We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden jewel yet to be discovered”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Valley Resort
Ranked #11 of 98 Nainital B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel yet to be discovered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Calling the place excellent will be an understatement. Let me summarize the place in points so that we don't loose track of the good things going at Garden Valley.
First the place ideally located just a half an hour drive away from Nainital.
En route to Almorah and Ranikhet. so it can be a pleasant stopover if you are headed that way.
Second the ambiance the place had all the characteristics of a Mountain Lodge, in close proximity to a river stream, which you can hear all over the property. The feel of the place is rustic and laid back. The rooms are cost and comfortable.
Now the best part the Food. If you are dreaming of Mexican, Italian, Barbecue, Mughlai or just Indian cuisine, you can expect nothing less than FIVE star quality and variety on the menu where your host Mr. Seth spares no expense to serve the most delicious and authentic food.
And that's where the FIVE star ends as the price per meal is nothing compared to the spread that is laid out for you.
We have been there with Family and Friends several times but were never disappointed.
Kindly note: You need to call in advance and make a reservation as the place is run and managed by the couple.
The concept of fast food do not exist here. As Mr. Seth make sure that he cooks everything fresh for you.
Hats off to Mr. Seth for keeping such a beautiful place for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KhanMehboob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bareilly, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Garden valley is a beautiful place deep in the woods... It is in Niglat a few km away from Bhowali near Nainital ! A grt place to stay and eat ! They serve authentic Italian meal in a homely environment. A pitcher of freshly made lemonade near the stream is so relaxing and heavenly ! A great experience altogether ! Must visit!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place to go to. 7 hours away from delhi, this place is a home away from home with the owners making every meal an experience. The rooms and loos are basic and clean but go in cooler climes so you can spend your days in the garden sipping lemonade between meals

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkyNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Beautiful,serene place amidst mountains.....we just loved our stay at Nighaat..

Nalin Seth , the owner is an excellent cook...I have never experienced the kind of food he made for us....That kind of food leaves behind the top notch restaurants and 5 stars behind..

he made freshly baked breads,,,,,italian....chinese...india for us...and the food is to just die for...
we were lucky because we even got to hear Nalin's music collection in his cozy corner...
wow the place is just a paradise...i mean i could have gone alone also and enjoyed there...

A must go for everyone...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

The only reason we chose this place was because they accepted pets.

But our dog came back completely traumatised. There were two strays chained outside our suite. These dogs were aggressive and barked all the while.

Our only interactions were with sleepy waiters. There was no interaction with the manager/owner. We only heard the mistress of the house barking instructions at the domestic help during meal times. It was an uncomfortable, unwelcome atmosphere.

The highlight was indeed the food.

The suites were well done up. But not spotlessly clean.

The bidet in our loo leaked! Everytime one used it the whole floor of the toilet got wet.

The little stream behind the resort was pretty but filthy.

Unlike the other reviewers, I'm not gushing about this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaydad46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

Don't let the "Resort" in the name fool you. I usually associate "Resort" with either building structures or many cottages. This looks more like a cute cabin in the hills.The setting is so peaceful and the location so perfect amidst nature. There is even a stream at the bottom of the hill. It is surrounded by well tended gardens and the view from the deck is amazing with so many different kinds of birds around.
The great thing about this place is the food, Akshay the owner and chef makes all meals himself and he provides a wide range of different cuisines . Everything was just delicious. I so loved not having to choose from a menu and just be given terrific food, Akshay and his wife made us feel totally at home.
The best part was we were allowed to take our Saint Bernard and they were so nice to even make him special treats. He just loved it.
The rooms are very quaint and antique looking but so comfortable. They are hardly soundproof though so if you make a lot of noise the whole household will hear.
We had such a great time we decided to stay an extra night. The place is not far from many of the local sights but yet isolated enough to experience serenity. We look forward to visiting again....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habari12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

The best part of Garden Valley Retreat is their superb food, my god the owner cum chef Akshay Seth has magic on his fingers, from lebanese, mongolian hot pot, Continental to simple Indian. We savoured everything he fed us from morning to night. We had booked the entire resort as we were four couples with half a dozen kids with us and even maids!!. He charged only per couple and the kids and maids went free (stay and food). The rooms are very cute....a doll house in the mountains. The suites were fabulous, but the rooms were quite small. Infact one of the suites had a bunk bed in the adjacent room, which the kids used. The wooden deck above the rooms were where we spent the entire day and most of the nights.....lazing, eating, drinking, sleeping and the cycle repeated. They served us main meals, snacks and drinks whenever and wherever we demanded whether it was at the stream way below the resort, or at the lounge area, at the deck or in the gardens. I remember having only one meal in the actuall dining room! There are horses, hens, pigeons, dogs..etc for the kids to see. They would set-up bar-be-que in the nights on the deck and we would enjoy his delicious fare under the stars. Just the place to completely unwind. Their staff is helpful and efficient. Just the place to keep coming again and again. Infact this May my husband and I had lunch at the resort on our way to Nainital from Naukuchiatal.

  • Liked — food, food and food
  • Disliked — the rooms are quite small
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nainital
4.2 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
3.9 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#10 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aamari Resorts
Aamari Resorts
#2 of 4 in Ramgarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn Bhimtal
Country Inn Bhimtal
#3 of 10 in Bhimtal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.3 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Valley Resort

Property: Garden Valley Resort
Address: Ranikhet Road | Village Nighlaat, Nainital 263132, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Valley Resort is spread over 8 acres of landscaped gardens offering cuisines like french, and Italian, arabic, Mediterranean, Mexican, Indian,.. There is a stream in the property a perfect setting for a picnic and for kids. All cuisines are prepared by the owner/chef Akshay Seth and menus can be personalised to individual requests eg. If someone is allergic or is sattvik and so on. We do breakfast, lunch and dinner on order for outside guests everyday too. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing