We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed place to stay”
Review of Casa Mazeta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Mazeta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Casa Mazeta is really nice and relaxed place to stay. I stayed in private room it was equipped with 2 comfy beds. Place has also nice garden area, kitchen, very impressive dvd collection and always cold beer :) Did the 7 waterfalls tour with Carlos who is really good guide and nice guy to hangout with. Darren the owner was really cool person and did me a huge favor by driving me to Sonsonate while he was driving finnish couple to Guatemala. Really enjoyed myself here and definetly staying here if i go back to El Salvador next year.

Room Tip: Stayed in private room it was quiet and good to sleep. Dormitory looked nice and clean too. Casa Maz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dally_boy_Billy, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thanks for your review, very kind.
Cold, cold beer is always important we find ! And even more important is giving you a free one as a welcome drink.
Carlos sends his thanks too, for mentioning him and his great tours. Cannot praise him enough.
We all look forward to welcoming you back here next year, if you do come back to El Salvador.
Saludos de todos de Casa Mazeta !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 151 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted by Lauren who was lovely and very helpful. We checked into our room which was the twin room with shared bathroom. The room is very spacious and the shared bathroom is very clean. The garden outside is gorgeous with hammocks to relax in. We did the seven waterfalls tour with Carlos and it was brilliant! He was a great guide and the day was one of our favourite yet! Later that evening we met the owner called Darren, who is very friendly and accommodating. He introduced us to the best pupusa we have tried yet!
All in all we had a great time here and I would definitely recommend this hostel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilkleytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dally_boy_Billy, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Lovely review, much appreciated.
The garden is getting more and more gorgeous, now the roses and carnations, the fuchsias, the orchids and gardenias are fully established and showing their beauty. We´re loving it !
Thanks for mentioning Carlos; perhaps one of the best guides in El Salvador. We have never had anything but rave reviews for his tours, and for his general kindness and thoughtfulness. The Seven Waterfalls tour is already great, but with Carlos, it is made into something even more special.
Finally, the pupusas ! Up here at Esmeralda´s, just a block away, I am happy to say we have found probably the best pupusa´s in the country. The pupusa loca con todo is the tastiest thing around for $2 !!
Happy holidaying chaps, hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our friends stayed here last year and raved about it and so we had to come and check it out and glad we did. The other reviews are spot on, its a gorgeous place with everything a budget traveler needs. Even the one average reviews points out that everything is great (can't downgrade a review because other travelers were noisy!)
We stayed in one of the garden rooms, it was a good size had private bathroom, hot water, fantastic bed, first decent pillow in over 4 weeks and a small courtyard. The basin was even an old fountain - very cool.
The garden is large and fantastic, hammocks and outdoor setting to use. They even gave us some of their avocado's.
Inside the hostel there is a large front room with all the information you could need, a computer, large book exchange, then there is a separate tv room with hundreds of films, board games. 2 dining tables, wi-fi throughout. The kitchen was spotless and had all the equipment you need.
Darren is a great guy, unfortunately he wasn't there for the majority of our stay, but he is very friendly, relaxed and has plenty of information. The other staff were all great, we were taught how to make special Easter snacks.
We fully recommend staying here - you even get a free beer on arrival!

Room Tip: all 3 privates were different but very nice. Garden rooms probably quieter but indoor room larger. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dally_boy_Billy, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your extensive review. As always, fully appreciated.
Our avocado tree is still giving us a bounteous supply of huge fruit, and we are all too happy to share that with all.
The book exchange and film lists have just gotten larger, and the Tv has been changed to a large flat screen (ready for the upcoming Fifa World Cup !!)
Safe and very happy onward travels guys, carry on the great vibe !
Abrazos,
Darren y todos en la Casa Mazeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Me and my boyfriend came to Juayua for the food festival thinking we would stay for two nights in casa mazeta. ...two months later we left with tears in our eyes... ;) As soon as Darren (the owner) opened the door for us and showed us around the place we felt we had found our home. (Lippy and Chiquita, the hostel dogs, were also there to greet us).
For us there is no actual words to describe this place... Darren is one of the most wonderful person we have med in our travels (and yes, we have traveled a lot for our age). He is so committed to his work and it makes a whole difference to this place! He does not only have the knowledge about El Salvador but the rest of central America as well (especially Guatemala). He is also the most caring, loving, honest and friendliest person ever to own a hostel. Most importantly he is a lot of FUN to be with!!! :D
The staff in casa mazeta; Carlos, Raquel and Elmer are as well super friendly!!! and so good at their work; it's unbelievable. We will never forget them!!! If You have the time please make the trip with Carlos for the seven waterfalls!!! ;)
We actually had the pleasure to work in casa mazeta as well as part of our travels. So I can truly say that these guys are doing truly amazing work at casa mazeta!!!
Casa Mazeta has everything a traveler could need!! most beautiful garden, the best owner, amazing staff, information about surroundings, hundreds of movies, well equipment kitchen, hot showers, clean rooms, minibus service, tours, Lippy and Chiquita <3 oh, the list could go on forever but most importantly the best atmosphere!!
When coming to Juayua (which itself is a gorgeous town to visit) make sure You stay at casa mazeta and You'll be guaranteed of lovely time!!!
Hope to come back really soon!!!!!!<3

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room You stay in; they are all great! But if You have to choose, take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank suska444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamazeta, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you guys. I´m rather touched (and a little embarrassed!) at your rave review. We also felt sad at your departure. Best part of owning a hostel is meeting people like yourselves, but it is also bitter-sweet when you watch friends leave. But friends you have become. You did a great job welcoming people to Casa Mazeta, and an even better job with the little projects we set up for you. Other reviews on here support that. We all look forward to welcoming you back here come the Finnish winter. 100 %, Casa Mazeta es su casa, siempre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a find! Owner Darren is a wealth of knowledge and just a great guy. He will be happy to suggest things to visit and the tours run by the hostel are also great. We did the seven waterfalls tour which was picturesque and adventurous. The vibe of the hostel is like no other we went to in Central. Each evening everyone hangs out in the lounge room and it really feels like a family. The beautiful garden is also a nice place to have a siesta in a hammock.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gourmetbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamazeta, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Lovely review, thanks a million guys. Very, very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here. The vibe is what it is, and can only be, when wonderful people meet and make the most of what is offered. We set up the stage and then it is up to you; each of you take your parts. Forgive me another quote, but ....

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.” -Marcel Proust

Safe and contented onward travels guys,
Abrazos de todos en la Casa Mazeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014


The pros: excellent beds (the quality you would have in your own home), delightful girl in reception, the garden and the location, book exchange, movies and TV room, laidback vibe and eager to help staff. Very clean.

The cons: the dorm room and the twin room is extremely loud. There is one bathroom for 8 beds, with one toilet and one shower, which can be tough in the mornings (if you are in the twin room you can hear everything that is being done in the bathroom at all hours). The kitchen lacks a microwave. Cold water shower in the shared bath.

Like I said, this was a fine stay, but definitely not my favorite spot in 15 months of traveling. Part of it was due to a group staying in the dorm room who were going to work at 5AM (on a Saturday?) and had no respect for anyone not going to work, but that is not the hostels fault. When Darren (the owner) learned of the issue, he did offer to switch my room, which was nice.

There are lots of towns along the Ruta de Flores, with other places to stay. Ataco looked terrific! Most people choose Juayua due to the food fest, which is nice, but only takes place during the day hours on the weekends, so you don't have to stay in Juayua to enjoy it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank TravelBug8277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamazeta, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. Sorry that we were not what you were expecting, although, flicking through your previous reviews, we could probably never compare to the hotels, hacienda´s, resorts & spa´s, etc that you are clearly more used to.
Thanks for mentioning the excellent beds, delightful girl, etc, all very spot on. In a hostel, dorm rooms can be a little loud, though we always strive to keep noise down at night. We are not a party hostel. When I offered you a room tucked away in the tranquility of the garden, with private bathroom, at no extra cost, you said ¨I can´t be bothered to move¨ Ok. The shower absolutely does have hot water, sometimes you have to move the switch at the top. No microwave; others make their popcorn in a saucepan.
I am sorry about the group. They were supposed to stay 3 months; a contract I quickly terminated. A very respectful crowd, but a little noisy in the morning. They had never stayed at a hostel before either. And yes, people here work Saturday´s. I work every day. This is not Georgia, Al.
Finally, I must take umbrage at your dismissal of Juayua. People come for the food festival and the waterfalls and coffee tours, the central location in exploring the other quaint villages, the hiking, the climate; a myriad, in fact, of reasons. One of which is immersing themselves into the wonderful culture and beautiful people of El Salvador.
Safe onward travels, and please try to lower your expectations, else stay at home

“When you travel, remember that a foreign country is not designed to make you comfortable. It is designed to make its own people comfortable.” –Clifton Fadiman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The germ with a great atmosphere. The nicest hostel we found in EL Salvador. Very good location to central park with a nice and practical kitchen, beautiful garden and comfortable sitting area. The rooms are really cozy. The tours and info available. And very well done. Definitely we would stay there again and could recommend it to other travelers en El Salvador.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are fine. We had a double bed room on main floor with private bathroom. We really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1puszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamazeta, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thanks for the review guys, always great to get such good feedback. Hope you do get to come back for another stay; Casa Mazeta, Juayua and all of El Salvador just keeps getting better and better. The best kept secret in Centro America is getting to be known !
Saludos de todos en la Casa Mazeta, Juayua !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Mazeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mazeta

Address: 1a Calle Oriente and 2a Avenida Norte. | Juayua, Juayua, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Sonsonate Department > Juayua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Juayua
Price Range: $14 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing