We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and very friendly people!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home Away From Home Nainital
Ranked #30 of 99 Nainital B&B and Inns
delhi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely location and very friendly people!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The rooms are roomy and comfortable if slightly basic, however some bathrooms are slightly smallish. The location is wonderful and the view from the balcony is worth the climb up ( which is quite scary atleast the first time).
The staff is very friendly and willing to help out in any way possible ie regarding any special items of food required etc. The Col is extremely helpful and goes out of his way to guide you regarding enjoying your visit and planning it. He even lent his binoculars to us to enjoy the view. Overall a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajax-hercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I dont want to put too much negativity into this review because Colonel Dangwal is the USP of this place - a sweet charming man, ready to help and very welcoming.

Trouble was - the place was not kept too well - pretty much like someone had earlier stayed and it had not been cleaned up. Agreed it is a budget acco, but he could charge a couple of 100's more and tidy up the place (read bedsheets, shelves, kitchen). Got a fantastic location and he can definitely make a killing out of it by sprucing up the place. Final warning: Not for the faint-hearted! it is pretty much on top of a hill so a steep long climb is on the cards.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were for a holiday of 10 days to Jim Corbett, Nainital, Mussoorie & Haridwar.

We lived in Nainital with Mr. Kiran Dangwal ji at their HOME AWAY FROM HOME, which is really a wonderful Home Stay I have ever visited. Kiran sir is really a genius personality. He not only guided us but he himself took us for a memorable day tour of the lakes in Nainital. He showed us all the lakes like Bhimtal, Navkuchiya tal, Sattal, Nal Damayanti tal & so many hidden lakes in the mountains. He spent full day with us from morning till night. He charged us so less that I think he had paid from his pocket to make the guests happy.

Also next day he took us to the Cave garden point, Himalayan view point etc. for half day tour. It was a complimentary tour for us. It was beyond imagination in this practical world where everybody is looting next person and also hotels are charging tooooooooooo much. He also took us to the local market to buy local sweets like Balmithai, local spices like jambu etc.

We really appreciate his interest with his guests. We had booked 2 suits. His homestay is on 7000 ft. height. & easily approachable by road. We can see the whole Naini lake & Nainital city from our Room’s Terrace. Really beautiful View!!!

The rooms in the suits were very specious, clean, airy, really nice. The suit has a kitchen also. Kiran sir allowed us to use the third suit also. The two boys working with the Colonel were very helpful to us. They helped us for lifting luggage, serving food etc. The food prepared by the boys was tasty & hot.

The retired Colonel Mr.Kiran Dangwal treated us like his family members.
Our children played in his personal suit also & played games on Kiran Sir’s laptop. Kiran sir enjoyed with our children. The colonel love people so he enjoy with his guests. Everybody should stay with his Home Away From Home, Nainital to experience all the things that we had enjoyed. Really Marvelous Personality & his house.

Hats Off to you Kiran ji & to Home Away From Home, Nainital

What else I can say. People will agree me who have visited this place before.

Room Tip: Book Colonel's house in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anaghaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwalior
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Though we never thought we would stay in Nainital as the city was not in our itinerary but we decided to spent a a night there. It so happened that we were touring Sattal the previous day and had a chance meeting with Col. Kiran Dangwal and he invited us to stay at Nainital at his "Home away from Home". Once we made up our mind to go to Nainital, we called up Col but he didn't have the main room available but nonetheless kindly accommodated us in side rooms. The rooms were ok but the beds were not very comfortable but our stay was marvelous. Col. himself is a gem of a person and we had complete access to the whole area and kitchen as well. We requested for Kumaon food and he asked the boy (chef as well as everything) to prepare Bichupatta ki Sabji and other Kumaon delicacies. It was really wonderful and on the top of it, since we couldn't get the main rooms, he didn't charge us for the food. Though we couldn't stay in main rooms but had a look into them. They (rooms) were pretty big, sufficient for a family of 4 with attached kitchen, bath etc and the view from the balcony was fantastic. He (Col Dangwal) has many stories to tell of the area and is a very jolly person. He knows of the area well and it is a good idea to plan excursions with him though we couldn't do so because of the time constraint. I would strongly recommend anyone going to Nainital to stay at "Home away from Home".

Room Tip: Call Col. Kiran Dangwal in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgupta_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I came here for second time, the best view u can get in nainital, affordable and very clean rooms. Karnal Dangwal is very friendly and will share his stories and knowledge. Great home food and a pleasure time being there. Will visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHIVAM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

The stay in this hotel was quite good. The location of the hotel is really marvellous. The outside beauty is really worth watching.Its like an awe. the lake of Nanital is so beautiful that you would have not seen any other like it.Its really worth seeing

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poojaalld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This is a very nice place to be in. I was skeptical to go to this hotel but I saw the review on one of the News channel and decided to book this. Rates are very reasonable and rooms are spacious and clean. They also provide the basic anemities if you want to stay for a longer duration. All in all, a remarkable trip to nainital.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#11 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#27 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krishna
Hotel Krishna
#14 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Dolmaar Resort
Dolmaar Resort
#36 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sweet Home Guest Home
Sweet Home Guest Home
#51 of 99 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Away From Home Nainital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Away From Home Nainital

Property: Home Away From Home Nainital
Address: Zoo Road, Nainital 263002, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing