We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay but need some improvements”
Review of Dolmaar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolmaar Resort
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Nainital
Noida, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay but need some improvements”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I booked dolmaar for our vacation as I wanted to stay in peace and relax with family. Dolmaar is an ideal place to stay and visit Nainital. You can visit Nainital during the day, come back and relax here with natural surroundings. Service and food are also good to enjoy.
Coming to the areas of improvements:
1. Stairs have no railings so you need to be very careful while moving up and down.
2. The place is relatively hot so they need to arrange AC.
3. Rooms are good but as its surrounded by nature, one may find spiders, lizards etc in the rooms/bathrooms.
4. Billiards room is there but not well maintained.
5. Shower room of pool was not in good condition.
6. The place should have proper boundary walls for safety. While playing basketball our ball was about to go to the valley but luckily it got stuck on a tree.

Although these can be ignored if you just wanna relax in your room and enjoy nature but for those who want to avail all the activities published, above points may disappoints. I hope they will improve on those points and make it a good place to visit again.

One more thing, in the package they advertised about surprise gift but there wasn't any surprise or any gift ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank manishew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    28
    9
    7
    21
See reviews for
60
17
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Firstly, most reviewers complained that the hotel is too far away from Nainital. YES, it is. But Its clearly mentioned on their website and they do not hide the fact. The hotel is about 8kms from Kathgodam Railway station and 30kms from Nainital.

Being away from Nainital, its not as cool as on the hills and hence best avoided in summer, but the place offers you a quiet time where you can just rest and do nothing much. The hotel is built on the slopes of a hillock looking down into a small valley. There is a pool to relax, they have basketball and badminton facility, but nothing beats having a cup of coffee watching the clouds eclipse the hillocks across the valley. A stream flows through the valley which though not visible from the rooms, gives out a beautiful sound interspersed with chirping from birds.

Overall quality of rooms is basic but good with nothing much to complain. The biggest grouse is with the food. Probably since we traveled in the off-season, our choices were limited, but the meals were minimal and repetitive. Probably because we were restricted because of the package deal, but still we did not find the cuisine to be par excellence. Not bad but slightly boring. The biggest downside of the menu was the lack of local cuisine, which is a big minus.

The staff is helpful without being the most efficient and billing was pretty straightforward and hassle free.

I would recommend this place to a adventure traveler or to someone who's looking for leisure away from the din. A local taxi can be hired for a one day trip to Nainital and on another day you can drive up to Naukuchiyatal, Bhimtal and maybe Binsar.

Room Tip: Go for the Pool Facing room Special Package
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vrijilesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasanta45
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We decided to avoid the crowd in Nainital, by staying in a resort some distance away and make day trips to Naninital.We did a websearch and selected Dolmarr. The place good good and the room rate offered was high,This we assumed was a furter assurance of a good hotel.
We got a shock when we reached the resort.It was a dhaba with a few rooms attached, bang on the highway with traffic wizzing past at high speed. From the receptiion which was one step from the highway the access to the rooms was down a crazy staircase with no hand rails -- a high safety hazard.
The room was large but shabbily furnished and a fair population of cockroaches and large spiders. The water in the bathroom tap was so muddy that for the first time we used bottled water to brush our teeth
The dining room was also a shabby shack and less said about the food the better.
The swimming pool was also filled with muddy water.
We did find a few positives. The staff tried to provide good service and the scenic view from the bedroom

Room Tip: Do not think they have any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasanta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nainital hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Dolmaar resort gave me great service. Their staff knows how to pamper the guest. Location of this resort is superb. We went for trekking in the heavenly location near the resort. Though it was steep but was worth it. Thanks Dolmaar

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mohanadhikari1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I booked this hotel for our 2 days stay in Bhujighat and it is a unique place, really.We have stayed at many hotels, but the Dolmaar is one of the best hostel, I’m sure I will still fondly remember the vacation I had there.

It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.

Even my family, who did not stay in the hotel, was received with open arms and exceptionally generously when they came to visit.

This said, there is nothing wrong with the facilities. The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good. It’s a relaxing and quiet place – one where you really don’t mind spending an afternoon or two with a good book.

And as many people have written before. Dolmaar Resort is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viplav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nainital, India
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The view of the hotel is very good ,it is near to reaver bank where u can swim and fishing with your friend it is near to door of kaumon and near to nainital and all other hill station
like ranikhet,kausani,pithoragarh

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepak660548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

dolmaar resort is one of the best resort in nainital.we enjoyed a lot, nd the location of the resort is wonderful.we r going to visit again in ur resort soon.my best wishes r with u........... I recommend Dolmaar to tourist planning for holiday in peace

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MonaSingh788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#29 of 49 in Nainital
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#34 of 49 in Nainital
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#12 of 49 in Nainital
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#15 of 49 in Nainital
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dynasty Resort
Dynasty Resort
#19 of 49 in Nainital
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#7 of 49 in Nainital
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmaar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmaar Resort

Property: Dolmaar Resort
Address: Bhujiaghat | Kathgodam-Nainital Highway, Nainital 263001, India (Formerly UNA Comfort Dolmaar Resort)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolmaar Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolmaar Resort Nainital is where your romance with the mountains begins... Exhilarating fresh air, a splendid view and greenery all around you. Promising to make your stay with us an affair to remember. Dolmaar Resort Nainital is a tribute to the majesty and splendour of the Kumaon hills. Dolmaar Resort Nainital is located on Nainital- Kathgodam highway. The Hotel offers 16 luxury rooms. Dolmaar Resort Nainital is the only resort in Nainital with swimming pool among Nainital Hotels Resorts. We also offer Kumauni cuisine to our guests. All rooms have excellent view of the lush green hills. Pool facing rooms have view of swimming pool and valley both. Staying at Dolmaar Resort is ideal for people seeking a quiet and calm holiday with no hum drums of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Dolmaar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing