We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Sao Sebastiao
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Being a brazilian who lives abroad every year we go to visit my family and friends in Brazil, we try to visit new places besides São Paulo city. My husband found this hotel here at TA and we were very excited to go. Overall the experience was great, the employees were very helpful and friendly and views are simply amazing hard to believe that were only a couple of hours far from São Paulo. Since I wasn't driving we had to take the bus a couple of nights and it wasn't a problem at all, one of the nights we went to Sao Sebastiao historic district and the other to Maresias (if you don't speak Portuguese this would not be a good option). The only difficulty we had was to access one of the beaches, since we weren't driving it was quite a walk and we ended going back to the hotel. So if you are considering going there without a car keep that in mind. The hotel was very clean and we had a great time (even with the overcast weather). My husband and I were truly impressed with the customer service that Renata and Edson offered, they went out of their way to make sure we could enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Based on previous reviews we stayed at Ilhas das Cabras, I am not sure if the other bedrooms have ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jak596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlhadeToqueToque, Owner at Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Jak596,

Thank you so much for your kind works towards me and my wife. We do care a lot about our guests and we want them to feel completely at home. Thak you also for your comment about the public transportation around here which are not only peculiar and are part of the holiday experience but are also quite good. Hope to see you baack soon.

Edson and Renata Pavao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 866 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Introduction (by way of conclusion...):

Please note I reserved 4 nights to discover a few days later that my plane was leaving Brasil much earlier than foreseen so I asked for only three nights during check-in at Ilha de Toque Toque since it is impossible to return to the airport during a night trip (150 kms brasilian roads...). "No problem" was the reception lady's answer. When checking out, four nights were charged without any possibility of discussion. You know how this kind of practice is called...? Be sure that place will never see me again but not just for that reason:

- The room had a nice view but clearly was outdated in design, furniture and equipment. Very small terrasse and jacuzzi that didn't look very inspiring. I couldn't sleep for two out of three nights: a barking dog (less than 10 yards away in a neighbouring property) during the whole night, a noisy minibar and a bunch of mosquitos. Impossible to keep the airco going while you are asleep. As a result, very hard to sleep in tropical heath...;

- The food was heavy, limited choice, too creamy and below standard given the price. You better eat somewhere else;

- Wifi barely functional: there was a problem they told me at the reception...

- TV not functional at all...

- Fitness equipment; main equipment (footing) out-of-order...

- Swimming pool: a bit ridiculous in length... It is a large tub...

- Beach of the hotel (requires car to get there): a nice fellow looks after the place but that is about it: it is worn out and dirty.

It really is surprising that place has a certificate 2012 tripadvisor place of excellence and is considered as a luxury place (may be 20 years ago but not today...).

Room Tip: Avoid the distant rooms... the neighbouring dog surely shortens your night ! Keep the balcony doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hivoltaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlhadeToqueToque, Owner at Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest, be very sure that we feel terrible sorry and regret that you have had such an experience with us. We have built and manage our place with love and passion. We are a family run business and we work around the clock to ensure that our guests feel like home. My wife and I are totally passionate about our property and about making sure guest satisfaction is met or exceeded. When this does not happen we feel as upset as our clients or even more.
We understand that anyone who is reading this reply may be considering staying with us. Thus I wanted to make sure you know exactly what happened here. We are shaken that this review is carried with so much anger since all that was done by the receptionist present at check-out was to apply our policy. That employee was not authorized to waive it, but he is very well trained to try to find a solution to guest’s requests. Our receptionist is very upset as well because when he tried to explain this situation and that he would have to call the owners, which he would do with all pleasure, all he heard was a big loud “shut-up” by the guest. The receptionist respectfully kept quiet. This has been registered by the reception cameras.
Moments before this happened other guests and employees saw a very much stressed scene between this guest and his companion at breakfast which we truly believe led to the tension at check-out moments later.
As regards the facts, it is true that this guest was charged 4 nights. The charge was done when the guest booked a 4 night package online. However, this does not in any way violates our policies nor does it violates any ethics as it was insinuated. Furthermore, the day the guest left the hotel was sold out. We work with closed pre paid packages and this is clearly stated in all booking documents. In fact our policy reads: “Our daily rates and packages are sold integrally only, for the selected period and pre-payment at the time of booking. In case the guest decided to leave before the end of the package or reserved period, full charge will apply and there will be no refunds”.
If this guest had an early flight, this is a situation where I and my wife would obviously understand and be willing to make a refund. But this guest never gave our receptionist the chance to explain it as mentioned above.
Now I want to explain each item mentioned because clearly the situation at check-out had a crucial influence on the overall review:
- The room: The room in which this guest stayed is only 3 years old. It was built in 2009 and it is a Superior Category room. As part of our decoration we use reclaimed wood furniture (as explained throughout in our web site). This type of furniture has a kind of retro looking in some aspects because it is made with old wood. However the furniture is branded, new and perfectly in order. There is nothing different from what you can see looking at photos in our web site. The existing air condition is also brand new; it was installed in July 2012. It is very silent. I truly do not understand what “Impossible to keep the airco going while you are asleep” mean. As regards the dog it seems very unlikely there was a dog 10 yards away since we are in a 20.000 sq m property and our rooms are away from any neighbor. This is the type of complaint we never had before.
- The food: we would like not to comment on this because it is a very personal opinion and we respect it. However, we invite our other guests to read other reviews in order to have a better assessment on our restaurant
- Wi-Fi barely functional: Yes, there was a small problem. I talked personally to the guest about the Wi-Fi problem which was fixed in less than 24h. In fact we have a state-of-the art Wi-Fi system which works everywhere at the hotel and unfortunately one of the aerials went out of order. It was changed the same day and all that happened was that in a particular area of the hotel the Wi-Fi was down. However on that day the guest was able to use it perfectly in our restaurant. Saying that it is barely functional does not correspond to the facts.
- TV not functional at all: The TV is a brand new LCD. Our equipment is rented and changed every 2 years. The TV set in this room is less than 1 year old. The equipment includes full Sky package. There is absolutely no problem with the TV. The room is also equipped with DVD player, stereo sound and electronic safe and everything works perfectly.
- Fitness equipment: It is true that the main equipment was out of order but it was fixed before this guest left. It is perfectly in order now.
- Swimming pool: Our pool area is has a heated Spa, Sauna, massage room, an incredible ocean view and is totally surrounded by the Atlantic forest. It is one of the highest points of hotel. This is the first time we have a review like this about the pool. The pool itself is 10 x 6 m. This is a quite good size for its purpose. Our property has only 12 suites and the pool area is rarely full. The heated Spa alone, which is adjacent to the pool, can cater for 8 people.
- Beach of the hotel: Our beach area is absolutely not dirty. Sometimes there are leaves on the floor because we are in the autumn and there is a constant sea breeze that makes it a little hard to keep clean during this period. But the word “dirty” was maliciously used here.

We are very proud to have the 2012 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, especially due to the hard work of our staff. Read other reviews and I think you will find out why we have been granted such award.
Finally, our hotel is only 6 years old. In 2012 we carried out a major renovation. There is nothing that could possibly be 20 years old except decoration items which would be regarded by antiques by anyone else. I would also like to point out that although some partners classify us as “luxury” we avoid using this term because sometimes it can be misleading. We say we are “An experience that combines refinement and charm with nature and simplicity”. That's in our home page.
I truly hope that you can understand that while we respect any and all guests and we do our utmost to please them, we cannot accept misleading reviews that have been posted as a means of intimidation or retaliation. I truly hope you will balance and compare this review with many others and if you would like to discuss this matter further please send me an email at edsonpavao@ilhadetoquetoque.com.br
Edson Pavao, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the TT hotel for 8 nights and it was wonderfull. We had a nice room, the surroundings were beautiful and the food was excellent (the chef made us special dishes the last 3 nights). Even more the staff was warm and friendly and made it a perfect stay! We'll be back some day...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlhadeToqueToque, Proprietário at Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Jeroen, Thank you so much for your review. We have told our staff about your compliments. We are delighted to have made your stay perfect. See you soon. Edson and Renata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very rare to find a place like this is Brazil. Definitely worthwhile, specially for couples. Or if you just want to get away from everything. You can be in paradise and still be 20 minutes from civilization. Great food, great pool, jacuzzi and it's quiet. Breathtaking views! Wine list could be improved to match the experience. Very warm staff. I am sure it will be improved, since it can walk more miles into the "boutique concept".

Room Tip: "The rooms with partial view are great and food deal!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlhadeToqueToque, Proprietário at Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Beia, we are very happy to have made your stay worthwhile and thank you for your candid review. We are indeed working hard to always exceed our guests expectations. See you back soon. Edson and Renata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very beautiful hotel hidden in Toque Toque! It's definitely a place for couples! Very romantic and secluded. A little pricey, but definitely worht it. I dont remember the name of the room we've stayed, but we had our own bath tub outside in the balcony and we loved it!!! The room was beautiful, big and clean. The owners were very friendly too. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simoniinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlhadeToqueToque, Proprietário at Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. Indeed the Ilha de Toque Toque is a place for couples and honeymooners. You must have stayed in a Superior room which has the private bath tube on the balcony and a superb ocean view. We hope to see you back soon. Edson and Renata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a great experience staying at this charming yet modern hotel. The grounds were beautiful, our room was perfect (it even had a balcony overlooking the ocean with a hot tub and sauna!), and the restaurant was inviting with fresh tasty food. Everyone who works here is very personable and welcoming. The beach is just a short drive down the mountain and the hotel has it's own private space with room to park your car. We were sad to stay only one night, we could have easily stayed a week or longer. We highly recommend staying here!

- Vivien and Rob

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlhadeToqueToque, Owner at Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Vivien and Rob, We were very happy to learn about your experience and yes, it is worth to come back for a longer stay to explore our wonderful surroundings. Thanks for recommending us and hope to see you soon. Edson & Renata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We detoured to Toque Toque after deciding spontaneously that three days in Sao Paulo was sufficient. We did a lot of searching online, and were attracted to this place based on the very positive reviews it received. Although it did seem to take us more than 2.5 hours to get there due to narrow, winding roads and being in unfamiliar territory, it was well worth the wait. The staff is very warm and welcoming, and generally very helpful. The patio views are really beautiful - so we spent a lot of time in the outdoor jacuzzi attached to our room or in the porch chairs looking down below us at the beach. The dining room has stunning views of the lush vegetation, pool, and beach. Breakfast every morning was delicious - fresh fruit, eggs, even key lime pie on sunday morning. Thank you to the staff at Ilha de Toque Toque for such a memorable stay. We miss being there already but hope to return at some point!

-Emily

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebehncke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlhadeToqueToque, Manager at Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your memorable experience. We hope to be able to offer many more to you and others that come across our hotel.

Best wishes Edson & Renata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Sebastiao
9.6 mi away
Nau Royal Hotel Boutique & Spa
8.2 mi away
Barra do Piuva Porto Hotel
9.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Cambury
Beach Hotel Cambury
#4 of 26 in Sao Sebastiao
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Canto do Rio Maresias
14.9 mi away
Juquehy La Plage Hotel
4.2 mi away
Villa'l Mare Hotel
Villa'l Mare Hotel
#7 of 7 in Maresias
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA

Address: Avenida Doutor Manoel Hipolito do Rego 1285 | Toque Toque Grande, Sao Sebastiao, State of Sao Paulo 11614-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Sebastiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sao Sebastiao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sao Sebastiao
#2 Green Hotel in Sao Sebastiao
Price Range: $169 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An experience which combines luxury and charm with nature and simplicity. At the heart of the Atlantic forest and upon the sea in a place with a stunning landscape, the Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel provides a direct contact with nature. With only ten rooms spread in a 217,000 sq ft area, it ensures exclusivity and privacy and offers a personalized service.Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel reflect the perfect "bare foot luxury". A Short distance to beaches, in house fine dining, mountain atmosphere, charm, romance, tranquility and relaxation are just some of the features we offer to fulfill our mission to create experiences and generate satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ilha de Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilha De Toque Toque Boutique Hotel & SPA Sao Sebastiao, Brazil - Sao Paulo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing