We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Anahuac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Juayua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Anahuac
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder bay
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff at this Juayua gem go out of their way to make your stay the most comfortable you´ll have while in El Salvador. A combination of spotless private and dorm accommodations make the Anahuac a great spot for the budget to midrange taveler although those with higher budgets would not be disappointed by the private rooms.

This hotel offers a large breakfast at an additional charge and has a kitchen available for your use should you choose to run thru the market only two blocks away.

Take a few moments to appreciate the local art which hangs on vertually every surface.

Room Tip: Any of the private rooms are a good choice but if you like to sleep in keep your shutters closed les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    38
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
64
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

For anyone looking for a hostel in Juayua, look no further than Hotel Anahuac. It's a fantastic little hostel that has a great setting in the cute town of Juayua and located in the heart of the Ruta de las Flores. The dorms were nice and clean, the wifi good and the garden was a great place to chill out with other people in the mornings and evenings. If you don't believe us, just read the great reviews in the Lonely Planet, Footprints and other guidebooks. What makes the hostel standout is that it provides and organises lots of tours and excursions to do the things in and around Juayua. An added bonus is the hotel owner Cesar who is incredibly friendly, funny and a born and bred local who is happy to share his insights with you. We were a group of 5 travelling from London and all highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JevonAbraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the garden room which was decorated with delightful artwork. The hotel is clean and pleasant, the staff is wonderful. Friendly knowledgeable, and efficient. We also enjoyed Cesar's coffee tour where we learned to appreciate good coffee.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in February and at first did not know what to expect for $25/night for 2. We had never stayed in a hostal before and are more used to mid-range accommodations. We were pleasantly surprised with the place. Our room was basic with real hot water, clean and the staff were incredibly friendly and took great care of us. They also served up a great homemade breakfast for $3.50 including coffee.

We stayed in room #4 which was pretty quiet. We liked the guest kitchen where we made some great coffee and stored our drinks in the fridge. Appreciated the use of their PC to go online for free, since we don't travel with any wifi devices.

Located close to the main square, a short walk gets you to the ATM, Food Festival and Market, Super Selectos grocery, buses and many restaurants.

Special thanks to Maria and Gisella, you ladies are wonderful at customer service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Let me say straight off that maria seems really great. She always had a smile on her face and was very pleasant. The rooms are basic but very clean. We stayed in the room by the kitchen and it was pretty noisy, you could hear everyone outside cooking and eating. The worst thing was about one of the owner's dishonesty. She ripped us off pretty brutally when arranging transportation for us. You can read a few other people's experiences with the management on here.

If you are looking for clean very basic accomodation you could stay here but I personally appeciate honest dealings with people,and wouldn't be able to recommend this place because of that.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank palinka101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at this place for two nights and had the most wonderful experience. The rooms are nice and clean, there is a beautiful garden and you can cook in the kitchen. The best part of the hotel however is the nice and friendly staff. They make you feel very welcome, are extremely helpful and can tell you everything about the area. We even got a ride to the next town with the beautiful receptionist when we told her about our next travel plans.
A place we can warmly recommend :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austrianangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed in a private room with an en suite bath for just $17 a night. There's a communal kitchen if you want to prepare your own meals but they serve a great breakfast that is a really good value. The garden is lovely and there are hammocks lazing about. My room was right by the kitchen so it got a little noisy in the morning when everyone was eating breakfast. If you like to sleep in request a room further from the kitchen. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The laundry service was fast and very reasonably priced. Highly recommended if you're looking for a budget option.

Room Tip: Some rooms are near the kitchen and can be a little noisy in the morning. The rooms that face the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzuMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juayua
5.4 mi away
Hotel Alicante Montana
Hotel Alicante Montana
#1 of 1 in Concepcion de Ataco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Las Cabanas de Apaneca
16.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Verde
Hostal Casa Verde
#1 of 7 in Santa Ana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Royal Decameron Salinitas
2.4 mi away
Santa Leticia
Santa Leticia
#1 of 3 in Apaneca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.1 mi away
Casa Degraciela - Boutique Hotel
Casa Degraciela - Boutique Hotel
#1 of 11 in Concepcion de Ataco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anahuac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anahuac

Property: Hotel Anahuac
Address: Calle Poniente y 5 a Avenida Norte 1A, Juayua 2307, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Sonsonate Department > Juayua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Juayua
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing