We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel los Berchules
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berchules
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great Holiday Experience”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Dermot & Marie, Ireland: From the moment we were picked up at the airport to one week later being taken to Granada we experienced such a high standard of friendliness and service that it made this week one of our best holiday experiences ever. The hotel was excellent, the walking fantastic and the food wonderful. Wendy, Alejandro and his wife together with their staff make this a very welcoming place to spend time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
70
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

For the past six years I and a group of at least seven others have been coming to this small family run hotel not only to paint the magnificent scenery but also to enjoy the warmth and hospitality of the owners Wendy and her son Alexandro We have all found the choice of local dishes superb and I feel I must mention that some of the recipes are used by the well known London restaurant "Moro", an acknowledgement of this can be found in the cookbook "Casa Moro" the creme caramel in particular is to die for and is made by a lady from the village and NOT purchased from a supermarket as some other critic has irresponsibly suggested! We shall all hopefully be coming for many years to come and enjoying everything as much as we all have on every other occasion Andrew Drummond .Putney .London

Room Tip: Try our room 101 and enjoy my painting on the wall!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while hiking in that part of Spain and found the hosts to be very friendly, helpful and accommodating. While the hotel itself is not very large, it has a nice-size pool and there's lots of room around it or on the terrace to relax or converse with other guests. We found the rooms to be very clean and most had a balcony where we could sit and enjoy the scenery. The dinners were exceptionally good - much better than we had experienced at other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed here for one week and I wish we could have stayed longer. We walked every day from or near to the hotel. We were given excellent directions to follow and advice was given by Wendy to which walks would suit us best, Nothing was too much trouble and when three of our party went down with colds Wendy and Alejandro were so thoughtful and kind offering cold remidies and even hot brandy! The food was excellent, the hotel was warm and very comfortable. We received a very warm welcome on our arrival and when it was time to go we were given hugs and kisses. We will hopefully return soon. Having Sammy walk with us, the hotel dog, was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The location of the hotel in the heart of the Sierra Nevada is excellent for anyone who enjoys walking, rambling or just relaxing looking at the amazing views and enjoying the excellent food. Everything was perfect and classy but comfortable - from the welcoming open fire, the comfortable armchairs, the libary of English books ranging from the erudite to the hilarious, the high quality original artwork on the walls, the spare walking poles, the delicious packed lunch for those on the hill filled with healthy foods and the thoughtful little treats you need to pick you up, to the spotless ensuite rooms with huge beds and the most comfortable mattress you can only dream of.

The hotel is family run by people who appreciate quality and for whom the hotel is their home and their life which shines through as they try to ensure that you get the most out of your time with them. They were immensely kind and helpful to us when my partner fell into a sudden diabetic coma on the hill - literally coming with their friends to our rescue to get him back to the hotel. This was genuine kindness which was much appreciated and shows their wholehearted commitment to their visitors.

A wonderful place to stay in a delightful area to which we hope to return many times.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmb_aug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We spent two nights in Hotel Los Berchules as part of a walking holiday over the Easter holiday. Hotel Los Berchules is a very comfortable rural Spanish hotel run by a very attentive family (mother and son, Wendy and Alejandro) who are very helpful and friendly caring passionately about their business and delivering a quality service to their guests. The food, cleanliness, friendliness and local knowledge are all second to none. The high quality food is locally sourced, we had a choice of three options from the main menu for each course which offered sufficient variety.

The “library” of books local maps and more importantly local walks (over 30) are available for guests. If different parties wish to follow the same route then the staff will print off copies to prevent conflict over the best routes. We followed Annette’s route round the valley which we highly recommend for stunning rock formations, great scenery and absolute silence (if you ignore the cowbells). Sammy, the hotel Labrador is a keen companion and I suppose a fantastic mountain guide to ensure you return to Hotel Los Berchules. There are more than enough walks in the folder to keep you busy if you wished to spend your whole holiday in Berchules.

One minor hiccough over our packed lunch on our morning of departure (we’ll claim 50% responsibility here) was swiftly rectified with no fuss and the delicious merchandise was duly delivered.

If you are in the area, it really would be folly to pass up on the hospitality of Hotel Los Berchules.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoBlackDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions now. It is run by a wonderful, friendly and caring family. I always say its the small things that make a difference to a holiday and I can honestly say this hotel and the people in it make it special.
If you are looking for a comfortable and homely place to stay while you enjoy everything this beautiful area has to offer you won't go far wrong with this hotel. The food is comforting , tasty and of a good standard, nice menu that offers a nice end to a day walking ,horse riding or relaxing.

The owners are very knowledgeable, local walks, places to visit, where to shop and who knows what about anything ! just ask and you will be given as much help and advice as possible.

The rooms are clean and well furnished in a traditional style, the lounge has a lovely open fire for winter months and they have a great swimming pool for the hot summer ones.

Don't wait book now.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with balcony area to sit out and watch the locals and others , great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckett187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berchules
7.7 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
16.7 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.1 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
9.1 mi away
Las Terrazas de la Alpujarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel los Berchules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel los Berchules

Property: Hotel los Berchules
Address: Carretera Granada a Berchules 20, 18451 Berchules, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Berchules
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berchules
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel los Berchules 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are a walker, a rider or taking a tour around Andalucia, you will receive the warmest welcome and finest hospitality the Alpujarras can offer at Hotel Los Berchules. This is a family-run establishment offering home comforts and simple, home-cooked food using local ingredients and traditional Alpujarran recipes. The hotel has twin-bedded and single rooms plus a two-bedroomed apartment offering self-catering holiday opportunities, with hotel facilities right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel los Berchules reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing