We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for perfect holidays!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Irida Resort Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Kalo Nero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have stayed 2 beautiful weeks in this hotel. Hotel is conveniently located near the Kalo Nero village. From this place it’s easy by car to travel to any part of the Peloponnesus. The restaurants and shop as well as the beach are walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is run by a very nice family (Kostas, Irina and their 2 children). Employed stuff is also there. They manage to do it in the professional way adding their soul in what they are doing. I agree with some of the comments saying is that you feel like you are visiting your old friends. They manage to give the needed attention to each guest advising on any subject (what places to visit, how to cook the pie) etc. – you can always see them around. If you need help – they are there to assist). Our room (301) was large enough with all you need: kitchen corner with microwave, coffee maker, fridge etc. Bed was fantastic!) Flat TV, radio - I will not enumerate all but all was there according to Best Western chain standards and more. For women - hair dryer is there ) Cleaning of the rooms was done each day in the time convenient for us. Breakfast – just fantastic. Each day different and actually homemade as Irina (owner ) is herself involved in the process за cooking. Take your chance to try pies she is cooking – that is something I must say! The whole atmosphere is very relaxing and quiet. Parking is located just in front of the hotel (you can see it on the pictures). Wi-Fi internet is there – perfect connection in our room (Skype video calling, e-mail etc. working fine). Nice playground for the children. And once again – this is a small family hotel for the quiet and relaxing holiday also with children – if that is what you are looking for – you will not be disappointed! Manage your expectations in the correct way and if you have questions or doubts – just ask the owners as we did by e-mail or skype. You can also ask us – will be more than glad to answer your questions (family@murmuridis.ru). Mikhail and Jane Murmuridis (Moscow, Russia). Here you can find 2 panoramas of the hotel and the beach where we usually went: http://occipital.com/user/e1db-83659/mikhail-rainman

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the ground floor. So no stairs there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Murmuridis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedipos, Front Office Manager at Irida Resort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2014

Thanks Dear Guest, for your kind words....We did simply our job and will continue, in the future, to have the same attitude, to all our guests. It is a tradition for the Greeks to believe trully to Philoxenia- loving taking care about foreigners -Guests. We are looking forward seeing him, in the newar future.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stay for 3 wonderful days at Irida resort in Kalo Nero, Northwestern part of Messinia. The location of the hotel was excellent, is just across an endless sandy beach. It was very quiet and peaceful a great place for relaxation.

The hotel has a huge garden surrounded by tall pines and colourful rose bushes. The apartment we stayed in was spacious, beautifully decorated with lots of lovely touches, exceptionally clean and the kitchen was fully equipped. Breakfast at Irida was great. A wide selection of pastries, coffee, juices, yogurt and delicious omelettes.

Kostas the owner/manager and his wife Rena were very friendly and very hospitable. Rena was responsible for the beautiful room décor and for the delicious breakfast. Kostas gave us excellent recommendations for very interesting places to visit around the area.

So, if you look for a great location for your vacations, a decent, comfort, elegance and great value for money place to stay, look no further.
We will be back soon…

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank haraexarhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedipos, Owner at Irida Resort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for your nice, cute words. We are looking forward hosting you again to our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A road trip aroud the Northwestern part of Messinia took us to the beach of Kalo Nero in search for a decent place to stay for a couple of nights and soak up the sun and salty breeze of the Ionian Sea. Past the beach bars and the tavernas along the beach road we found Irida Resort a perfect place for our stop over.

We were welcomed by the friendly and very hospitable couple of Kostas and Rena, the masterminds of this cosy resort. Both perfectionists each on heir own field, they have combined their efforts to provide the guest with a seamless staying experience.

All the building complex and the huge garden were very well maintained and the apartment we stayed in took me by surprise first of all by the spotless cleanliness and freshness that you felt as soon as you entered. Rena's touch was obvious with the embroidered pillow cases and the heavy curtains which gave the whole apartment an air of class and in the kitchen as well which had everything required to prepare from a cup of coffee to a full meal of one of Rena;s secret recipes if you beg hard enough to share one with you! Kostas will help you choose the wine (trust him...!) and inform you on all the beautiful sights surrounding Irida Resort.

From ancient sites of archaiological interest to places of natural beauty, Irida Resort can be the base for the exploration of this very interesting part of the Peloponnese From relaxed suntaning and swimming in the Ionian Sea at the beautiful sandy beach in front of Irida Resort to cycling along the beach road or walking on the deserted railroad tracks to more remote beach areas our stay was most fullfilling.

Already booked for August...
See you there...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CptIoannis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedipos, Owner at Irida Resort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for your comment! Please let us know if there’s anything we can help you with.
You and your beloved persons are always welcomed at Best Western Irida Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Having stayed at Irida resort for 4 nights at the suite with a view to the sea and having read all the comments here we expected something that would be worth of 150euros per night that we paid.
The suite we stayed in was expected to have a nice view at the sea, instead there was a view to the valley and a small edge of the coastline which was ok but certainly it wasn't what we had paid for.
However, that wasn't the most important disadvantage of the room. We were surprised to discover that the bed was not at all comfortable, it was rather old, low and the mattress curved to the center.
Apart from that, the air-condition was literally over our feet opposite the bed, which could give us two choices: either get a cold from the A/C blowing all over us or suffer from the heat as we should turn it off to avoid a bad flu.
We couldn't leave the window open either because the screen was torn and the mosquitoes would certainly attack the room.
Finally, if you are over 1.90cm tall and over 85kilos you should think twice before getting into the tiny bathroom, which would let you just a little space to move around and make your life difficult.
However, I should mention that the breakfast was decent and the service sufficient.

All in all, I wouldn't give more than 70-80 euros per night for that bedroom and I would appreciate it if I knew it before making the reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loulou3341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedipos, Manager at Irida Resort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

According to our investigations we made : At our records there is no booking trough any channel for 4 days at August 2011 for Suite with Sea View, with rent 150 Euros per day. (She writes: I would appreciate it if I knew it before making the reservation.)
She never answer to our email to clarify about her stay details (4 nts X 150E in Suite SV). She assumes things which they could happen, does not describe real facts: i.e , if you are over 1.90cm ,,,,,you should think...... the mosquitoes would attack.....which could give us two choices: either get a cold from the A/C blowing all over us or suffer from the heat as we should turn it off to avoid a bad flu...a view to the valley...There is no valley near our hotel.
There is not any report about these fantastic scenarios to our reception. All the above things are far from any truth, completely fake. Please do your own appropriate actions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was our first trip to Peloponnisos and Kalo Nero. Before getting there, we were wondering how the hotel would be, how the beach would be and generally if we'd enjoy it.

Well, it was all worth it, and more. Mr. Kostas and Rena at the Irida hotel were awesome hosts, the room we got was spacious, very clean and lovely (overlooking halfways the mountains and halfways the sea - talk about a great view!).

We had our breakfast outside in the garden, and it was rich (when you go, don't forget to sample Rena's home made jams, especially the sour cherry one, my favorite!).

Something that we particularly liked, both hubby and me, was the fact that the hotel is very quiet, further away from the noise of the center. If you're around 18 or so, and like to listen to the hard rock music of the several cafe-restaurants and people passing by until very late at night, then this hotel is not for you. But if you are with your family and want to enjoy all the action during the day, but rest, relax and simply listen to the sea waves that truly lull you to sleep each night, then don't miss the opportunity to visit Irida Resort. It is worth booking there.

While you're there, don't forget to check out the beach at night (which is right in front of the hotel) for the turtles there (called Caretta-Caretta). There are volunteers every evening helping these baby turtles. It's really something worth seeing.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor so you can have sea view and watch the sunset every evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MarikaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedipos, Front Office Manager at Irida Resort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2014

Thanks Dear Guest, for your kind words....We did simply our job and will continue, in the future, to have the same attitude, to all our guests. It is a tradition for the Greeks to believe trully to Philoxenia- loving taking care about foreigners -Guests. We are looking forward seeing him, in the newar future.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We mada a last minute booking and we went for a weekend..The area is beautifull ,the beach is sandy and you can choose between organized or not place to sit...

The hotel is nice,the rooms are big and fully equipt...
Everything there is very clean and the owners Kostas and Irene are really friendly people that try their best to please you...
I m sure i ll go there again...The area is a perfect weekend getaway...

PS: the food at the tavernaw near by is very tast and very cheep...


Yiannis Zervas...

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
10  Thank yiannisZervas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedipos, Public Relations Manager at Irida Resort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2014

Thanks Dear Guest, for your kind words....We did simply our job and will continue, in the future, to have the same attitude, to all our guests. It is a tradition for the Greeks to believe trully to Philoxenia- loving taking care about foreigners -Guests. We are looking forward seeing him, in the newar future.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

New building in secluded position front of the sea, nice architecture, large rooms with kitchenette, balcony and access to common covered areas ventilated and with sea view. Good AC, comfortable bed and linen (not changed daily, though). Two mins walk to taverns and restaurant on the waterfront, more in the village. Clear water and sand beach in front of the hotel, 20 mins walk to beautiful natural beach. Good and abundant breakfast, very friendly manager and staff. Also sell beverages, good local wine. Good base for visiting Ancient Messene site ( a must, really), a nearby Mycenaean tomb ( very impressive ), Nestor palace and outstanding museum at Pylos and the Apollo temple at Bassae.

Room Tip: As (mature) couple, we preferred large twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c-s65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedipos, Guest Relations Manager at Irida Resort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2014

Thanks Dear Guest, for your kind words....We did simply our job and will continue, in the future, to have the same attitude, to all our guests. It is a tradition for the Greeks to believe trully to Philoxenia- loving taking care about foreigners -Guests. We are looking forward seeing you, in the near future.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalo Nero
2.5 mi away
Natura Club Hotel & Spa
Natura Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Kalo Nero
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Messina Resort Hotel
Messina Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kalo Nero
167 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kyparissia Beach Hotel
Kyparissia Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kyparissia
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Apollo Resort Art Hotel
Apollo Resort Art Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kyparissia
384 reviews
18.1 mi away
Artina Nuovo
Artina Nuovo
#1 of 3 in Marathopoli
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Akrogiali
Hotel Akrogiali
#2 of 2 in Kalo Nero
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irida Resort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irida Resort Suites

Address: Kalo Nero Beach, Kalo Nero, Kyparissia 245 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kyparissia > Kalo Nero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kalo Nero
Price Range: $81 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Irida Resort Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irida Resort Suites is located on one of the most beautiful beaches of Greece, where Sea Turtles Caretta-Caretta choose to build their nests. We are just 12 steps from the sea, inside a green area of seven acres. This family run hotel is open all year round. We are a fully equipped luxurious apartment property offering panoramic sea views. Relax on the verandas where you can enjoy your drink or your coffee or just spend the day on the spectacular beach, under the forest of tree-pines. Our staff will help you plan your excursions in the area in order to visit the unique Neda's River Gorge and Waterfalls, the Ancient Olympia, the Ancient Messene,Temple of Zeus on Mountain Lykaion, Epicurean Apollo Temple and Nestor's Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Irida Resort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kiparissia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing