We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only decent place”

Sakley's Restaurant & Pastry Shop
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Indian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Only decent place”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

It wa sreally surprising to not find a lot of good places to eat in Nainitaal. with the number of tourists that visits and the school kids who come to rown to hang out, one expects more culinary options from the place. Sadly there are none and therefore the somewhat average Sakley's restaurant (from a Delhi/Bombay standard) stands out as an excellent option in the city. Verdict - The bakery products are very good, but the food stuff is just about ok. The service is very slow and they dont seem to be interested in customers for some reason.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DevNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    223
    78
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Agra, India
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited the place after reading reviews on tripadvisor.
And we were not disappointed . There was large assortment of pastries which were all good. The vegetarian pasta and chopsuey were also well made and tasty.
I really enjoyed the tea which was served separately.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puneet265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always been good”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Sakleys has always been good, I liked it when I was studying in Nainital but found it a tad too expensive for my pocket money, now my son who is studying in Nainital loves it. The Pastries eggless and otherwise are fantastic. The continental and chinese dishes are authentic tasting. The Chinese dishes donts taste like Chinjabi food served at various places. The patties are crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside. A good place to sit and have coffee and pastries.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank advocateroopesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
2 reviews
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I loved the chocolate truffle pastry. The chilly chicken was sooooo good!! It was perhaps the best that I've had in a while.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirthana_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Bakery/Restaurant in Nainital”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Must try the pastries and cakes, dry chilli chicken, murg darbari, chicken patties are amazing, if you need fresh bread you can order it in advance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank siddharth1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakley's Restaurant & Pastry Shop also viewed

Nainital, Nainital District
Nainital, Nainital District
 
Nainital, Nainital District
Nainital, Nainital District
 
Nainital, Nainital District
Bhimtal, Nainital District
 

Been to Sakley's Restaurant & Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing