We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Messina Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalo Nero
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the best choice”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We visited with my boyfriend and had reserved a double studio. We were given a room adequate for the handicapped, which wouldn't be a problem if it weren't for the open shower that made it very uncomfortable to shower and wet the whole bathroom. We asked for a different room but they told us that all other rooms were occupied.
Keep in mind that there are no double beds but twin beds in many of the rooms, so if you go as a couple you will not be sleeping on the same bed. The twin beds though, were very comfortable.
The pool was beautiful and very clean. The breakfast had variety but not quality. The juices were unacceptable and if you wanted a fresh juice you had to order from the bar and pay 3.50 euros. There were no other fruits than apples, kiwi and oranges while there are so many delicious fruit in Greece in July. The time of the breakfast is until 10. Not a time that you want to wake up when you are on vacation and the worst of all is that if you go 10-15 minutes before 10, you will find everything cold as they turn off the machines.
The location is very good, very nice sea view, the garden was very well taken care of and the complex is nicely structured. The rooms have been neglected though, kitchenette does not work, mini bar door does not close...
If the hotel paid more attention to the interior of the rooms and the breakfast, it would be a great place to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loula11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    38
    25
    22
    15
See reviews for
80
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

After a long drive we were desperate to settle down for the night. A local suggested Kalo Nero and as soon as I spotted the hotel (well kept and extremely cleaned, and beautifully designed) I was certain we would stay there, even if it cost a bit more. We were pleasantly surprised over the cost - very reasonable for a hotel across the sea, given the room size and facilities (microwave, fridge, oven, stovetop, and sink). This is a perfect place for a family to settle for their holidays. The beach was very clean and the location was within a reasonable distance to major attractions (i.e. ancient Olympia).

My only complaint was that 2:50am our hotel room door was opened by a staff member (with new guests). I was disappointed that upon check-out I didn't receive an apology and there was no mention of the incident until I brought it up. I would have expected a small discount off the room (10%, a free meal, or just simply an apologize) but wasn't offered anything other than an explanation that it was the staff member's first day and he got the rooms confused. This was inexcusable given my loss of sleep but nevertheless I would return to the hotel as the benefits outweighed that experience.

Room Tip: Sea View is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aekbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I had no idea how the rooms in this hotel would be since i hadn't checked it on the internet beforehand. So when they showed me my room i thought i was dreaming. Extremely spacious with lovely wooden furniture and a view to the sea that was but a few paces away, The location was excellent and the breakfast yummy :-) .Also, the staff was really kind and helpful. An excellent opportunity for a little luxury. Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: upper floor has more spacious roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lhda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had a brief two day stop here at the end of a long road trip. The Messina Mare is a modern complex that boasts Greek style. Everything is of a very good standard and it reminded me of Disney World Florida, Before that turns people off I have to say that that is a compliment, the Disney Corp knows all about customer care. Everything we asked of staff was instantly produced or altered with a smile and accuracy. The breakfasts were typical international style buffet of good quality and large quantities. The room was spacious and clean. What more could you ask for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Juliet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

But it isn't. However let's start with the positive points. We stayed in Messina Mare on summer 2011 in a maisonette. The room was comfortable with 2 bathrooms (one small and one normal size), which is something rare even in family rooms in Greek hotels. Two balconies as well (in lower and upper floors but only in the one sitting facilities were provided). In the lower room a sofa was used as double bed but it was not comfortable at all, rather small for grown children and with a bad quality mattress. Furniture nothing special but quite sufficient and a kitchenette. Although the hotel was located near the sea the view of our room was not that nice (facing other apartments and the road). The negative points: The second day of our stay the room was not cleaned up. I went to the reception where accidently met some of the cleaners. I was told that they tried to clean up the room but we have asked them to go away!!! When I have pointed out to them that we were out of the room-hotel, in a distant beach, from 11:20a.m to 5p.m. they claimed that there was a missunderstanding from their side. As the discussion went on I was told that each of the cleaners has to clean up 30 rooms per day. I can't verify this claim but what I can tell is that cleaning of our room (even when done) was not good and Iby looking to the visitors' book, complaints for cleaning were very often found. The first day we had dinner at the hotel but the choice was limited and quality to average levels. However we discovered some really nice taverns in the area in which food was really good at very reasonable prices. We strongly suggest "Arcadia" in the old part of the city of Kiparissia, near to the castle. Food is really good at a price of around 50 euro for four presons (without wine). Breakfast in Messina Mare was not good. There was better choice than dinner but quality of certain food was really poor. As a result most people were choosing the few things of better quality (ie. crepes with merenda) and those things were out of supply quite often. For coffee there were two Nestle machines. One was out of order. During our one week stay the broken coffee machine was there, next to the good one, without any sign indicating it was out of order. It was rather amusing because allowed a clear distiction in between the "old" clients and the newcomers. The new clients were trying to get some coffee out of the broken machine. The old ones had the experience and were making the queue in the proper coffee machine. Seaside in Kalo Nero is quite long but the part in front of the hotel has medium size rocks making entry-exit to the easy difficult. You have to take into account that when there is a strong north west wind waves at the coast can be as high as 2 m. and the combination of big waves with medium size rocks is really bad. Pool of the hotel is small and shallow. There are seaside beads and umbrellas but at a charge even for the hotel clients (5 euro for one person, 7 euro for two persons, price includes a bootle of water). Around Kiparissia there are endless beaches, so if you have a car this is not of a problem. Overall this could be a really nice family hotel (with comfortable rooms etc.), but it isn't due to problems with cleaning, average food and a lack of the proper management.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ATraveller048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euroxenia, Manager at Messina Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
First of all we would like to thank for all comments that create a motivation for improvements considering that the hotel was taken over from our company in March 2011. A few important things though that seems not quite accurate.
1. Cleaning. During this period (Mid July) there are 6 room mates for aproximately 60 units which brings a rate of 10 rooms per roommate. As for the cleaning we admit that some days the "donot disturb sign" or the demand from clients to clean them the room in a very short time frame (e,g after 11.30 when the kids wake up - and before 14.30 when the parents come to rest) does not fit to the working plan of the housekeeping. We are really aware of the Greek family habits and we are adapting our system accordingly in order to cover every need. As for the guest book at reception..There are only 2 complaints about cleaning among 25 comments. Very soon we will upload the guest book in our website which for the first year give us a very positive feeling to move further and improve.
2. Breakfast in hotel is, as mentioned from guests above expectations and is clear from the guestbook comments. We are surprised that was not found during the extensive search that was done in the guestbook concerning the room cleaning comments.
3. As for the pool it is true that we could prefer to be bigger but this cannot be changed as the ownership of the property maybe had wrong decisions 6 years before.
4. The value for money for our beach structure is obviously above the average in the area and the charge is actually typical concerning the value and the quality of the service provided. It is also important to mention that although all the nearby taverns and bars provide their umbrellas and umbrellas for free, the occupancy of our beach is equal or higher.

In any case our mission is to improve our customers' satisfaction and therefore many of the points mentioned are seriously considered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalo Nero hotels

Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hotel is situated on the seafront of Kalo nero village near Kyparissia. It is about 3 hours drive from Athens. It is nearby Pylos, Ancient Olympia site, Epikourios Apollon temple, Kyparissia castle and neda river. The rooms are very spacious like junior suites (3 rooms : kitchenette, bathroom, bedroom, livingroom with sofa and dining table, balcony). On the plus side : Very friendly and helpfull personell, good restaurant, nice pool.
On the minus side : The rooms need some maintance ( a/c plumbing visible, mosquito net torn, some rust visible on the balcony ) and some things like the kitchen cabinets or the metal bed are not in par with the hotels 4 star rating ( though the matress is good enough to make sleep pleasant). Also the parking is an afterthought very small for the size of the hotel and without delineated spaces. Last but not least despite the hotel being practicaly on the waterfront most rooms have no sea view.

On children : It provides children beds and chairs for food. It has a special swimming pool for todlers and babysitter for surcharge but no scheduled activities for the children. However many families are here so the children can find easily playmates.

The beach: More rocky than sandy inside , it deepens rather rapidly and at least this summer it is so windy that you cannot enjoy it with small children ( waves , and rocks being thrown by the waves on you as you enter).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cgktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife and I were nicely surprised when we checked in for a 10 days holiday on the 27th of June with the type of room we were offered as it was beyond our expectations when
we booked requesting a studio for the 2 of us . This was a two storie appartment with 2 bathrooms and all the appropriate facilities of self catering , spacious enough for a family of four . Our booking was made on a BB basis and the offered breakfast was quite good in variety and quality of food . We were very pleased with the location of the hotel as we had easy access to the beach by just crossing the road plus the fact tha we were offered free of charge sunbeds and umbrella for the day by the restaurant overlloking the beach were we actually enjoyed our lunch with a kind of homecooked well priced food . The nearby town of Kyparissia only 5 klm's away offered us a variety of choices for a night out with plenty of restaurants , bars , cafes e.t.c. . The hotel staff was very helpfull and willing whenever we requested their assistance. We shall definetely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank candevoyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalo Nero
3.0 mi away
Apollo Resort Art Hotel
Apollo Resort Art Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kyparissia
366 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kyparissia Beach Hotel
Kyparissia Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kyparissia
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kyparissia
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
21.1 mi away
The Romanos Resort, Costa Navarino
11.1 mi away
Ostria Hotel Kakovatos
Ostria Hotel Kakovatos
#1 of 1 in Zacharo
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Messina Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Messina Resort Hotel

Property: Messina Resort Hotel
Address: | Kalo Nero Beach, Kalo Nero, Kyparissia 245 00, Greece (Formerly Messina Mare SeaSide Hotel)
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kyparissia > Kalo Nero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalo Nero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Messina Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Messina Resort Hotel is a modern hotel complex, located in the seaside village of Kalo Nero, situated on the seafront under a traditional architecture, offering comfort and high level hospitality. Guests can enjoy the sun and the sea on a sandy beach, which stretches in front of Messina Mare. For those who prefer to spend their time in the swimming pool, they can enjoy a variety of coffees, beverages and snacks, overlooking the blue Ionian sea. Messina Mare hotel consists of 10 buildings with 66 spacious and fully equipped rooms, divided into studios, apartments and maisonettes, decorated with a modern style. All rooms have balconies with sea or garden view, with split A/C units . Everything in Messina Resort is selected, making the holidays memorable for visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Messina Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing