We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How a hostel should be run !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Mazeta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Mazeta
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How a hostel should be run !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Initially a little wary of coming to El Salvador, a week long stay at Casa Mazeta managed to change all that. Although the owner Darin is from the UK, he´s lived in El Salvador for over seven years, and has probably seen more of it than most Salvadoreans ! He is a massive font of info ! Not only on what to see and do in Juayua and La Ruta de Flores, but also on how to get cheaply to the next place.
Our room was a quaint, comfortable one in the corner of their beautiful gardens. The great big kitchen is well equipped and kept perfectly clean. Each day started perfectly relaxed, drinking coffee on the the patio, and each night found us playing games and chatting, while listening to their enormous, eclectic music collection.
Thrilled to have found this, by far our favourite hostel (though its much more like a guesthouse) so far. We all felt so much at home, really didn´t want to leave !!

Room Tip: Ask for the garden suite. It´s tucked in a quiet corner of the garden, and even has its own little p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dally_boy_Billy, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review, and glad you liked my music !! It´s good to know that when people come back from our tours or exploring the area, they can feel so at home. Getting just the right vibe is not always easy, with so many differing people, but we always do our best to supply it.

Happy onward travels guys, y mucho gusto !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
61
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you're traveling on a budget and want to meet some wonderful people, this is definitely the place for you. Darren (the owner) is as friendly and accommodating as they come. He invited us all out for a night of live music and we had a terrific time. We had the private room in the main house and while the bed was comfortable enough, I would definitely recommend the private room out back if you're looking for a more peaceful night's sleep. Guests tend to hang out in the kitchen/common area which is great for meeting people but it can be quite noisy and the doors/wall do little for soundproofing. I'm a relatively deep sleeper (and I'm used to staying in hostels) but I woke up consistently throughout the night due to loud guests, street noise and barking dogs. My girlfriend had the foresight to bring some earplugs and slept like a baby. Also, not a big deal but the bathroom is shared between the private room and the dorm. The private room off the courtyard would likely be quieter, more secluded and (I believe) has its own bathroom.

All in all, this was a great place and you can't expect much more for the price. I would definitely recommend Casa Mazeta for anyone on a budget looking to spend a few nights in the great little town of Juayua (and be sure to come through on a weekend for the feria gastronomica--it was one of the highlights of our time in El Salvador). Also, make sure to ask Darren about the pupuseria up the street--they offer a delicious and relatively unique take on pupusas for a $2 meal that is not to be missed.

FYI: As with many places in this area, Casa Mazeta is cash only.

Pros: Friendly and knowledgeable owner (and staff); excellent value; beautiful courtyard (with hammocks); great atmosphere; adorable dogs; kitchen available for use; inexpensive beer and water for sale.

Cons: One bathroom for the dorm and private room in the main house; street noise and guests can be very loud at night.

Room Tip: Private room off the courtyard is the best room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dally_boy_Billy, Manager at Casa Mazeta, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review !

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Mazeta, and for your great review.

I would like to point out that we normally maintain noise within the hostel to no more than a whisper after mid-night, or earlier if guests are sleeping. However, I do remember this particular night as being slightly more rowdy then usual, and apologise if we disturbed your peace. This is absolutely NOT the norm here at the hostel.

With regards to the private rooms, then yes you are correct in saying that our garden room has its own hot-water shower and, being in the far corner of the gardens, does tend to be much more peaceful.

Again, thanks for your review, and pleasant travels onwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really nice hostel with a relaxed and homey feeling to it. The garden is beautiful as well with some hammocks and because of all the flowers you can sometimes spot humming birds. Darren, the owner, is a good host and has been traveling quite a lot himself so always good for a story.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielOberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've stayed at casa mazeta in Juayua a couple times now, and I absolutely love it there. The hostel itself is so beautiful, clean, and a great price for what you get. Affordable dorm beds, or a choice of different, unique private rooms, all with hot showers. Huge, fully stocked kitchen to use, TV and DVD player, always great music on, tons of games, and a gorgeous garden to hang out in. As a huge plus, the owner is super friendly and informative. Darren(new ENGLISH owner, not French as the Lonely Planet states) will make your stay in Juayua tons of fun with organizing tours and pointing you towards the best places to eat or check out. Just make sure to pay him back with a game of cribbage or two. Or offer to take his "chuchos feos"(BEAUTIFUL pet dogs), Lippy and Chiquita, for a walk around town.
Juayua is a really neat place, definitely worth checking out the food festival over the weekend, the 7 waterfalls tour, giant pupusas at pupuseria Esmerelda, or just hanging out in the really charming parque central.
I'll definitely be coming back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank L-penner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dally_boy_Billy, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate your time and effort in recommending us.
Those ´chuchos feos´ that you speak of, Lippy & Chiquita, have been enormously popular with all the guests here, and now regularly escort people around the town and down to the waterfalls .... even going out on occasion on the whole 6 hour hike!
Hope you do make it back again some day, as my cribbage skills are just getting better & better !!
Best regards, Darren, Seka, Carlos & los chuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We truly felt like home here. The hostel is beautiful, brick walls, huge garden, well designed rooms, great kitchen. Darren and Carlos are always pleasant and we ended up spending a lot of time chatting with them. We based ourselves in Juayua to explore La Ruta de las Flores and our week there just flew by. We strongly recommend this place. Thanks again for the great stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J_P94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dally_boy_Billy, Owner at Casa Mazeta, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for the review guys, we´re glad to hear that you felt so at home here! We now have a bunch more hammocks in place, and even more beautiful gardens .... new flowers blooming in almost every corner. Hope you come to visit us again one day in the future.
Regards,
Darren and all the crew at Mazeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I travelled all Central America; Casa Mazeta is definitely one of my top 3 hostels there!
It is less a hostel but more like a shared flat with friends.
Spacious, light, comfy dorms and offers everything you need.

It is the best hostel as base camp to discover the whole area!
Definitely would go there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matraquilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We came for a long week end and ended up staying the week, due to my tummy.
Fabulous place, very comfortable to rest in, everything you needed and more. Thank you to Alex x 2, Petra and Carlos.
The garden room really is lovely and at not overpriced! Shared kitchen and beautiful garden. As cold english people we would have loved lights in the garden at night, but you can't have it all.
Petra, I put up all the posters and gave out all the flyers! (if you ever read this!)
Michele and Duncan

Room Tip: The garden room was magic, apparently the dorms are very spacious and have lockers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelemcinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juayua
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Cabanas de Apaneca
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alicante Montana
Hotel Alicante Montana
#1 of 1 in Concepcion de Ataco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Verde
Hostal Casa Verde
#1 of 7 in Santa Ana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tunco Lodge
Tunco Lodge
#3 of 21 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santa Leticia
Santa Leticia
#1 of 3 in Apaneca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Decameron Salinitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mazeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mazeta

Property: Casa Mazeta
Address: 1a Calle Oriente and 2a Avenida Norte. | Juayua, Juayua, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Sonsonate Department > Juayua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Juayua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Mazeta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing