We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital
Asansol, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

this hotel s situated just beside d lake. view of d lake s great from d topmost rooms. a big parking area for ur car. service prompt, value for money in off-season. on-season rates r a bit over-rated. topmost rooms r a pain to reach for people with weak legs. room was without fan, it can b a problem in summer.

Room Tip: choose lower floor if u have weak legs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyankaRoy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    61
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
80
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jharsuguda, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Location is excellent. Stayed for one night on 13th May,2013. Food is of good quality & of reasonable rate. Staffs are courteous. The USP of the property is its location. The beautiful lake &its surrounding is visible from room itself. Only disadvantage is the height of hotel. Have to climb so many steps to reach the rooms literally panting, particularly for the people from plains. Overall highly recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ujjwal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rooms are huge in size. A little lazy in upkeep but overall value for money. Great location, awesome view. You will be paying pretty much double to the hotels in similar location and there are not many with the kind of location advantage of this hotel. I booked Royel room so not had chance to see any other room.
Staff are courteous and helpful. Speed of service is fine. Breakfast served (part of package) is decent. I would recommend this hotel to any one. I booked online through KMVN site. You won't find this hotel on popular travel portals. I guess being a government controlled property with reasonable price they may not be paying for huge promotion of commission. No matter what people say but I become huge fan of KMVN system. Anyplace you go in Nanital prices are quite reasonable, whether its boating, rikshaw or ropeway, all because of effort of KMVN. Thumbs up to KMVN

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pnj-del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very good view of the Nainital lake from the super deluxe rooms but one has to climb for over 6-7 floors of staircase to reach there. If you are travelling with people who cant climb stairs or have difficulty in climbing stairs please avoid this hotel. They dont have elevators.
Otherwise the view of Nainital and the lake is breathtaking, also the view in the night when the town is lit.
Super deluxe rooms are very good with big balconies and bathrooms are also clean.
Restuarant is good but try the food in the flats and Mall road area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prithvirajbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I did not know that such a nice place exist in Nainital with such a nice location ( just few meters from Nainital Lake).
from our room we could see the beautiful lake all the time while enjoying our morning tea or evening snacks.
Room rates are really affordable , whether its room service , waiters ,or other staff all are really very nice .
Food is very tasty , breakfast is included in the room rent .
I will recommend this place to all my fellow travellers without a hesitation.
from may onwards it will be peak season so please try to book the rooms through their online portal.
Wishing you all a very happy stay.

Room Tip: Try to book through online , do not take help from any travel agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramitmanipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This KMVN property is just near the entrance of city. Take a left turn from the entry point and after a steep climb there is a small parking lot. However, the steepness doesn't end here. As you amble towards the rooms, panting on innumerable steps you start questioning your decision of staying in this Hotel. But as you enter the room, and open the door to balcony, all the oxygen you seemed to have used up comes gushing back to you, carried in the wind from lake, and the view of the lake just refreshes your being. As is usual with KMVN properties it is located at the ideal place, just a few meters up and above the lower banks of the lake. It is removed from the crowded Mall road, and this is its another blessing. The rooms are good, neat and spacious. bathrooms are clean and spacious. There is a big reception area and a dining hall too. Food is good and can be served in room (though a room service tax is charged on that). The service is also good. Near the entrance there is a small open area too. All in all it is a good hotel with excellent view of the lake and the city. Though the only cause of concern is the number of steps. Any group with elderly people should choose the lower level rooms, though the room a at the higher level like super deluxe and executive are the rooms with best view. Sitting in the balcony at night and watching the reflection of city lights in the lake can be a real mesmerizing experience.

Room Tip: If travelling with elderly people, choose the lower level rooms. For good view choose superdelxe or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varunendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This property is a budget hotel with breathtaking lake view from almost all rooms. Rooms are large with good bathrooms & all basic amenities.Food served here is tasty & very reasonable.
Staff is very curteous & helpful. We stayed here for 2 Nights 3 Days. You can ask for room heaters as well incase it is too cold for you. We were fortunate to see snowfall while our stay here in Nainital. Because of bad wheather full nainital was without electricity but we had power back ups in our rooms. Only advise is to keep your windows closed as there are many monkeys around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridhika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#10 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#28 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashok Hotel
Ashok Hotel
#22 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital

Property: KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital
Address: Tallital, Nainital 263002, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing