We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
“A lovely stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

After much deliberation and "practical discussions" , we finally decided to give Two Chimneys a try and see for ourselves if the place actually does justice to the rave reviews it has been garnering on Tripadvisor. A decision, I can safely say, I shall never regret.
Right from the check-in (if I can call it that since it felt more like visiting my own house after a really long hiatus), we were in love with the property. The staff was happy enough to take us on a tour through the house and we finally decided on 'The Study'- a quaint little room with a balcony of its own and breathtaking view. You could read a book, walk through the property or just bask in the sun and revel in the nothingness and the tranquility of the place.
The food was well-cooked and tasty, nothing fancy and elaborate but it sure leaves you satisfied. If you are on the look-out for five star amenities then you are looking at the wrong place. Go there with just one thing on your mind- relaxation.The staff consists of warm,jolly local people who know how to treat their guests and make the stay very comfortable and memorable. Special mention to the manager of the property, Manjuji- she is a very confident, friendly lady who immediately puts you at ease and looks after even the most trivial of your requirements.
That one night stay was enough to make us want to go back again, a trip I am fervently looking forward to.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelersb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    49
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
128
94
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Two Chimneys offers a quiet sojourn away from the cacophony of city life. The quietude of the place is so alluring that your senses get rejuvenated. It was a family trip, we got our noisy 4- year old daughter along. However, the calmness of the place even got to her. She was happy to explore the lawns, the trees, spotting the birds. She did not miss TV very much. Although, she was very keen on using the swimming pool, which we couldn't as it was peak winter. I enjoyed parking myself on a chair by the pool and catching up on some reading, exploring the interesting collection of books in the library. We booked the willow suite which had a bed in the loft, where our little one made her play area. The evenings were spent by the cozy fire place in the living room, where we interacted with other guests. The food was lip-smacking and I would specially mention the Khow Suey, which was awesome. Even the local Kumaoni fare which was served for dinner once was really good. I really enjoyed the desserts, especially the Banoffee Pie made by our effervescent host Manju. She was very attentive and made our stay comfortable. I also liked the warm hot water bags that we found in our beds at night, which gave us relief from the biting cold. We are planning to go there again very soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainybk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

It’s a land mark of heavenly scenic beauty and can’t be expressed wholly unless u experience the thing yourself, i had heard allot about Nainital but was never that excited as i belong to a paradise called Shillong, myself ! So ,it’s safe to say,that my expectations were high. Firstly, the location of two chimneys resort is very much accessible from the railway station and also near to Nainital city and yet in a secluded location , where you are devoid of unwanted city noise and pollution , if u are a lover of peace and harmony , it is your home to be ! The first look forced me to just presume , this is a vintage architectural beauty designed by the British minds to provide the solace that a nostalgic hungry person would want his house to be ! You are asserted to have the privacy that your soul wants to have when you are tired and fed up of the same old busy corporate or monotonous life of yours dealing with all the frustrations daily . Everybody deserves that peace once in a while ,and especially with a leafy price where your pocket still feels heavy, it is a must visit destination ! The cottage is situated amidst beautiful mountains and at a good height where you get an eagles eye view of everything your eyes wishes to observe from mother nature . The details right from the rooms,library, furniture to the garden and all the way to the pool side and so on, of this humble palace is unique and dazzling in it’s way. Remember the time when you visit a beautiful breath taking view and say to yourself, “one day I’m gonna build my dream house here”, well the experience is not very away from you. This is a must visit place with your family or your loved one to rediscover yourself and find time for the one person you forget or are unable to think about due to your hectic schedule, which is yourself ! With the most welcoming host in Madam Manju, who just makes you feel at home right from day 1, it is a dream destination for every one ! No other place can give u the holiday happiness that 2Chimneys can, atleast for me !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We planned our weekend trip at the last minute, but when I spoke to manju from two chimneys I knew that the stay is already sorted.. a warm hospitable kumaoni woman Manju made sure that we were well taken care of all through the trip..

Two chimneys is an old british bungalow converted to a beautiful boutique hotel in a village called Gethia which is around 25 kms away from Nainital.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RashmiParulChand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Alchemy of Desire by Mr. Tarun Tejpal introduced us to this mesmerizing property..this place is one which brings you closest to nature and will keep calling u back..every artifact, corner, balcony, deck, washrooms are done after much thought..choose any window pane for a view and it would leave you amazed..the fireplace in common area makes for a great evening. Snacks and food were sumptuous. Owing to authentic home made flavors, breakfast and dinner were a treat to palate. Warmest staff, special mention to Manju who made all the difference in our stay. More than Nainital, this place left us totally satiated and content than ever. Taken memories for lifetime! I am definitely coming back soon :)
Travelled with family and friends.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlishaVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The property is one of the most scenic and beautiful places I have been to in a long time. The hospitality offered by the staff is immeasurable. The surroundings, the impeccably kept and comfortable accommodation, excellent food and the prettiest artifacts you can ever find are some of the 'look forward' to aspects one might consider. You will never get bored here. The design of the property has been thought through, a feature, that is absent at most places. There is a library for the ferocious readers, a warm study with a (functional) fire place to sit and read comfortably; a variety of indoor games; a swimming pool and what not. One can even walk around and go up the mountain trails to enjoy a beautiful sunset.This is one of the 'must visit' destinations. You need at least three days, if you really want to enjoy the place. Ms. Manju is the point person (numbers are available on the website)- the warmest I know.

Room Tip: go for the Suites; First things or Deodar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kritika2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Loved it ....... Ms Manju truly defines the word HOSPITALITY, Food is awesome presentation is 5 STAR +, Genuinely a place to reeeeelax and enjoy nature with great food & service. Actually no need to leave to leave the place while you are at it, its so comforting and relaxing......,take a time off your daily marathons and just doze off anywhere you want, even though it is away from commercial settings but you can get anything you want when it comes to food, I mean how can anybody arrange a fish ordered at 6 PM (which is not in stock) and have it served piping hot at 8.......only Ms Manju can do that i guess.......Thank you so much mam for your hospitality can never forget the visit, will surely be back for my pahadi mutton you promised.......BTW banoffee pie was incredible......

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumitmittal777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
3.2 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
3.3 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#9 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Naini Retreat
The Naini Retreat
#1 of 47 in Nainital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shervani Hilltop
Shervani Hilltop
#2 of 47 in Nainital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clifton - Pura Stays
Clifton - Pura Stays
#5 of 139 in Nainital
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Chimneys - Pura Stays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Chimneys - Pura Stays

Property: Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
Address: Chinkuwa House No - 1 | Village - Gethia, Nainital 263127, India (Formerly Two Chimneys Gethia)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Chimneys - Pura Stays 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Chimneys - Nainital - a serene boutique resort atop a mountain spur. Two Chimneys is a charming 100 year old British bungalow, aesthetically restored to offer you a exclusive holiday experience. The seven bedrooms, each with a distinct flavour and a swimming pool and great cuisine adds to its appeal Resort, Nainital, Mountains, peaceful, holiday, weekend break, swimming pool, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Two Chimneys - Pura Stays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing