We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for relaxation and beautiful walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage
Ranked #6 of 98 Nainital B&B and Inns
Delhi
1 review
“Wonderful place for relaxation and beautiful walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The cottage is a charming and beautiful place. It is very cosy and you feel at home as soon as you enter the place. It is beautifully decorated with fantastic wood works and fabrics. The view from the veranda is great. The rooms are different but all convenient, charming and clean.

The owner Bhuvan Kumari is a very charismatic and interesting lady. She engages in the guests, look after them and ensures that they fully enjoy their stay. The employees are very friendly and helpful and always have a smile on their face.

From the Cottage you can go for great walks with beautiful views and colorful birds. It is the perfect place to go for relaxation. Bring a book and good walking shoes. And enjoy the quietness and the beautiful nature.

It is a great place to go to for a weekend or more. The train from Delhi is conveniant and only a few hours. The Cottages is pretty close to the train station, Kathgodam ( approx. 30 min).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHERDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

One of the best places, in the hills that I have visited so far. What makes this place an option for repeat visits is that it is a perfect getaway for weekend trips (especially for travellers from Delhi), considering it is easily accessible and a very relaxing place.

Absolutely no disturbance or interference from the outside world (thank God, there was no TV in my room), this place offers an opportunity to just soak oneself in the freshness of the place. This place scores high in my preferred list of destinations - as the service and hospitality is unparalled. The owner - Bhuvan Kumari - is a great host and company if you prefer nice, interseting conversations. The staff is extremely polite, understanding and courteous to guests.

The rooms are cozy and the bathrooms are clean and aesthetically done.

The one thing that definitely drives this place - the personal interest of the owner and staff - to offer you the best of service.

Room Tip: The lower rooms have an access to sit outside and enjoy the scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suniet_Bezbaroowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Visited The Cottage for two days. My experience here was not according to what my expectation was. In terms of the location – the place is much too close to the motor highway so you can constantly hear the screeching brakes when the buses take the turn up on the road. While the upper terrace affords a view of the surroundings most of the rooms do not have any. Accommodation – the common area (living area) is spacious and done up tastefully. However, the scenario becomes very different when you come to the actual rooms. I found the rooms to be extremely cramped. There is no space for any furniture except the beds. No sofa or a small table to put the tea tray on - the only option is to put it on the bed. A small chair and a narrow bench is really inadequate for two people especially when what stands for a wardrobe is only a foot in depth and two in width. There is no space to put away the luggage so you keep tripping over it. Also, the convenience factor is overlooked in the brightly coloured bathrooms. The door to the rooms don’t shut or latch properly. Really not what one expects when you pay a luxury tax.
The food this was pretty much ordinary – set menu with 1-2 veggies, 1 daal, counted paapads and 1 non-veg dish. Remember to ask for any dish you have ordered but you don’t find on the board – they sometime ‘genuinely’ forget. One lunch was really bad when every dish seemed to be just boiled and bland. You learn to expect pieces cut from the same cake for all the evening teas. The savoury dishes served at tea on some days were good.
The owner is an educated, polished lady and tries to put you at ease. You can expect interesting anecdotes at mealtimes interspersed with views on erstwhile etiquette, Rajput traditions and gentle reminders about tipping staff at the end of the visit. The surrounding birdlife is the highpoint here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed at the Cottage in October for 10 days with my family.
Fell in love with the ivy covered Cottage and felt at home right away.

We had a nice spacious room with a mountain view and the bathroom was beautifully hand painted in vibrant colours.
Bhuvan Kumari, the owner has tastefully done up the Cottage with exquisite Kumaoni wood. Each room is unique and tastefully done up.
The Food and service was excellent. We were travelling with small children and the staff went the extra mile to cater to their food demands and to make our stay enjoyable. Which was a huge
blessing otherwise travelling with fussy little ones is such a nightmare as far as food is concerned.


The Best part was waking up every morning to the sounds of different birds and then having tea on the terrace and soaking in all the beautiful sights and sounds. In the evenings, we would sit by the fire under the stars and enjoy our roasted potatoes-which was magical.


It was one of the most enjoyable and relaxing trips we have taken in a long time. We managed to see places around Jeolikote like Nanital, Jageshwar, Ranikhet and Almorha.
If you are looking to get away from the crowds and enjoy a relaxing time-This is the place to go!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepali m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

Jeolikot is a tiny hamlet located about 18kms before Nainital. Although it is situated on the busy stretch to Nainital, the Cottage is located about 50 steps below the main road, accessible through a steep winding path (good enough for cars), and that makes it completely serene. The Cottage itself is a small bungalow witth 5 rooms available for staying-1 is a heritage room while the others are deluxe rooms. The rooms have been tastefully done up with elegant Kumaoni wood used for the gates and arches, with ample space kept for keeping room heaters, tea/coffee maker etc. One word of caution-there are no TVs in the entire Cottage so if that is one of your must-haves, then the place could disappoint you. In fact, there is not much to 'do' there-so its definitely not a place for those who like to have go there for having a boisterous party with loud music etc. Take it more as a place where you can sit on the verandah overlooking the valley and sip your drink and soak in the beautiful landscape. There is a huge hearth in the common room which is big enough to warm an entire room. It is almost needless to mention that the place would not be what it is without its owner, a lady named Bhuvan Kumari. A Rajput from M.P., the lady bought this erstwhile run-down bungalow from British times, and did a splendid job doing up the place. Bhuvan makes special efforts to know her guests personally and almost has a grand-motherly touch to make her guests feel at home. For instance, on 31st December night, she got made for us in her kitchen, a full-roasted stuffed chicken, home-made plum cake, and a sumptous desert to follow. Just when we thought the food was exemplary, we reached our rooms to see that her staff had placed hot-water bottles under the blankets so that the bed would be warm by the time we slept in the 2 degrees cold night. All her staff are extremely polite, soft-spoken and are very responsive to your calls. You may not get this treatment even when you were paying a lot of money in a hotel in Nainital. All in all, a great place to spend a quiet weekend, recuperate from the hazards of city life and go back with the sweet smell of honey, apricots and cold and fresh mountain air staying with you long after you have returned to the cities.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wayfarer-dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
4.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.2 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#9 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
#2 of 139 in Nainital
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Naini Retreat
The Naini Retreat
#1 of 47 in Nainital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Property: The Cottage
Address: Jeolikot, Nainital 263127, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing