We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable Vacations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonapani Himalayan Village

Sonapani Himalayan Village
Ranked #17 of 41 things to do in Nainital
Attraction details
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memorable Vacations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I would love to come back again and again to savor the indescribable holidays we had in this heavenly peaceful abode in the Himalayas. I salute Ashish to have conceived and created this amazing place. Regarding ratings if there was something above excellent, I would have given that too. Added highlight is pet of the family - jhumroo who became the cynosure of our grand children,
This canine is fully capable of taking guests to the treks around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank gakkapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Place which makes you think”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

While most of the amazing expiriences are mentioned by others, this placed taught me a lot. Our long discussions with other guests along with Ashish Ji, made us thing about starting a business of our own, which we actually did. The overall expirience at Sonapani, the lifestyle of the family of the owner of Himalayan Village (Ashish Ji) changed our life.

This is a must see place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mohit-halkare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great holiday @sonapani ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place over weekend of good Friday 2014, just loved the drive to begin with... and then followed by courteous staff and ashish himself.

We were very impressed with the views all around - it was brilliant to see like minded people all around - we could immediately connect with people around, in fact we could make friends with many around.

The food prepared by staff was also very good and homely right from vegetarian to. Non vegetarian.

One friend my son cannot forget is adorable and yet giant jhumroo, the dog owned by ashish.

Was very impressed with a lot of social work ashish is doing for uplifting the village children.

Overall wonderful experience - would recommend this property to my near and dear ones.

Helpful?
1 Thank 647sachinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Away from the town this place is truly heaven on earth. This is must see before you die. People who are travelers should definitely visit this place. The drive to this place is beautiful. The cottages, the over all experience, the food I must say is very different too. The view is just perfect. You will know when you wake up in the morning and see the Himalayas. Wow. It's beautiful. The orchids of apricot, plum and peach are numerous. It's spread across the hills. do walk through the pine forests. It is amazing ... :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Benij0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“..for the ones who love to explore the unexplored”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This may be a dated review, but the only thing I would write up would be WOW.
You have to experience this place to admire the solitude and the wonderness of this amazing place. The trek from the parking lot to the cottage area is pretty and well worth the effort. This is an ideal place for team outings, team building, a trip with friends, hiking, trekking, rope climbing, rappelling and team events. A must place to go for the ones who love to explore the unexplored.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank momentscaptured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonapani Himalayan Village also viewed

Nainital, Nainital District
Nainital, Nainital District
 
Nainital, Nainital District
 

Been to Sonapani Himalayan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing