We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Good but a little costly.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too Good but a little costly.....”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were a family of 2 adults and 3 kids and so chose the duplex room{ only one bathroom}. The room was big , clean ,up to the mark and very comfortable. The location of the hotel is very good....a little away from the busy crowded mall road ,yet very much acesscible, as the high court is situated on this road. The hotel provides the free drop and pickup facility to the start of the market , and are really promt on call.
Let's now come to the food........yummy !! That's just how I would describe it. Multi-cuisine rest.with a live food counter serving piping hot items, what else do u want. A warning though......u will hog more than u can digest !!
The staff is very well trained, polite and courteous....only drawback being that they expect to be tipped constantly. Overall if u can afford it , dont miss it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madhumeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    198
    34
    8
    13
See reviews for
322
77
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I happened to stay at this hotel from 11th may 2011 to 14th may 2011. Its way too simply expensive than the service / value for money it offers.
Pros:
Decent Service, Good Food, Clean Rooms

Cons:
Bad location
Don't expect a lake view from any of the rooms...you can barely see the lake
Their staff is simply hungry for tips and line up when you are checking in or checking out although you may not see them during your stay
A/Cs do not work well. I spent two sleepless nights and after complaining to them and they working on it , it was only a bit better.
Way too expensive for what they have to offer.
Overall not recommended to anyone

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hemalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Too expensive , Service Quality Hopeless , All departments waiting outside your Room to tell you what they did for you hence you need to pay good tips always. Food Quality never seen so hopeless, same menu repeated, Hopeless quality & taste as well, stale food - morning food used in evening & evening food used the next day. Cant go to this place paying this kind of price. Never shall i go or advise anyone to go as well even though staying there is a pleaure but the price you pay for this pleasure is not worth.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank JatinBheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Manu in Nainital and would happily recommend it to anyone wishing to visit this hill station. Reputed for being the best hotel in this location, this hotel definitely lived up to the billing though more 4 star than the 5 star it professes to be! We opted for a 5 night package deal staying on a half board basis in a terrace room which offered us nice views onto the grounds of the hotel and just about of the lake. The hotel is very colonial in its architecture and extremely well preserved with lush grounds. Our room was very comfortable and spacious and the terrace was a welcome extention to enjoy the outside in our own privacy. The cot provided for our little one was very robust and he slept very well indeed. My wife tried the Spa and thought it was good value. The two things that set this hotel apart are the excellent service and food. We called upon room service/ house keeping several times during our stay and have nothing but compliments. The food which was part of our package (breakfast and dinner) was on a buffet basis, catered mainly in Indian food and equally well for non vegetarians and vegetarians, but easily amongst the best food we have eaten in India. My only gripe would be that the hotel is centrally air conditioned/ heated which makes it difficult to turn on/off the AC or heating for specific rooms - we had to persist in our complaints to reception and this was only rectified to our liking for our last evening though we did get some compensation for this. The location of the hotel does not lend itself well to walk to the lake but taxis are not difficult to come by.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Munish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We went with our 2yr old child.
1) The hotel is well made we had booked ourselves a suite which was a single large room. Wish there was an outdoor sit area though.
2) Coming to the food I would say the Indian food was good but continental avoidable.
3) Room service is a tad slow.
4) we requested for some DVDs as there was a player in the room but were refused. They couldn't arrange it from the Market also.
5) don't rely on front desk for sight seeing suggestions we were told the cable ride was shut Sunday but it was very much on.

Room Tip: Food is expensive for the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vishalj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Manu Maharani is an excellent tourist destination pretty close to Mall Road. The free pick up & drop to Mall Road provided by the hotel makes it very comfortable for sight seeing. The view from the hotel is breathtaking and all facilities makes the stay memorable

Room Tip: Be prepared to wait for pick ups from Mall Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Itsankush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Honestly i am short of words to describe my review. The hotel staff, the food, the ambience, everything was just AWESOME.
Wish i could stay longer. We were in 333/334/335 from 23/3/2011-25/3/2011.
I am from Bombay and joined the Bhatias from Delhi enroute to Manu Maharani.
But after my stay I realised what is hospitality in the true sense. I have travelled far and wide but the stay at Manu Maharani was just great.
MIND BLOWING
Tony Tandon - [--]
Please do not misunderstand the way i have rated, its absolutely true.
Its VFM in the right sense.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumbaiTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#14 of 49 in Nainital
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#7 of 49 in Nainital
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#6 of 49 in Nainital
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arif Castles Hotel
Arif Castles Hotel
#12 of 49 in Nainital
163 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.1 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 49 in Nainital
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital

Property: The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Address: Grassmere Estate | Mallital, Nainital 263001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the hustle & bustle yet located in the heart of town, this hotel is only a short walk from the Mall. TripAdvisor.com rates "The Manu Maharani" as the top hotel of Nainital. Elegant surroundings, flawless services and best of cuisines combined with the pristine beauty of the Kumaon hills, makes it a perfect destination for a holiday or a business conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing