We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, a gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spiti Prifti Apartments
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, a gem of a place”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After searching for days on the internet of places to go for a short break I kept on coming back to Spiti Prifti. Well what can I say... it exceeded our expectations.

I was traveling for my 40th birthday with my friend, leaving the husband and children at home and we wanted somewhere relaxing and small. From the moment we arrived (by Taxi which Eleni arranged for us) we were treated like old friends.

We arrived late at night to a spotlessly clean room with water, milk and cake in the room. We had opted for a studio and the room was a very good size with small but well equipped Kitchen and decent shower room.

We popped to the pool bar and ate a medley of the starters/side orders which were very tasty. Babis was very welcoming. The following morning we ate breakfast by the pool and Glynnis was again very welcoming and a mine of information on the area. We then made our way back to our room where Eleni greeted us like old friends, making sure we were happy with everything.

Eleni and her staff are very hard working, they are constantly cleaning, making sure everyone is happy and generally creating a home from home atmosphere. I have never been somewhere that they genuinely seem to enjoy their jobs so much.

Gouvia is a lovely village with lots of places to eat, drink and shop. We also walked through the Marina (turn right instead of towards Gouvia) and found the quaintest little village with a handful of bars and Tavernas) It was here we had a lovely meal with retsina and it was only 16 euros!! It was run by a little old Greek couple who were so lovely.

On 2 nights we caught the bus from outside the apartments to the Magical Old Corfu town. Corfu Old town is definitely worth a visit, it is so pretty and baring in mind we were 2 ladies on our own we felt completely safe wondering the streets taking in the delights of what was on offer there.

We spent most of our time by the pool, relaxing in the dappled shade of the trees. It made a change not to have to fight for sunloungers as on previous holidays. There was a mix of guests, most of which had children ranging from about 4 up to 16, all the children were well behaved and polite and seemed to be enjoying themselves - a real credit to the parents.

You must (and I cant stress this enough) go on the BBQ boat trip. Spiros who runs the trip is so funny and took us to the most amazing beaches and caves and the water was so clear, we paid 25 euros which included drinks and a wonderful BBQ on a beach only accessible by boat.

I don't tend to return to a holiday destination more than once as there are so many places in the world to see, however on this occasion I will be making an exception as I will be taking the rest of my family back to experience the delights of Spiti Prifti and what the gorgeous island of Corfu has to offer.

Thank you Eleni, Babis and Glynnis for making my 40th so special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
130
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Thanks to Eline and her wonderful staff at Spiti Prifti made one of our best vacation ever. They gave us a splended service and made us feel very comfertable. The place is wonderful surrounded with a green garden and great pool area. The rooms are spacy and cleaned every day. This is highly recomended for both families, friends and couples.
Even if the place is nearby a busy road, this was not in any way anoying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank are_fagerheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It's always a big decision on where to stay on holiday because it's a big outlay and you don't want to get it wrong.
We've just got back from our first 11 night stay at Spiti Prifti and if it's a risk free holiday you're after you, won't go wrong here.
I've been on press trips around the world and this was one of the nicest, friendliest and best kept places I've ever stayed.
Everything previous posters say about Eleni,Glynis and Babis are true - nothing is too much trouble for them and their only interest is to make your holiday a hassle-free time.
Glynis behind the bar is so friendly you feel like you've known her for ages within a day or so....and the whole team always remember everyone's names.
The rooms are a very good size - we had a one bedroom which would have been comforable for two adults and two children believe me! - and immaculately kept each day.
Everything is thought of from the sweet smelling sachets in the wardrobes and blackout material behind the curtains to a towel rack on the extremely large balcony overlooking some beautifully maintained gardens.
Gouvia itself has plenty of lively restaurants including a decent Chinese and Mexican, although the Elvis impersonators - whilst entertaining - didn't quite capture that inner spark of the King.
Corfu Town costs about £5 there and back for three and is a fascinating hotch potch of Italian and Greek architecture with restaurants and cafes to match...oh and an M&S!
Spiti Prifti is perfectly placed for the capital and Paleokastritsa, a beautiful seaside resort with lovely beaches and caves.
I could go on, but I can't really stress enough with words how relaxing Spiti Prifti and the team that run it are - best thing is to try it - you won't be disappointed.
We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: All looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for 11 nights beginning June 2012. Have visited Gouvia quite a few times but this was the first time we had stayed the Marina end of town.
All I can say is that Eleni and her staff made the stay very enjoyable. From planning our arrival, airport collections and arriving late with 3 children under 5 in tow - they made everything so easy and stress free. Pool area lovely and clean and bar staff brilliant and really made us and the children feel so welcome. What I will say is it's not really a place for school age kids. We went with our 5 year old and apart from the pool there wasn't much else so he got a bit bored. Great for smaller ones though. Also as the other guests were mostly older we did get quite a few tuts about the noise the kids were making round the pool. This was not the view of Eleni and her team however as they loved having them there.

The rooms were clean but basic but this is Greece. There were a few issues. The shower leaked everywhere - had to hold the shower head as the pressure fluctuated so much it literally blew off the holder at one point and with a tiled floor and a toddler this was an accident waiting to happen and it did resulting in one very bruised head! Second was the ants! Never seen so many in my life. We didn't really cook in the room due to this problem. Coming back at night was the worst - round the door was black with ants and had to step over them. Also found huge ones in the bed. The third issue and maybe more of a problem for me than others but the beds were so hard which made it very hard for myself and my husband to sleep.

Negatives done, it really is a lovely place to stay and we would have loved to have stayed again but unfortunately due to the cost of food and drink in Corfu and having the children too we are going All Inclusive next year. At 2 euros for a scoop of icecream and 2 euros for a small coke it just becomes too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonesae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We're just home from Spiti Prifti, Wife Maria daughter Murron & Granny all had a fantastic time staying here, we can't wait to go back :-) Eleni and and all her staff are wonderful people they will do anything for you. Apartments were cleaned daily, outside ground very well maintained. Good size swimming pool with a lovely pool side bar area with a good selection of food and drinks. Gouvia town only 10min walk, bus to Corfu town only 20min which you can catch outside entrance (2euro each). Would like to thank Eleni and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

we have just returned from yet another fantastic holiday at Spriti Prifti, as always the apartments were kept exceptionally clean with daily cleaning and clean towels and bed linen every other day. Eleni and her team of staff can not do enough for her customers, nothing is too much trouble. The garden , pool area and pool bar, have been updated during the winter and are well maintained, with a good selection of food for breakfast , lunch and early evening meals ( although we did miss the restaurant( which was closed this year ) for a later evening meal. The villages of Gouvia and Kontokali are both within easy walking distance and offer various restaurants and late night entertainment. we have never been dissapointed with our stays at Spiti Prifti, and it is always great to meet up with old friends who have holidayed there for many years, which in my mind says it all , we will continue to return as long as we can as it NEVER dissapoints. Thank you Eleni x x x x

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, the complex is very quiet, and some rooms have a view of the pool , althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorinda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at Spiti Prifti for 1 week (7 nights). The hotel is only 115 minutes from Corfy Down town in the town of Gouvia. The apartments are very nice and clean and have all the things you need for a stay.
The hotel is not the big resort type but quiet nice personal with only 20 apartments. The staff is very friendly and make your stay as perfect as possible. The pool area is very nice and clean and has a nice pool bar with all sorts of drinks and food. The pool will open at 9am and closes at 12pm.
From the hotel it is only 5 minutes walking to the main street of Gouvia. We recomment this hotel to everybody who wants to visit Gouvia.

Ken and barbie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbeer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
0.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,297 reviews
5.5 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
3.0 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spiti Prifti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spiti Prifti Apartments

Property: Spiti Prifti Apartments
Address: Gouvia | Corfu, Gouvia 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gouvia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gouvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spiti Prifti Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spiti Prifti offers 20 beautiful self-catering holiday apartments set in 8.000 Square metres of stunning gardens in the village of Gouvia. Our resort is ideal for families and couples looking for a relaxing and friendly holiday option. All our apartments are furnished with flair and style and fully equipped to a high standard. They are fully equipped throughout for the perfect family holiday. We offer a wonderful range of amenities including: Fully operational kitchen, with refrigerator, microwave, oven with grill, kettle, coffee machine and toaster. Bathroom with shower, Satellite TV, Individually controlled air-conditioning units in the bedrooms, and Balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spiti Prifti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiti Prifti Apartments Gouvia
Spiti Prifti Apartments Corfu/Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing