We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome riding, breathtaking spot, fabulous guides...”
Review of Pure Mountains

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berchules
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pure Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Second visit to Pure Mountains lived up to every fabulous memory first time round. With a wider range of abilities than my first visit we really saw how brilliantly Tim and Jenny adapt to suit all and ensure that everyone has the very best on offer. In a breathtaking location, it was lovely to enjoy wholly new trails and some really challenging old favourites too. Tim and Jenny are impeccable hosts, blending pure professionalism with enormous warmth and evident pleasure in making such special trips possible, plus we took away some super riding tips that transformed our skills base. We will most definitely be back, just can't wait :-)

Room Tip: N/a, every room is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 113 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a magnificent place to spend a few days mountain biking. The scenery is epic and the trails that Tim and Jenny have discovered over the years are outstanding, with a huge variety from forest trails and switchbacks, rocky downhill descents to narrow winding single track through steep sided valleys. The farmhouse accommodation is spot on: plentiful delicious healthy food options, comfortable rooms, free wine and beer. I went on a skills week with riding in the morning and skills sessions in the afternoon and my riding improved substantially over the week. Couldn't recommend highly enough. A definite for a return trip

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmPH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Pure mountains is as close to mountain biking nirvana as you are likely to get. Beautiful views, great food, free beer, high quality hire kit, land rover support, highly skilled guides and miles of amazing trail right from the doorstep. 

All of the logistics worked beautifully, transfers, food, guiding, accommodation, and mechanical support. The weather was great, the company was good and riding was a real adventure. You really can't ask for more from a Mountain biking trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My second week with Pure Mountains The location and view from the house is fantastic. The trails and guiding is world class. To start the day with biking and then have a tea break at 2000 meters with a stunnign view is very nice start to a full day mountainbiking.
We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great 3 days biking, staying in a beautiful farmhouse high in the hills. Really felt I improved, thanks to the patience and excellent coaching from Jenny and Tim to get me down the single track! Very friendly other guests, delicious food and lots of laughter plus they have 2 loveable dogs, as the website says, who are very much part of the experience.

We were lucky to have beautiful clear skies on 2 days but be prepared for the cold in March and getting used to the altitude (you may notice the effect of your sleep and the riding). The transfers are easy and make sure you have a good book for Malaga airport (very little to do) if you have time to kill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at Pure Mountains in October. It was a truly special experience, hosted by a lovely couple. The rides were amazing - dry, rocky trails with stunning views.

Jenny and Tim know their stuff and acted as wonderful guides and hosts (helped out by the two dogs, Lucy and Jimmy!). The farmhouse was the perfect place to come back to every day, with yummy cake and beautiful views. I think I'm beginning to run out of adjectives to sum this place up...!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our third holiday with Pure Mountains, and the first time we have come in Autumn. Weather still superb, and it is a great pre-Winter break. The mountain biking was fantastic as ever, with a perfect balance between new and familiar trails. The small size of the group and the excellence of the guiding by Tim and Jenny means that a range of skills can be accommodated, and the land rover support means that it is easy to take breaks from climbing if you need a rest. The more technical sections of the trails are always optional, and the unobtrusive coaching is a great help in furthering skills. The farmhouse is extremely comfortable, food excellent, and the peaceful mountain setting is sublime. Although we have very good quality bikes at home, we always chose to rent the bikes at Pure Mountains as they are not only top-of-the-range models, but maintained at a very high level by Tim, who is an excellent mechanic. We have now been on quite a few mountain bike holidays, but we always return to Pure Mountains due to the exceptional quality from start to finish.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berchules hotels
1.2 mi away
El Cercado Turismo Rural
El Cercado Turismo Rural
#2 of 4 in Berchules
72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alojamientos El Vergel de Berchules
0.9 mi away
El Mirador de Berchules
El Mirador de Berchules
#4 of 4 in Berchules
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel los Berchules
Hotel los Berchules
#1 of 1 in Berchules
143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Rural El Paraje
Casa Rural El Paraje
#1 of 1 in Berchules
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pure Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Mountains

Address: Cortijo Marcula, 18451 Berchules, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Berchules
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Berchules
Price Range: $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pure Mountains is an eco-luxe, fully staffed farmhouse in the beautiful Sierra Nevada mountains of Andalucia. It's the base for our all-inclusive mountain bike holidays. Food is fresh and home-made. Professional, qualified guides lead the mountain bike rides. Land Rover back-up provided. Fully licensed and insured.High quality mountain bike hire available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing