We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a trip to heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WelcomHeritage Bob's Place
Ranked #4 of 102 Nainital B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a trip to heaven”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

yes, if u r looking for a trip to heaven...Bob's place is the place to be. Situated amongst the serene and beautiful Himalyas, the place is a perfect getaway from crazy, busy and stressful city life to calm, quiet and serene life. each cottage, library, dining room and every bit of place dat i can think of is tastefully done and adds to the beauty of the property.
though place like mukhteshwar is close by but i can bet once u reach this property u will end up spending ur days jus lying on a hammock and gazing at sky and beautiful mountains, plus u can pluck fresh apples and peaches from the garden :) or eat delicious food prepared by the staff there...kurkuri bhindi highly recommeded
All in all a heavenely experience...i would luv to go back again and again

Room Tip: all the rooms are equally pretty...jus grab any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShubhraBrakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    31
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just returned from a month long vacation at Bob's Place. The place is beautifully located and the extraordinary aspect is that it is ecologically friendly and aesthetically pleasing. Local material has been used in building it. In addition rain water is harvested. This too in an area which is very short of water. Some thing other hotels could emulate. Bob and his team were caring and warmly hospitable. We have suggested that local flavours could be included in the food which is otherwise well cooked and appetising. We would like to return to Bob's Place. This time to be there when the fruit trees are in blossom and we are looking forward to it.

Madhu Bhaduri

Room Tip: leave it to Bob
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhubhaduri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The description of the property makes you go for a vacation.
The setting of the property actually is out of a travelogue - Independent Villa style rooms, nestled inside an orchard of apple, peach, apricot - yes it actually is
but what isn’t is the upkeep of the property.
It seems, neither the owner nor the Welcom Hertage group ever come to take stock of the condition and upkeep of the property.
Despite being in such a great natural setting - the property is in shambles. The rooms at best can be compared with rooms of dingy railway station style hotels. They serve a fixed menu with no choice left for food. Being in a remote location, you have no choice but to try and eat that food. The hotel and the food doesn't seem too hygenic either.
It seems while building the place, someone had great ideas but somehow lost it on the way and now it is truly in ruins in terms of amenities, room cleanliness, food, service everything... No one seems to be paying any attention to such great property and only those who are fooled by seeing the pictures and description of the property on the Welcomheritage website come here to be fooled.
Only bright side is the staff - which is caring and accommodating but they can only do so much...
I would neither return nor recommend it to anyone !
Not only was my money wasted but also a vacation (which is the most difficult to plan) wasted!!!
Never expected that Welcomheritage would do such a shoddy job by lending their name to a place and only care about earning royalty from it and not even seeing how the place is being run !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamarGGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at WelcomHeritage Bob's Place, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
I am the owner of Bob's place and am quite mystified by your review. I personally spend 3 weeks a month at the property and can assert that the property is in great condition. This can be evidenced by many of the guest photos found on trip advisor as well as reviews extolling the rooms etc. Perhaps you would care to back up your allegations by posting some photos so we can get a better idea of your expectations. The food in most ten room hotels at this price range is buffet (as stated on our website) since in a remote place you cannot expect an la carte menu. Since i cannot comprehend your review i would encourage you to get in touch with me at bobanand@gmail.com so we can ensure guests like yourself have a more satisfying experience. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Although this place was very well spoken-of, we didn't find anything extraordinary about it. The location was not great, nor the layout of the place - in fact it was pretty cramped. The scenery around was just OK and nothing to write home about. The ONLY thing that we can say with certitude as a PLUS POINT for the 'Place' was its relative PEACE & CALM, and to a small extent its cuisine, that's all !@! Not worth the trouble of driving up so far unnecessarily !@!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goraroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

At uncle Bob's place,our vacation went off maybe the best till date...the place is surrounded by just and just greenery full of flowers and fruits...u receive a very warm welcome by Uncle Bob and the staff which puts you in a doubt whether u r actually at some other place for a vacation.It is truly a home stay with awesome ghar ka khana.we self drove to Nathuakhan from Jim Corbett with 2 kids.The journey was tiring but the drive through it was quite adventurous.seeing the place it just took a little while for us to snap out of the tiring feeling.our vacation was very relaxing at Bob's place.My 5 year daughter who did not eat properly at Jim Corbett as she did not like the food there ate very well at Uncle Bob's place saying that the food is very yummy.What else you want if the food is liked and appreciated by your kids?And after a long time me and my husband got to eat together as the staff was so courteous and caring to handle my 8 month old son so well that we could have our meals together.And Bob uncle ensured that everything is taken care of in the best possible way.The place is just awesome with the best of interiors and all the amenities provided on time.We were booked for just 2 nights but ultimately stayed there for 4 nights and still we did not feel like coming back from there.Its a paradise in the middle of the himalayas.We had based ourselves at Bob's place and made day trips to various palces from here only.So after these day trips nothing can be better than coming back to Bob's place to relax and unwind yourself to a divine stay in the midst of mountains.The terrace,the balcony,the lounge,the dining area etc etc everything is just perfectly maintainedAnd last but not the least Bob Uncle we are simply missing your place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheetalroy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Somewhere between a homestay and a boutique resort, Bob’s Place is that unpretentious mountain getaway that us urban dwellers pine for when we want to escape it all. And it works well too, for a combination of factors which starts with the tranquil location and the brilliant views afforded by all of the 8 tastefully appointed cottages, a very courteous group of local staff who operate with the heartfelt simplicity and quiet efficiency of what characterizes the mountainfolk and above all, the personal touch that genial owner Bob lends to it all.

Though it’s a fairly arduous 330 odd KM drive from Delhi (train from Anand Vihar Terminal to Kathgodam and by road for the rest of the journey would always be a recommended option) that brings you to the tiny hamlet of Nathuakhan, however the moment you step inside Bob’s it’s all forgotten as the scenic vista that opens up in front of you coupled with the cool fresh mountain air holds you completely captivated.

Set in the midst of a fruit orchard are the eight well laid out cottages, each with its own sit out area, which seamlessly and aesthetically blend in with the local surroundings yet are well-equipped in terms of all creature comforts. Room service is preadvised as being limited (and for good measure too in that it perhaps coaxes you to work your city-legs!) but in our experience there was never a moment when we felt it to be a hindrance. Electricity may be a bit erratic but you scarcely notice it’s absence.

Food may not be a multicuisine gourmet experience yet it charms you in its earthy minimalism and is flavorful, wholesome and always made fresh with a surfeit of locally produced ingredients. An adequate pre-alert can also provide you with something specific that you may be yearning for. And then, there is always the prospect of plucking fruit straight of the trees and without having to bother about washing it first before eating! In fact the staff were only too happy to load us with the various fruit offerings that abound around the property.

Plenty of things to do in and around the property including short day-trips and Bob can always be depended on planning it out for you or give you that important bit of advice to help you make the most out of your stay. Then off course there is always the option of not going anywhere and doing nothing but just laze around and soak in the atmosphere – either ways you won’t go wrong!

My only complaint for the place stems from the alacrity with which your mobile phone is able to catch all the bars of the signal in what you would have thought was a network-starved place, but no Sir it works and without any breaks! If only the phones didn’t work too then Bob’s would have been just near perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p_kavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

At Bobs place one can find tastefully done cottages, warm and hospitable service and great homely food. The main block has a feel of a personal house with a nicely done up living / dining room and a big sun deck. Each cottage has independent gardens and the rooms are large enough with magnificent views.

The food is amazing with local flavours and they can surely offer some wonderfully created desserts and continental stuff too.

Nathuakhan is a typical small village in the kumaon region and one can walk off into any direction for walks. For those who are looking for a peaceful place to unwind from the stress of city life Bobs place offers an excellent holiday option.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nainital
6.2 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
141 reviews
5.5 mi away
Soulitude in the Himalayas
11.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#14 of 49 in Nainital
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
10.9 mi away
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
#2 of 144 in Nainital
360 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Naini Retreat
The Naini Retreat
#1 of 49 in Nainital
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Bob's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Bob's Place

Property: WelcomHeritage Bob's Place
Address: Nathuakhan, Nainital 263158, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Nainital
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Bob's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomHeritage Bob's Place lies in the heart of the Kumaon Himalayas at 6200 feet. It lies in the mist of verdant valleys and mountains clad in forests of oak, rhododendron, deodar and pine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing