We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ amazing honeymoon”
Review of Iliada Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iliada Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ amazing honeymoon”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i booked this hotel as a late deal for our honeymoon. we were not at all disappointed. the breakfast is a bit boring but other than that it was amazing. the staff are lovely, the rooms are spotless and it's a stones throw from the beach. we will be returning!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tracydarrenfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    114
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
58
164
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Iliada from the 16th - 23rd September of a bed and breakfast basis via Thomson. A quick overview.
Rooms
The rooms are extremely basic. They have the hardest most uncomfotable beds I have ever tried to sleep on, please vouch for yourselves. The shower is a hand held affair that requires skill to avoid wet floors and walls. There is a small plug in fridge and one other socket that was loose. Minimal furnishings and storage space.
Location
Very good in the centre of the small resort, lovely shingle beach and cheap sun beds (7 Euro a day for 2 beds and a brolly). Adequate number of restaurants and bars and some minimanl entertainment. Best place we ate was 9 Muses for quality and service and worst was Fillipos. Most menus are the same stuff so no real variety, except a mexican and chinese (we didnt try). The shops sell the same tourist tat; faded beach towels, faded beach goods, fridge magnets, fake goods and the usual stuff they have probably had for 10 years and will have an another 10 years.

Staff and service at Iliada
Maria on reception is lovely and extremely helpful. We didnt have any dealings with other staff. Air con in room but not used. Tip would be to take a travel kettle for your room. Breakfast was Tesco Value ham, plastic cheese, occasional boiled eggs, bread, mini toasts, a bowl of jam and yoghurt, tea, coffe and orange cordial.

Value for money
No. We have done 4 star holidays for less and for any readers who want far better accommodatin at the same price of less, a few examples from our travels;
Marillia Village - Perivolos - Santorini
Garden Village - Kalamaki - Zante
Capodimonte Hotel - Sorrento - Italy (amazing)
Anywhere in Skiathos

Trips
Went to Corfu old town on the bus which was a good day, hired a boat for the day from Billies Boats (65 Euro plus fuel approx 10 Euro for the day).

Conclusion
Good relaxing holiday, nice scenic location, would stay somewhere else though.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked this holiday at the last minute so we were limited on the choice of the location and hotel. We were not sure that Gouvia was the place for us but decided to go. What a find this was, the place had everything we like for a holiday. The Iliada hotel is family run and all the staff are very friendly and helpful, very informative about the area. Hotel is very clean, towels and bedding changed regularly, bed very hard, both husband and I had problems sleeping. Air conditioning was available at an additional cost, but well worth it. There was also a fridge in the room, no security box in the room but were available at the reception or a fee.
We were in room 1, not the best of rooms, very small balcony and overlooking the back of the other rooms. Although, reading the reports of the rooms located at the front we were probably in a better location, although had no view.
The pebble beach is located right outside the hotel, 2 sunbeds and parasol 7 euro per day, but well worth it, beach quiet not alot of screaming kids, water was like a pond, found this so tranquil, was the most peaceful place on earth early morning. From the beach it was a short walk to the marina which is quite busy and interesting. The hotel is also situated by the Main Street so all facilities are on our doorstep, very convenient. Food in the hotel was good, so was the wine, the family make their own wine so was also reasonably priced. All in all this is a great place and we will return. Thanks to Eric for his hospitality and the recommendations for restaurants in Corfu Town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just come back from two weeks at the Iliada Beach, fantastic , best holiday yet, we have been to many Greek Islands and Corfu twice but the stay at Iliada was the best. The family who run hotel so warm and friendly and the rooms cleaned everyday, resturant was fantastic great food, oh and wine!!!!!we will be going back next year to continue our fantastic holiday, thankyou Andy Eric and family and staff, see you next year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

On arrival we were made to feel extremely welcome, the hotel is family run and we booked as a last minute, travelling for the first time on our own without the grown up kids.
We hadn't realised it had no pool until after the booking and I was worried we had made a mistake ,there was no need to worry as the hotel is 50 yards from the beach and the sea was like a mill pond and was really quiet, perfect for couples or young children as it was so safe.
We did pay the 7 euros every time we went onto the beach for sun beds which was well worth it and we just took it as part of the cost of the holiday.
The rooms are basic what we expected for the cost, extremely clean, the only drawback was the beds are really hard, which is fine if you like a hard bed, but we both did struggle to sleep
Our room did overlook the beach and was on the second floor, we did seem to have the best spot room 208
The breakfast was continental and more than adequate the greek yogurt and honey is a must.
We eat out on the first night at a local restaurant in the town, but was disappointed as it was rushed and not to standard, so we tried the hotel restaurant, this was fabulous and we ended up eating there every night. All the meals we had did not disappoint and the staff are fantastic. The oven baked feta and meze for two are lovely and the fish platter is well worth trying good value for money.
Overall a really good holiday especially for couples or young children

Room Tip: Go for the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks B&B at the Iliada. As seasoned travellers and lovers of the Greek Islands we have stayed in a wide variety of places. The Iliada is situated in an excellent location, close to the beach and only a few short steps away from the main strip. The room was cleaned and the bin emptied every day, an important consideration because of the nature of the Greek plumbing (those of you who have been to the islands before will know what I mean) and the bed sheets are changed 3 times a week, with the towels being changed twice a week. Breakfast is served from 8 - 10am, but you really need to be there before 9:30 or else there will be a limited amount left (no big deal, but worth knowing). There are orange and apple juices, coffee, tea bags (hot water for tea bags provided) slices of madeira type sponge cake, bread (always fresh, soft and delicious) jam, butter, cereal (cornflakes and choc type flakes) milk, hot for the coffee and cold for the cereal, Greek yogurt, honey, peaches (in syrup and sometimes with bits of pear too) slices of processed cheese and ham, and a couple of times there were also chunks of fresh melon. Continental type breakfast so no hot food and no toaster. We have marked the service as average, but that is more a fault of the way trip advisor goes from average to very good than a reflection on the service it wasn't 'very' good but good - pleasant staff and helpful.
Although we emailed in advance to ask for a room with a sea view we didn't get a reply and on arrival were told that none were available. We were in room 110 and this was on the ground floor, directly opposite the reception. The advantage of this was that it was a ground floor location, and we could pick up the free wifi in our room and on our balcony. The dis-advantages were that everyone sat on the wall outside our room to pick up the wifi, so we had no peace when we decided to use our balcony, there were people outside every night until the early hours laughing and shouting, and even inside with the doors shut it was noisy. The room is also quite close to the restaurant and the music was loud, most nights we had to cope with the bar of the restaurant just across the way from the Iliada's own playing their music at a volume that competed with our hotel, so we got two different lots of loud music playing at the same time. Coupled with the fact that the beds are extremely hard, it made sleeping difficult; we often spent nights with very little sleep, not ideal!
We booked through Thomson and arranged our transfer with them. The driver obviously didn't know the area well and when we were dropped off (at 3 in the morning) we were left with no idea where to go, as he dropped us off without telling us anything. The gate he dropped us off at was locked (this is done at 1am every night) and we were left to wander around in a strange place with no idea what to do next. As an older couple, well used to travelling, we felt somewhat abandoned, but decided that there must be another entrance that was open. I dread to think what could have happened had we been a couple of teenaged girls, dragging our suitcases along a dimly lit road at that time in the morning. After a while we walked towards the beach and found the 'main' entrance. Not a good start - thanks a bunch Thomson!
Air con for the room is extra (5 euros per day) but paying extra for this is becoming the norm and it is well worth it. The overall impression of the room was that it was tired and could do with an update. The sink in the bathroom was cracked and the shower flooded the bathroom every time you used it. The frosted glass window to the bathroom faced the corridor, so it didn't feel all that private. The fridge was clean and worked well. No safety deposit box in the room but these were available at reception (at an extra cost) although we didn't need one as we had a strong lockable suitcase.
The area by the BBQ was a nice place to sit with a coffee and watch the world go by, until mid week, when a huge pile of dog poo appeared and was still there when we left on Friday night. Our transport back to the airport was due to pick us up at 00:45 Saturday morning and we had to vacate the room by mid day Friday. We asked to rent a room for another night (65euros!) but none were available, so we had to leave our luggage in reception. Not ideal as there was no secure place, just a short corridor by the information boards. There was a shower room and toilets for us to use, but no towels. However, after finding out that there were 6 of us that were going to be hanging around all day, a room was made available for us to use to shower and change.
The beach at Gouvia is pebble and sun beds and parasol available for rent at 7 euros per day. (are you adding this up people? that's now 12 euros per day for air con and sunbeds plus whatever the charge for safety deposit box is). The beach can get quite crowded, but there are never that many people in the water. Yes, we thought that was a bit odd, but soon found out why. The water is very murky, even quite far out, and has a strange phenomena. It has pockets of cold water that flow through it. As I like snorkelling I was disappointed. It has to be the least clear water I have come across in any of the places in the islands I have been. Not sure why this should be the case. Might be because the sea bed goes from slippery stones to a horrible sinky type of silt, or because there is a lot of boat traffic from the nearby marina - not sure - but if you want the usual warm, crystal clear waters you are going to be disappointed. Take the bus to Paeleokastritsa (about 15km away) or rent a boat - 65 euros for a boat that can take up to 5 people, fuel extra (about 30 euros) - and putter off round the coast a bit.
We were told that the bus to Paeleokastitsa didn't stop at Gouvia, and that you had to go into Corfu town to catch it, but it does. Green bus, look at the timetable on the info board in reception for times.
There is a large supermarket a short walk from the main drag in Gouvia and it is a lot cheaper than the small ones, although you have to cross the busy main road there is a crossing controlled by lights.
Getting into Corfu town by bus is cheap and easy. You can buy a ticket from the machine (English language instructions available on the machine) for 1.5 euros or pay the bus driver 2 euros (each way) or buy a ticket at reception for 2 euros. Blue bus number 7 takes you to the bus station and it's a short walk to the centre of Corfu town (about 500m). Same number bus to take you back to Gouvia and the buses run about every 20 mins until around 10.30pm. Taxis available from 10 to 20 euros but agree the price before you get in! travel time on the bus is about 15 mins to Corfu from Gouvia depending on time of day (rush hour is about 5 mins longer)

Prices in Greece have gone up quite a bit, and this is reflected in the price of food, drink, clothing etc. In a snack bar or restaurant expect to pay about 2.5 euros on average for a coffee, soft drink or small beer, snacks from about 5 euros (that's 30 euros gone for a family of 4) Meals out in the evening can range from 15 to 60 euros per person depending on how many courses you have and how much you drink. items such as linen shirts/t shirts/ladies clothing ranged from 10 to 55 euros, but you can often haggle a little bit on the price of the dearer (better quality) ones. Chilled soft drinks from the supermarkets start at about 50 cents for a can and 1.2 for a small bottle, so its a good idea to stock up the fridge.
On the main drag is a small café that does a full English breakfast for 6.5 euros (bit strange to have some cucumber with it though ~ lol). An absolute must is to try the Moukas restaurant. We ate their 3 times during our stay. Food was excellent, lots of choices, prices very good and the staff brilliant. If you are lucky enough to have Nicole as your waitress you will find her informative, with excellent spoken English. We checked out the restaurant guide on trip advisor before we went and although we tried some of the places we had to wonder why this place wasn't mentioned. We also went to Melodies ~ an English run karaoke bar. Great fun, friendly and with lively cosmopolitan atmosphere.
As with most reviews the comments here are subjective, reflecting our own experience and others will have a different view depending on what they want to get out of their holiday and what they wish to do. Don't be put off going to Corfu, it's a wonderful, relaxing island if that's what you want with plenty to see and do. Just make sure that you choose your hotel and location wisely.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are a lot quieter. Unless you can sleep through anything try to avoid the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blueovation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West Britain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home after a two week stay at the Iliada Beach. Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here. Location of hotel is superb 50 yds from pebbly beach. Plenty sun beds looked after by the cheery man and his dogs... 7 Euros a day! Also a stones throw away from Main Street in Gouvia. 15 min walk from Kontakali which is full of tavernas and good restaurants and also very close to Gouvia marina where it's relaxing watching the world go by with a glass of wine or Ouzo. Outdoor public pool at the marina is fab and sun beds here 2Euro each. Five min walk to bus stops from hotel which can take you into Corfu town for 1.50 Euro if you buy a ticket from the machine or 2Euro on bus (blue no7 bus for Corfu town Dassia, Ipsos). Local green buses for other prts of the island. Hotel was the cleanest I have ever seen! The maids are lovely and scrub everything in sight... Constant smell of bleach, towels changed as required and bedding twice a week. Eric, Andy and Clara are fab front of house in the bar and restaurant where the food is good... Nothing is too much trouble and the reception staff are brill too and will explain how to get to places on the island! Thank you so much for the use of the spotless courtesy room on our last day, a perfect end to a perfect stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank roversgals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
0.4 mi away
Paradise Hotel Corfu
Paradise Hotel Corfu
#5 of 17 in Gouvia
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Molfetta Beach Hotel
Molfetta Beach Hotel
#9 of 17 in Gouvia
136 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.4 mi away
Govino Bay Corfu
Govino Bay Corfu
#8 of 17 in Gouvia
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliada Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliada Beach Hotel

Property: Iliada Beach Hotel
Address: Gouvia, Gouvia 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gouvia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gouvia
#7 Family Hotel in Gouvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Iliada Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iliada Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iliada Beach Hotel Corfu/Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing