We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to Chill Out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WelcomHeritage Bob's Place
Ranked #5 of 99 Nainital B&B and Inns
Gurgaon, India
1 review
“Place to Chill Out”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

An ideal place to beat the heat, far from the madding crowd. Bob's Place slows down the life as it should be so that you can savour every breath of fresh mountain air.
One can read a book on the hammock or in a tastefully done up lounge, play darts, badminton or pluck apricots & rasberrys growing wild or simply hog the great food that extremely courteous & helpful staff conjure up.
Overall a great place for a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breakaway2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    30
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The views are breath-taking. The property is nicely landscaped. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious. The rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean and comfortable. The hammocks are a nice touch in addition to the table tennis and darts placed around the property to help pass the time. I highly recommend Bob's place for a mountain getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBurchette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The place is approx. 1.5 hours away from nainital. A very small village set amidst tall trees. The place is calm and with birds chirping all the way in the mornings and evenings. The rooms are absolutely clean, modern and cozy. The staff is accommodating and asked adjusted to our meal preferences. Good place. Only wished we could have stayed a couple of days more to enjoy the place thoroughly.

Room Tip: If you have some senior citizen, ask for rooms at the upper level since climbing up for meals and ge...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Murlidhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Had a blissful weekend at Bob's place in April. An overnight train to Kathgodam and a beautiful dawn ride to the property set the pace for what was a peaceful, lazy weekend. The service was good and the view spectacular (woke up to a view of the snow capped mountains from our bed). My 8 year old daughter had a great time running up and down the property and also enjoyed the "jungle" trek that we took in the mountains above.
The standout- food wise was the breakfast the cook there makes a spectacular omelette....
As a couple that enjoys the mountains and the peace & quiet this ticked all the right boxes, we were lucky that we had the place to ourselves would definitely visit again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pchandagurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had been wanting to visit Bob's place for some time and were finally able to make it up there this April when the weather was a perfect getaway from Delhi. What I loved best was the huge variety of birds we were able to see standing right outside our cottage balcony. Being the only family in the place ended up being a boon as the only sounds we heard were birds. Our cottage had lovely view of snow clad mountain right from the room window as well the huge balcony right outside where we were served lovely hot breakfast elegantly and in abundance. The staff was attentive without being overly involved and the rules for hot water and meals worked out just fine as it suited our environmental and people sensitivity. We would definitely recommend this as a weekend getaway to our friends and family !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malinikakkar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
479 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Bob’s Place is just a little ahead of the village ‘chowk’ at Nathuakhan, and on the road that leads to Almora and Binsar. It has large red iron gates & a courteous staff to welcome you. We were offered a selection of rooms due to it being off-season.
Bob’s Place has standalone cottages erected in a multi-level manner. The highest ones command a view of snow-clad peaks of the Himalayas. The lower ones have sit-out areas but the view gets diminished by the foliage. We chose one of the higher altitude rooms. It had a balcony which gave us breathtaking views and was especially delightful during sunrises and sunsets. The wooden cottage had a fireplace, a blanket and a heater.
The food was prepared at the cottage and did not taste any different from what we eat at home. The ‘poha’ we had for breakfast was quite different though, and wonderfully so. It was made with ‘khada garam masala’. People who have eaten the Indian-style meat can identify how good this would taste. The ‘masala chai’ was free-flowing too. Special mention of the chicken fry we got as our finale dinner. Do ask for it when you head to Bob’s Place.
On our first night there, we were shivering and the fireplace in the room looked inviting. Soon after it was lit, we were sweating. We had covered ourselves with a quilt and the fire was proving too hot to handle!
There are a number of walking trails nearby. The staff offered to guide us but we were not in a mood to move our limbs this holiday. There is a dart board and a carom board. Towards the lower cottages, there is a hammock to relax on.
The staff is plentiful, courteous and ready to help with pretty much anything. We had a dedicated guy who was soft-spoken and told us quite a bit about the surrounding regions.

Room Tip: Higher level cottages have better views of the Himalayas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We all chose this cottage based on TripAdvisor reviews & thank fully so. Our experience was made all the more amazing by the attention to details and the immaculate courtesy of the staff along with nice snowfall early in the morning making it a memorable and very nice overall experience.

It was my first visit to kumaun region in nainatal with family and i stayed in one of the rooms which i liked, as i wanted to take a walk towards a trek early in the morning.

The food was also great with good variety of Indian meal on the menu and the service was excellent. Even the breakfast had numerous items and it was all freshly prepared, from fresh bread to fresh puris & parathas :). We all enjoyed the lunch & dinner which included nice dishes including non veg food of our liking.

Now what shall i tell you about the weather, Superb place to be with your loved ones when it snows.
We enjoyed heavy snow and snowfall.

Pick-up and drop-off from the railway station was arranged as per our request.

I would definitely recommend this cottage if you are looking at staying in kumaun region.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmalik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nainital
11.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
6.2 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
#2 of 141 in Nainital
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
4.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
11.2 mi away
The Naini Retreat
The Naini Retreat
#2 of 48 in Nainital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Bob's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Bob's Place

Property: WelcomHeritage Bob's Place
Address: Nathuakhan, Nainital 263158, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Nainital
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Bob's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomHeritage Bob's Place lies in the heart of the Kumaon Himalayas at 6200 feet. It lies in the mist of verdant valleys and mountains clad in forests of oak, rhododendron, deodar and pine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing