We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring Corfu”
Review of Govino Bay Corfu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Govino Bay Corfu
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
bishopstoke
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring Corfu”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed in May- the apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable. The apartments are in groups of 4, very quiet, no noise from other apartments, some from the main road which is about fifty metres from the complex. When we first arrived we were shown an apartment directly overlooking the road, we asked to be moved and we were moved to an apartment overlooking the tennis court, it would be sensible to stipulate location when booking. Nice pool area, grounds lead down to an inlet, didn't bathe there as stony foreshore, but still a very pretty outlook. Bus stop directly outside for Corfu town which is really interesting historically and a beautiful old town, also transport links to rest of island. Shark Fish Taverna fantastic - you pick your fish and it's cooked for you, excellent.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank geminivxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    71
    33
    16
    12
See reviews for
91
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed at the Govino Bay Apartments beginning of July as part of a wedding party. They are in a really good setting with extensive gardens with a good size pool that didn't get too crowded,It sold a good selection of snacks at the pool bar.The water front isn't the best for bathing, there were one or two that used the bay to swim but had a silt / mud feeling underfoot & wasn't the cleanest of waters but the pool was ideal for cooling off. The apartments were spacious with free air con had the basic amenities, with never ending hot water,bath & t.v (could only get CNN). You were about 10 minutes from the centre of Gouvia, which had a good selection of bars & restaurants. There was a really quite feel about the place which was perfect for a peaceful stay, with plenty of room to find your own quite spot . All in all a really enjoyable stay at the Govino Bay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We spent 2 fabulous weeks in one of these apartments. They are situated in lovely well maintained grounds which lead down to a beach. The 2 bed apartment was spacious and airy with beautiful views over mountains on one side and the beach on the other. It is only a short 10min walk inot the centre of Gouvia and all the taverna and bars you could ask for.
I have been to Gouvia many times and these are easily the best apartments I have stayed in.
Melodies music bar is not to be missed for entertainment with their many shows of live performances. Nine Muses is good for food but visit Sue at Boulieu Bistro in Kentokali just a 15 min walk from the centre of Gouvia for the best food on the island..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraNewtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C. Barnstead
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We had a great week! The resort is cleaned daily by friendly and helpful staff. Gouvia is on the coast and centrally located on the island of Corfu. The manager and the gal in reception are a wealth of helpful infomation! If you rent a car to travel the island, you'll enjoy the resort even more.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spetalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This apartment complex is just beautiful, the accomodation is spacious, clean and comfortable. Reception staff, cleaners and general workers are friendly and very helpfull. The bus stop is right outside the main gate with regular bus services to north and south of the island. The mini market is well stocked and is open untill late evening, a larger supermarket is just a short walk along the road.The reception can offer a good price for car hire which could not be matched from car hire agents outside the complex. Pool attendants are present and make sure pool rules are adhered to making this area safe and pleasant for all. Some road noise but nothing that a glass of wine before bed time won't put right. Plenty of restaurants, bars and shops within 5 min walk. We couldn't fault this complex or Gouvia at all. Thank you Govino Bay.

Room Tip: Place a request with your tour operator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geminilady_pd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We travelled with First Choice to Govino Bay Apartments in Gouvia. It was our first holiday to Corfu and was excellent value for money. The Govino Bay complex is spotlessly clean, has beautiful gardens, a great pool and friendly, helpful staff. It's on the main blue bus route into Corfu town (approx 15 mins) and also on the green bus routes to the rest of the island. The apartments themselves are quite spacious and equipped to the standard you would expect. We ate out every evening and the cooking facilities would probably be a little limited if you were planning to cook meals at the apartment but there is a great selection of restaurants and tavernas only 5 - 10 minutes walk away in Gouvia. We enjoyed meals at Leon restaurant and Moukas taverna where the staff are great, not patronising and speak excellent english. Corfu town is beautiful and well worth several visits and we also took the green bus to Palaeiokastritsa which is also beautiful but sadly the weather wasn't great on the day we visited. On the whole Corfu was absolutely beautiful, and we would thoroughly recommend the Govino Bay Apartments as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMW120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We rented a light and airy one bedroom apartment at Govino Bay apartments that slept the four of us. The sofa beds in the lounge/dining area were clean & roomy and our 6ft teenage son was not uncomfortable. Cleaned daily except sunday. No frills kitchen but adequate. Bathroom small and dated but ok. Had to have a repair to our hot water boiler in the bathroom but it was fixed immediately with no fuss. There were some apartments closer to the road than ours but those nearer the pool were screened from most traffic noise. Air con unit a bit noisy at night. Nice grounds & outlook rather like a lake as set back from the main bay with mountain backdrop. Small beach. Pool bar open all day sold bar meals (our best & freshest Greek Salad was had here). Good boat trips with swimming on the Madelaina Boat from Govina Bay jetty (excellent value at Eu23 each including beach BBQ) and also with Dimitris Boat from the jetty off neighbouring hotel (Eu15 each) both captains called Spiros and equally friendly and welcoming. Internet access/computer in reception very useful. Local buses to Paleokatrisas cove (beautiful -hire a pedalo!) and Corfu Town, air cond and regular - walked to the little monastry at Paleokatrisas (15 mins uphill) well worth it. Eating out good selection of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance at Gouvia, maybe a bit samey but reasonably priced - enjoyed 9 Muses and one close by - the name escapes me but a lot of green light under a canopy(!) and Felippas - owner v friendly with entertainment on Saturday night (Greek dancing if you want a chance to join in) food ok. If you have a night flight it would be well worth the extra cost £40 or so to retain your room - our cases were locked away for us and we booked use of the shower/changing room for the permitted 1 hour to clean up after a day out but it would have been nice to get some sleep before the 2am pick up! Overall we enjoyed a good budget holiday and were pleased with Govino Bay Apartments.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgetjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
0.2 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Molfetta Beach Hotel
Molfetta Beach Hotel
#7 of 17 in Gouvia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Hotel Corfu
Paradise Hotel Corfu
#5 of 17 in Gouvia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.7 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Govino Bay Corfu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Govino Bay Corfu

Property: Govino Bay Corfu
Address: Gouvia 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Govino Bay Corfu 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Govino Bay Corfu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Govino Bay Corfu Gouvia
Govino Bay Corfu Hotel Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing