We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Juayua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The waterfalls are right outside town. Go here, you will not be disappointed! You can pay a tuc-tuc driver to get you there and back for a few bucks, do not pay until the return visit. The walk is probably 15-20 minutes from town. A must see!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StartTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    27
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfalls only 30 minutes from town”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Almost became a daily ritual for us ! An early morning stroll down to these falls for a wake-up swim, accompanied by the hostels friendly dogs, Lippi and Chikita !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Easy access to nature”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We too used the $1 guide. People at the hotel were super-friendly, set us up right away and gave us parking and bathroom access all day...just for using the guide. If you just wander around town and ask, you don't really need a guide. He did point out a couple plants and animals and tell a couple stories, but only to the first person behind him... didn't wait for the group. The reason to have the guide though is so you can get your courage up to go through the completely dark tunnel with only a head's worth of air above water. We are pretty courageous but never would have attempted it without him. Its a short walk down the canyon, but as you pass thru farms and into the valley you transition to a lush nature that you might not otherwise see in town... some good bird and flower sightings!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thysanodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suchitoto, El Salvador
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

One of the must do things while you're in town. Amazing that even in the dry season there is still so much water.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tyler O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We reserved for the Los Chorros de Calera tour at Hotel Anahuac for 1$ at noon... Guide never showed up! We waited almost 3 hours for him then they found another guide to bring us cause we were gonna go by ourselves. We had a bus to catch that night and they don't seem to know what reservations are! As we went, we crossed our ''to be'' guide Douglas coming back to the hotel with another tourist! Knowing how close it was, I would've went by myself! There are officers already posted there all day! Just don't go then they are on dinner break in case... You can also go by Tuc tuc for 3$ if you don't want to walk to much but it really isn't a big walk and they don't go all the way of course. You can take a swim and enjoy the scenery!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzin1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chorros de la Calera also viewed

San Salvador, San Salvador Department
Coatepeque, Santa Ana Department
 
Santa Ana, Santa Ana Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 

Been to Chorros de la Calera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing