We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't get enough of this place... ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage
Ranked #7 of 98 Nainital B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
480 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Won't get enough of this place... ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We came across Jeolikot on the net, as one of the off-beat destinations. My husband vaguely remembered somebody having been here & recommending a place called The Cottage. We looked it up on the internet, & decided we were going to come here. & boy! were we thrilled?!
Jeolikot by itself is just a village enroute Naintal. The Cottage is an old colonial house that has been painstakingly built into the traveller's paradise it is today by a charming lady, Ms. Bhuvan Kumari.
Bhuvan has renovated & decorated the cottage on her own, & her personality is evident in every nook & cranny of the house. More than that, she & her devoted staff do a great job at maintaining the place. The Cottage has four standard rooms & one delux room.
Wooden floors, high ceilings, rugs & dhurries, little bone china cups & saucers- all of this & more will transform you to a different world. Bhuvan personally sees to your comfort, & The Cottage stays true to the 'homestay' concept. ztowels like home, food like home, tea like home!
The staff is extremely attentive & courteous. The food is what you would get at home, though Bhuvan may ask you if there is anything particular you want to eat. If it is the right season, you will get home-made apricot jam too, & fresh plums.
You will have a terrific time if you like dogs, for Bhuvan had three full-grown dogs, & three puppies when we were there. The best thing to do at The Cottage is to sit in the balcony, gaze at the mountains, read a book, play music, or have long chats that are usually disrupted by the demands of everyday life.
As we went during the monsoon, there was light rain, & it brought with itself mist, that gave The Cottage & the surrounding areas even more charm. The Cottage is meant to bring you closer to nature, closer to your loved ones, & closer to yourself.
Bhuvan can tell you lots of stories, but if you want your solitude, she will discreetly step aside too. Old world charm, perfect hostess, nature's bounty-I do not think there is anything more a traveller can ask for.
The experience I had made me feel I was part of an Enid Blyton novel...

Room Tip: Choose any room. All are equally delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked the room in the cottage after our friend's recommendation. Jeolikot itself is a very small place with no tourist attraction. But the hotel is what you'll find as an oasis in the middle of nowhere. We were amazed with the amount of effort the owner has put-in in building, crafting, and maintaining the rooms and the lobby area. Our conversation with the owner, Bhuvan Kumari, revealed amazing history about the place.

The place is a delight for the photographers, indoor as well as outdoor. The old artifacts and paintings are adorned all over the cottage which makes one feel staying in a royal place. Domestic helpers stay aside for any requirements, whatsoever.

The food is great and homemade-like. What really impressed me was the way cook and waiters take into consideration your choice of food and ofcourse the over-all preparation.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Cottage is not a stop over for the kind of traveler who is used to break neck stopover trips escorted by tour operators in a hurry to cover 20 places in 10 days! If one wants to soak in nature, peace and mingle with the hills this is the place to be . For one, it is built into the hill and not vice versa and has the aura of well taken care of house. Not surprising as it is run by a ex army colonels wife ,a Rajput from Madhya Pradesh who was brought up in Nanital and owns half the hill and the cottage for years .The cottage is one way for Bhuvan Kumari to keep up the finances . And she does a great job of it .In her impeccable diction she enthralls you with tales of the royalty long gone and runs her cottage in her own unque way . So the food is the kind of food she would eat .So don’t expect a royal 10 course meal but good home cooked food . The rooms have the old world charm buffeted by antique wood from old house of the hills . The only constant chatter is of birds that wake you up early . The orchards and the forest around have fruit trees with a government apiary and mushrooms cultivation's within walking distance .A short trek takes you till a small rivulet . We went in July where it rained off and on bringing with it the mountain mist which came and went . Things that you read of in books like “night fire flies” and the sound of “barking deer” brought back memories of a time not seen nowadays
The cottage has its own set of dogs ( a but untidy ),cats and hens with the loyal caretaker “dauji” who keeps a hawk eye over the proceedings . There are a few minor issues which can be pardoned as it is a place in evolution .The bathrooms can get damp in the rains, the doors of the rooms are low so watch your head and of course mobile networks fail with regularity .So does the electricity ! But the success of the place is a lesson for host of heritage hotels in India .That is a receptive management .In hotels you pay through your nose but no one is there to actually there to receive and act on complaints . Its been our experience that the big names will give you thirty excuses but do almost nothing ! In the Cottage Bhuvan Kumari is there to listen to suggestions and implement them . She loves Khadi and we suggested to her to use Khadi towels which are healthy ,dry fast and are better than the routine high maintenance towels ! And she was using them already .Maybe that may find its place in the bathrooms soon.
So before she comes back from USA and refurbishes the place and hikes up the rates ,go for the break.Take your children along and let them enjoy the natural beauty of the hills .Yes if you want the crowd din and noise , go up to Nainital .We did not and don’t regret it . We were promised a sackful of pears by Mrs Bhuvan Kumari to take with us ,she forgot to give and rest assured madam we will be back for it . And no none knows why the place is called Jeolikot !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a high door frame ! And go in March April
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoyasardana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

a place with a story, a story that sounds almost fairytale like when you hear it. set in a non-descriptive town of jeolikot, hidden behind that gate is a cute, quaint and different homestay. one can say it makes its own rules. if you want a hotel, it's not that. if you want that homestay - it's not really that either!

the rooms are neat and clean. they are basic but with much character. the rooms in the main building are small, but with wood all around you it takes you to another place. chilly during winter, made warm with the hot water bottle that they always leave waiting in there for you.

the food is homely. it might not be the best of class, but you will have your favourite in the couple of days you stayed there. we liked the breakfast. the parathas were lovely. food is unlimited and generous and with someone always hovering around to ensure your needs (or tongue) is taken care off. the fire at the night to warm your frozen toes makes for some good time to get out those games and play it. they don't have any on offer, so carry your own devices, cards or so!

there are many walks in and around the hills. so we spent sometime walking around... met a strawberry farmer who took us to his farms and showed us around. there is also the famous horticulture department's office nearby. so stock up on the famous jeolikot honey. nainital is close by, and is just a local bus ride away. but the roads are very windy. so i needed a lot of mint and chewing gum to keep me from throwing up the breakfast.

the owner does not fuss about you much... but neither are your ignored. breakfast is the time that she moves around and talks you through her life, the story of this cottage, what you can do around this area. she is most helpful and very arresting a personality.

a great place to stay. it offers the conveniences of a hotel (top-notch service) but without the overly friendliness of some homestays... so its almost the best of both worlds.. definitely worth a couple of days!

Room Tip: if you like large and new rooms, then ask for new rooms. it is outside the main building... if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b-inabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The cottage is a charming and beautiful place. It is very cosy and you feel at home as soon as you enter the place. It is beautifully decorated with fantastic wood works and fabrics. The view from the veranda is great. The rooms are different but all convenient, charming and clean.

The owner Bhuvan Kumari is a very charismatic and interesting lady. She engages in the guests, look after them and ensures that they fully enjoy their stay. The employees are very friendly and helpful and always have a smile on their face.

From the Cottage you can go for great walks with beautiful views and colorful birds. It is the perfect place to go for relaxation. Bring a book and good walking shoes. And enjoy the quietness and the beautiful nature.

It is a great place to go to for a weekend or more. The train from Delhi is conveniant and only a few hours. The Cottages is pretty close to the train station, Kathgodam ( approx. 30 min).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHERDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

One of the best places, in the hills that I have visited so far. What makes this place an option for repeat visits is that it is a perfect getaway for weekend trips (especially for travellers from Delhi), considering it is easily accessible and a very relaxing place.

Absolutely no disturbance or interference from the outside world (thank God, there was no TV in my room), this place offers an opportunity to just soak oneself in the freshness of the place. This place scores high in my preferred list of destinations - as the service and hospitality is unparalled. The owner - Bhuvan Kumari - is a great host and company if you prefer nice, interseting conversations. The staff is extremely polite, understanding and courteous to guests.

The rooms are cozy and the bathrooms are clean and aesthetically done.

The one thing that definitely drives this place - the personal interest of the owner and staff - to offer you the best of service.

Room Tip: The lower rooms have an access to sit outside and enjoy the scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suniet_Bezbaroowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Visited The Cottage for two days. My experience here was not according to what my expectation was. In terms of the location – the place is much too close to the motor highway so you can constantly hear the screeching brakes when the buses take the turn up on the road. While the upper terrace affords a view of the surroundings most of the rooms do not have any. Accommodation – the common area (living area) is spacious and done up tastefully. However, the scenario becomes very different when you come to the actual rooms. I found the rooms to be extremely cramped. There is no space for any furniture except the beds. No sofa or a small table to put the tea tray on - the only option is to put it on the bed. A small chair and a narrow bench is really inadequate for two people especially when what stands for a wardrobe is only a foot in depth and two in width. There is no space to put away the luggage so you keep tripping over it. Also, the convenience factor is overlooked in the brightly coloured bathrooms. The door to the rooms don’t shut or latch properly. Really not what one expects when you pay a luxury tax.
The food this was pretty much ordinary – set menu with 1-2 veggies, 1 daal, counted paapads and 1 non-veg dish. Remember to ask for any dish you have ordered but you don’t find on the board – they sometime ‘genuinely’ forget. One lunch was really bad when every dish seemed to be just boiled and bland. You learn to expect pieces cut from the same cake for all the evening teas. The savoury dishes served at tea on some days were good.
The owner is an educated, polished lady and tries to put you at ease. You can expect interesting anecdotes at mealtimes interspersed with views on erstwhile etiquette, Rajput traditions and gentle reminders about tipping staff at the end of the visit. The surrounding birdlife is the highpoint here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
4.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.2 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#9 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
#2 of 139 in Nainital
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Naini Retreat
The Naini Retreat
#1 of 47 in Nainital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Property: The Cottage
Address: Jeolikot, Nainital 263127, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing