query you should have another disc or dance floor for your guest only.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelhiAshish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheeraz A, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
The Naini Retreat , Nainital
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Just unbeatable hospitality. One of the best experience from all hotels stayed during recent times. We could get prompt help while our car had briken down in ghat at midnight begore arrival. Staff was very cordial even when we reached at 3am in night and excellent food was served. Heritage look and experience is also great.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajit_Yeole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anand m, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Redort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My impression about Nainital before this trip was that while Naintal is a good weekend getaway, it does not have good hotels to stay. I was proven wrong the moment I stepped in to this Leisure Hotel.

All the rooms are spacious and very tidy. One of my benchmarks is the quality of washrooms and here they were absolutely spic and span. The food is home like - neither too spicy nor too oily. The Hotel staff is curteous and serve with a big smile.

Recreational activities include Table Tennis and Snooker. The only lawn is a great place to sit on a wintery afternoon and the same place can be used to have fun in the evening with a bonfire and live band.

I would recommend this property to one and all...

Room Tip: All rooms on the third floor (except 304) are nice. Room 304 is very close to the TT room and also t...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvinderpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheeraz A, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Redort Manager
The Naini Retreat , Nainital
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had a good stay at Nainital at the respective hotel and had a good time. The food was excellent and also the service was good. The staff was also very co-operative and very cordial.

Overall a good experience.

Sukhivinder and Jatinder.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssihra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Sir
Greetings From The Naini Retreat , Nainital

First of all, let me thank you for your valuble time & encouraging feedback to let us know about your satisfaction on TripAdvisor .

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon at the Naini Retreat , nainital


Very warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We loved staying at the naini retreat , property maintaned very neat & clean , rooms are amazing , services are very quick & warm , lots of dishes in buffet , very good car free service to the market , resort is spead in very big area , very good view of lake , heritage bulding look . evenings songs are soothing , we enjoyed bonfire very much . we like to visit nainital again & again & stay only in naini retreat .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manishkDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anand m, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Dear Sir
Greetings From The Naini Retreat , Nainital

First of all, let me thank you for your valuble time & encouraging feedback to let us know about your satisfaction on TripAdvisor .

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon at the Naini Retreat , nainital


Very warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.4 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 50 in Nainital
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#6 of 50 in Nainital
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#9 of 50 in Nainital
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#5 of 50 in Nainital
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naini Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naini Retreat

Address: Ayarpatta Slopes, | Mallital,, Nainital 263001, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nainital
#1 Spa Hotel in Nainital
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nainital
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nainital
Price Range: $100 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Naini Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wrapped in quiet Himalayas, Nainital is one of India's most elite hill stations. Once the residence of Maharaja of Pilibhit, The Naini Retreat, one of the finest hotels in Nainital, has a majestic building exuding an Old World Charm that houses the most modern luxuries one could ask for. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Nainital. Furnished with all the modern day amenities, the Hotel blends the world of hospitality with exceptional services for each of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Naini Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital
Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing