We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy cabin”
Review of Hovi Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beitostolen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hovi Cottages
Spilsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“cosy cabin”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Hovi cabins early Feb 2014 and booked through Crystal. The cabin was warm, clean, and well appointed, but some of the furniture a little tired, there is no WiFi and although the TV provided is analogue. 50 per cent of the programs are in English, underfloor heating is supplied to the toilet and front hall areas, electric heaters throughout the rest (along with a wood burning stove in the lounge ) This is important in a Norwegian winter where everywhere looks like a picture postcard.
the cabins are of traditional Norwegian construction of timber and the roofs covered with soil ( and snow) and are a ten minute walk up hill to the ski slopes, we took our ski boots with us and changed near the six person chair lift , but you could ski all the way back .The snow conditions condition of the piste and piste staff were all perfect, Norway is gorgeous in its winter whites with mountains and ice lakes.
We used the facilities at the radision blue hotel, and enjoyed every minute in the land of trolls and nogin the nog
Cristal staff tried very hard and would always go the extra mile to help.In the resort every one speaks english and was helpfull and polite
Norway is expensive but we new that before we went, so took all our own food and most of our drink, most bars have WiFi ,
would do it all again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

After many years of half board skiing holidays, this was the first time we had chosen self catering. We made this choice due to the expense of food and drink in Norway. We bought wine and gin for the week from the duty free shop at the airport on our way out (an advantage of Norway being outside the EU). We were in cabin 1 which was ideally located for a walk to the ski slopes and we could ski back right to our door. the nearest supermarket was just across the road and provided all the food we needed at reasonable prices. The cabin was cosy with under-floor heating in the bathroom and heaters in the living room/kitchen and in both bedrooms. It was clean and comfortable and provided all we needed. There was also a wood-burning stove which was not needed but added to the cosiness. This provided the one fault with the cabins. We were warned that there was a design fault with the flues for the fires which meant that if you lit the fire without opening the vents in the cabin, the smoke went into the next door cabin. The problem we found was that if one cabin lit their fire before the adjoining cabin, even though the vents were open, the smoke came into the cabin to such an extent that the smoke alarm went off. This could only be resolved by lighting the fire in the other cabin. A small inconvenience if both cabins are occupied but potentially a serious problem if not, as you could return to a smoke filled cabin.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is the closest to the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

1st time ever sking & couldn't have made a better choice than staying at the Hovi Cabins in Beitostolen. Cabins had all you need & were very clean & tidy. Went half board with Crystal Ski & had breakfast every day at the Bergo Hotel. Excellent choice. Think it could be a bit expensive if you self catered. Evening meals were in different restaurants & the Huset- Steak & Bones - was our favourite for most of the week. Sking was fabulous. The lifts were really close & for 1st timers this is an excellent resort. By the end of the week we could all ski & the more adventerous ones even managed a red run. Cannot recommend this holiday package enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila_and_Allan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerwent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Hovi Cabins were well appointed and had everything that you might need. They were scrupulously clean but the furniture was a little tired looking. There was ample hot water and they were very well insulated. Situated 5 minutes, in ski boots, from the main lift (or 2 mins on the way back as you could just about ski) they were well located. Crystal customers had reduced price access to the Radisson Blu Hotel’s 25M pool/saunas for a very fair tariff.
The resort was very beautiful, peaceful and compact but the skiing was quite limited due to only 2 lifts being open for the 1st part of the week, indeed, some lifts were still closed at the end of the week despite plentiful snow. We went over Christmas and this was clearly before the season proper for the Norwegians.
Overall, Beitostolen is great for beginners with ample snow and the cabins are good value and well run. My wife had lessons (and has been on several ski holidays) and said that she enjoyed the highest quality instruction that she had ever had. More advanced skiing was on offer on the other side of the valley, via a free ski bus, but again this was only open for the latter part of the week. This too was with reduced lift capacity; only a single lift was open. I’d ask some specific questions from the tour operator if I were to book again as you can’t rely on the piste map to show you what will be on offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank yeomanbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Self-catering accommodation; the mini oven is quite small, but that was the only criticism.
The living area is pretty large for this type of rental; the under floor heating ensured that the rooms were always as warm as toast; the log-burner was unnecessary but provided a nice touch of atmosphere.
Numbers 7-12 are set further back from the road behind Numbers 1-6 which suited us, although while we were there the traffic was very light anyway. Handy for the shops (Co-op opposite). Bergo reception very friendly and you can get wifi there, but not in the cabins themselves.
The inly let down of the week was the price of the ski lesson where we were ripped off, but that was nothing to do with the Hovi cabin nor the Bergo Hotel, just wanted to mention it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piers M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We returned last night from Beitostolen. We stayed from the 22nd to the 29th Dec in the Hovi Cabins, booked through Crystal. We are a couple with a 3 year old son.

Amazing Holiday, enjoyed every second....don't know where to begin.....

We were the first ever Crystal passengers to arrive in Norway so we had a fantastic warm welcome at Fagerness airport, mascots for the kids, chocolate, drinks, sandwiches and singers! Such a lovely start to the holiday.

The transfer to Beitostolen is only 45 minutes which was great although they thought there may have been a problem with the airport on the return as the runway is quite small and icy, they were going to fly us back from Oslo, which is a 3 hour transfer, so be prepared incase this happens again.

When we got to the resort, everything was shut but one of the supermarkets (Kiwis) kindly opened for us to pick up essentials for the night/morning. The rep Fern already had all of our cabin keys so no checking in etc. The drop off was a little awkward with 6 bags, a crying toddler, deep snow and dragging suitcases down the road to the cabins but couldnt really be helped.

The cabins were fantastic, small and basic as you would expect of any ski accommodation but it had everything we needed and was infact very cosy, the open fire was nice to warm up in the evening. It was also very clean. The 'kitchen' was very small, don't expect to cook a 3 course meal in it, a mini oven with 2 rings, sink, fridge, kettle, toaster and mini dishwasher. No microwave but we managed without it. Everything you need for breakfast and an evening meal. Every room had its own heater and we often had to knock them off, so heating wasn't a problem. The cabins are not serviced, you make up your own beds on arrival, there is no bedding change and you have one towel each to last all week but this wasn't a big issue for us but you may want to take an extra towel especially if you plan on swimming. Theres no DVD player in the room and hardly any English programmes on, we took a laptop to watch DVD's in the evenings.

The resort of Beitostolen was beautiful, the people were friendly and it has everything you need. Everyone speaks English so no language barrier. We didn't ski but most people did. The resort is tiny so everything is only a few minutes away. The ski lifts are the other side of the resort to the cabins but only takes a few minutes to walk it. There is a Coop opposite the cabins which seemed to be best for price and choice. There is a Spar up towards the ski lifts but it seemed more expensive. The supermarkets only sell beer and WKD etc, there is a liquor store in the shopping centre opposite that sells wine and spirits. Be warned, they are nothing like the UK for selling alcohol, we couldn't buy wine xmas eve, xmas day or boxing day. The shops were shut xmas eve/day and it is illegal to sell alcohol over the holidays so if you're going over Xmas, stock up! The shops close earlier than we are used too and on Saturday you cant buy alcohol after 6pm. We didn't eat out because we had a toddler and it seemed very expensive but there seemed to be a few places to eat and pubs etc. It is like a ghost town in the night, it is very quiet so don't go here if you're looking for nightlife!!

The skiing is suitable for beginners but if youre more advanced or looking for a challenge, this isn't for you, there were only 3 slopes open and they were green and blue so definitely only suitable for beginners and not advanced skiers. There is a free bus that takes you over to different slopes which are red and black but we didn't go over there so cant comment.

You can swim in the Radisson hotel, £25 for a family pass for a week. The pool is a 25m pool with a very small childrens pool. It is clean and ideal if you are looking for something to do after the slopes or to entertain a little one. My husband also used the gym there, £15 a time. There is also a very small play are at the back of the kafeteria, there isn't much in there and its very small but it OK to entertain a toddler for an hour.

We done the dog sledding trip which was very good but we wouldn't do it with a toddler again, every other sledge apart from ours toppled over so not ideal for very young kids but if not and you like dogs then this trip is a must. I harnessed and hooked up my own team of huskies! We also done the Lavo night with Pete, an evening in a tepee eating Elk stew and drinking hot chocolate around a camp fire, again another must and only £30pp. The ride up the mountain on the back of the snowmobile in the dark is quite surreal but great fun! We also done the horse and sleigh ride which is again lovely and only £20pp. There was also a laay outside the Radisson hotel in the afternoons with reindeer and sleighs but we didn't get chance to do this.

All in all, it was an absolutely magical holiday and perfect for Xmas. I wouldn't hesitate suggesting these cabins or Beitostolen to friends and family. If you are thinking of booking it, do it! You wont regret it.

Feel free to contact me directly with any questions/concerns.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beitostolen
1.1 mi away
Bergo Hotel
Bergo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beitostolen
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Beitostolen
1.6 mi away
Gronolen Fjellgard
Gronolen Fjellgard
#1 of 13 in Oystre Slidre Municipality
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Knuts Hyttegrend
Knuts Hyttegrend
#2 of 8 in Beitostolen
11 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beitostolen Hytter og Camping
Beitostolen Hytter og Camping
#6 of 13 in Oystre Slidre Municipality
8 reviews
18.0 mi away
Bessheim Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Bessheim Mountain Lodge and Cabi...
#2 of 11 in Vaga Municipality
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hovi Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hovi Cottages

Property: Hovi Cottages
Address: Bygdinvegen | 2953, Beitostolen, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Oystre Slidre Municipality > Beitostolen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Beitostolen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing