We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hospitality”
Review of The Naini Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Naini Retreat
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Just unbeatable hospitality. One of the best experience from all hotels stayed during recent times. We could get prompt help while our car had briken down in ghat at midnight begore arrival. Staff was very cordial even when we reached at 3am in night and excellent food was served. Heritage look and experience is also great.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajit_Yeole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anand m, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Redort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 778 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

My impression about Nainital before this trip was that while Naintal is a good weekend getaway, it does not have good hotels to stay. I was proven wrong the moment I stepped in to this Leisure Hotel.

All the rooms are spacious and very tidy. One of my benchmarks is the quality of washrooms and here they were absolutely spic and span. The food is home like - neither too spicy nor too oily. The Hotel staff is curteous and serve with a big smile.

Recreational activities include Table Tennis and Snooker. The only lawn is a great place to sit on a wintery afternoon and the same place can be used to have fun in the evening with a bonfire and live band.

I would recommend this property to one and all...

Room Tip: All rooms on the third floor (except 304) are nice. Room 304 is very close to the TT room and also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvinderpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheeraz A, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Redort Manager
The Naini Retreat , Nainital
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had a good stay at Nainital at the respective hotel and had a good time. The food was excellent and also the service was good. The staff was also very co-operative and very cordial.

Overall a good experience.

Sukhivinder and Jatinder.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssihra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Sir
Greetings From The Naini Retreat , Nainital

First of all, let me thank you for your valuble time & encouraging feedback to let us know about your satisfaction on TripAdvisor .

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon at the Naini Retreat , nainital


Very warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We loved staying at the naini retreat , property maintaned very neat & clean , rooms are amazing , services are very quick & warm , lots of dishes in buffet , very good car free service to the market , resort is spead in very big area , very good view of lake , heritage bulding look . evenings songs are soothing , we enjoyed bonfire very much . we like to visit nainital again & again & stay only in naini retreat .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manishkDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anand m, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Dear Sir
Greetings From The Naini Retreat , Nainital

First of all, let me thank you for your valuble time & encouraging feedback to let us know about your satisfaction on TripAdvisor .

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon at the Naini Retreat , nainital


Very warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

"Dear tourist, its our pleasure to give our feedback on Naini Retreat , Nainital. It was amazing and awesome experience we had within 6 days of our time in hotel Naini retreat . I could like to appreciate the Services and the hospitality extended to us during our stay .The food is Excelent as usual . Best part is the willingness of the hotel staff to go the extra step for service to the customers.

Room Tip: All the rooms are located very well , But the rooms with a view of Naini lake are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalitChauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anand m, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Dear Sir ,
Greetings from The Naini Retreat , Nainital

Thankyou so much for your wonderful review on trip advisor . We are happy that we have lived up to your expectations and would like to assure you that the same will be maintained at all times.

Sincere Regards
A.S.Mehta & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

It was a wonderful experience for SCALE to have organized the MNRE & UNDP seminar on Solar Water Heater Awareness Program. As a corporate person & Ex-MD of Acer India, I was looking for a hotel in Nainital where I could have the right ambience, infrastructure & professionalism with a human touch. I was happy to have found it here. The staff was trained, caring & polite & the management at the desk & of the hotel was pro-active. Mr Anand Singh Mehta was very supportive & adjusting to our requirements. Mr.Mukund, the owner, though was away but was accessible & pro-active in support. Thanks to all the staff of Naini Retreat

Room Tip: The hotel desk is very competent & proactive to help all the visitors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scaleind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anand m, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Dear Sir

Thankyou so much for your feedback . We are happy that we have lived up to your expectations and would like to assure you that the same will be maintained at all times.

Warm Regards
A.S.Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Well The only disadvantage about this hotel, is its slightly in the interior part of the city - Not in the rush but rather at an extreme end. While getting to the hotel we thought of canceling the booking and staying elsewhere because of the narrow roads we had to go through to reach the hotel which is way deep in Nainital. But once you get there - you feel you made the right decisions. If you are going for a relaxed and pampered lifestyle - Go to Naini retreat. Hospitality at its best. To overcome the issue of the distance at which the hotel is and travel to and fro the city, the hotel has arranged shuttle between 9am and 7pm (not chargeable, its for you to use at ur leisure, so you can call them any time and they just come fast to pick you up)

Very good rooms and views (mountain view and garden view are amazing), excellent food and overwhelming staff is what waits you at the Retreat. They are so concerned about you that they make every effort to comfort you.
Food - is amazing, you would feel more like a Homely food but with restaurant quality. We had a amazing stay @ Nainital and they treated us very well. Options in Veg & Non-Veg food was excellent and even better whenever the fruits or cookies (dont knw if it was part of deal or courtesy the hotel) in your room gets finished its replenished faster .

Proximity to the happenings of Nainital. If you are ready for a good walk (downhil of 10 minutes and depending on your stamina an uphill of 20-30 minutes), there is backdoor option of using the mountains to go down to the Naini Temple and the city.

The City - Its small one and everything is close by. You can walk around and then call up your resort and your genie (like a magic genie that say we are on our way) they come and pick you up.

Room Tip: Rooms with Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashok77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anand m, Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Dear Sir
Greetings from The Naini Retreat , Nainital
Thankyou so much for staying at The Naini Retreat , Nainital , We are very happy to hear that you liked our hospitality & thankyou so much for your experence shared on trip advisor . We like to serve to again .

Warm Regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.4 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 51 in Nainital
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#5 of 51 in Nainital
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sterling Nainital
Sterling Nainital
#4 of 51 in Nainital
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#6 of 51 in Nainital
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#7 of 51 in Nainital
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naini Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naini Retreat

Address: Ayarpatta Slopes, | Mallital,, Nainital 263001, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nainital
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nainital
#1 Spa Hotel in Nainital
#1 Family Hotel in Nainital
Price Range: $88 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Naini Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wrapped in quiet Himalayas, Nainital is one of India's most elite hill stations. Once the residence of Maharaja of Pilibhit, The Naini Retreat, one of the finest hotels in Nainital, has a majestic building exuding an Old World Charm that houses the most modern luxuries one could ask for. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Nainital. Furnished with all the modern day amenities, the Hotel blends the world of hospitality with exceptional services for each of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Naini Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital
Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing