We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old World Charm...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

The ambience of the Hotel is absolute delight with a touch of old Raj Era with lofty rooms with large corridors. The main attaraction is the lake which is visible in full view from the small Garden of the Hotel.You can actually spend the entire day just watching the activities in the lake.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajdeep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    95
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
121
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

If there ever was an exceptionally located hotel in Nainital untouched by the attempt to fleece in peak season this would be it. I was intrigued by the fact that this hotel only books direct and not through any travel sites as far as i know and thought we will take a chance on this one instead of staying in the typical granite floored chandelier lit hotels we have got so accustomed to. And was i pleasantly surprised. We were not expecting any state of the art rooms and nor did we get it but instead we got the old world charm high ceiling clean bathrooms with exceptional shower pressure to make the rooms doable. And in return for accepting the room we got the best location in Nainital with access to visit the mall at any time of day or night within 20 steps of walk precisely as our little one counted her steps. Took membership to naini club to use their restaurants which is a lovely setting for a drink under the moonlight by the lake!! And yes still at a stones throw from the hotel. So would strongly advise all those with small babies/young kids to give this hotel a try and it pays you back every Penny's worth rather than staying at top of the hills where the bigger more up-market chains are located. And i have not even gone into the details of the views from this hotel as that is for you to discover but yes this hotel is a steal!!For some reason the owners choose not to milk their property and we as guests are grateful that there is someone from the old world refusing to get commercialized and yet maintain a neat clean dignified place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank anni92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

The hotel is nicely located in front of the naini lake and to the end of the mall road.
Rooms were very spacious with a comfortable bed and a bathroom with modern amenties.
Rooms on the first floor are worth the money. Food was OK.
Staff did not even wish us good morning or greet us with a smile. People at reception are always busy on the phone and do not care about guests waiting for their help. room service was bad. we had to remind everything twice to get a particular service. The staff at reception did not bother to guide us for local travel in nainital or give suggestion to travel to nearby places. The waiters who did not serve us also asked for tips. They will repeatedly nudge you for tips.
Overall, except the hospitality, the place is one of the best for budget travellers in peak season.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beach987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Excellent hotel with old charm and good service but the finally during check out be ready to give enough tips!!

Room Tip: Nothing specific
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights. no other hotel on the mall road proides such a nice view of the lake. sit outside your room and enjoy the serenity of lake. the best part was the proximity of of good eating places , of boating counters, of the tibetan market, and obviously the centre of the mall. open space outside the rooms was something kids were waiting for. dont expect too luxury or facilities in the room. but it was a heaven as my kids requirements were easily met. good value for its price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunbands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

I got booking in a guest house but that was not very good. Fortunately walked into hotel GRAND and got a room on 1st floor with fab view of the revered Naini Lake. The balcony runs along the lakeside and my 1 yr old kid enjoyed the most by running here n there. It was really refreshing to sit in the balcony n have tea or drinks. It felt so good. Did not go anywhere, just relaxed myself in the balcony for two days before moving on to Corbett. Hotel staff is good. Hotel Menu does not have too much to offer but they serve tawa chapatti that is more homely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata, west bengal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

This was our third stay at this property. My first was when I was 12 years old, my next trip to this property was with my two daughters and my wife and this last trip was with my daughters wife and mother.

Nothing to beat the charm of sitting out in the verandah and looking out a the lake. A "skoot" away from the boat club and a nice walk away from most of the "distractions" in Nainital.

Enjoy the simplicity and style of the "raj era". In my opinion, the only place to stay if you want to feel Nainital.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amangopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.7 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#10 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#26 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#28 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: The Mall, Nainital 263002, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing