We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality quiet Hotel”
Review of Art Hotel Debono

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Hotel Debono
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality quiet Hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

With my approaching ankle fusion, I needed to take Sue for a relaxing peacful break. The Art Hotel Debono leapt out of the page while looking ay Corfu hotels, quailty reviews everywhere, surely for the price this could not be true. Oh yes it was, a real delight, the restoration it has undertaken was first class, the pool was quality and most of all the staff were faultless. Irenee who ran the pool bar at lunchtime was indeed an absolute gem, nothing was too much trouble, she cooked the lunches fresh for every order, her greek salads were devine. She made the point of asking everyones names, apologised if she was more than a few minutes bringing drinks and smiled constanty. The whole team were excellent, good humour was abundent and by watching, but not understanding the banter between them, you could tell that there was good spirit and a happy place to work, which reflected on the service they gave. Half board buffet food was good, changed on a daily basis and there was always a varied choice. Wine and drinks were reasonably priced, quite a surprise for such a quality hotel. We had a junior suite which was very large, super comfy large bed and nice bathroom. Have no problems reccomending this hotel if a quiet relaxing break is what you are after.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    66
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
74
207
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just came back from a 10 days stay at this great hotel. The rooms are nice and clean and well maintained, the staff is very friendly, swimming pool is fantastic and the atmosphere overall is very relaxing. Breakfast is good and plenty of choice, diner is ok but not super.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked the hotel based on the superb rating on booking.com, and were not disappointed. The hotel was very modern, clean, and exceeded our expectations. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful when we had questions or needed something. We were very impressed by the facilities provided on our last day when we had to check out before noon, but our flight wasn't till late in the evening: the hotel has a shower room, several very clean toilets, room to change, and room to keep luggage for a day, all free of charge. The breakfast was very good, with a broad range of hot and cold dishes and fresh fruit. The pool bar also served nice food throughout the day. We can't comment on the dinner since we always ate out in Gouvia town centre, which is just a short walk away. Public transport is only a few minutes walk from the hotel with good connections to Corfu City (2 to 3 buses per hour).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently stayed for a week in the Art Hotel Debono. Without repeating all the same things as previous reviews the hotel is beautifully renovated. We had a junior suite which is ideal for people with children as they have a spacious area with single beds for them to sleep in (rather than a sofa bed). The furnishings are all tasteful and the bathroom is modern. If being picky, the bed is a good size however the sheets are a little rough and the pillows rather hard. There is a fridge (empty) which is great for keeping drinks etc as there is a very reasonable supermarket at the end of the road.

The breakfast was fine. After a few days was a little repetitive and the fried eggs are all cooked in batches so if you don't happen to grab one when they've just been cooked they were stone cold. The pool is lovely, always managed to find sunbeds and was surrounded by a lovely tropical garden. The staff on the whole were good, but the lady at the pool bar was a delight. Always happy and helpful.

In terms of the price and what you get for it, I would have given five stars however, we had an incident on our first day there which dampened our outlook on this otherwise nice hotel. We had checked in at about 2pm, and went to our room which was a junior suite which is what we had booked. The room lovely, nice view from balcony overlooking the trees and side glimpse of the pool. In the evening we had decided to pop out for a quick dinner before turning in as we were all very tired from the 4am start travelling over to Corfu from the UK.

We went downstairs to be asked by the receptionist on duty there what room we were in. We told her & the answer we received was 'There is a problem with your room - you are going to have to move.' We were totally taken back and asked what the problem was. We'd already been in there for 5 hours and there seemed to be no issues. We were then informed that our room was the only room in the hotel which could close off the two rooms by a dividing door and this had been prebooked by another customer and had been given to us by mistake by the earlier receptionist. So rather than coming back from dinner and putting our two very tired young children (3 & 5) to bed we were going to have to repack our things and move rooms.

When we expressed that we found this to be unacceptable it seemed to be met with disbelief from their side. It was told to us that we had to move, not requested and it was only after much protesting from our side that they needed to somehow compensate us for the inconvenience, that they offered to give us a free dinner and drinks one night. When we moved rooms they also brought us fruit, desserts and some sparkling wine which went someway to making up for it. Other than this we had an enjoyable stay there and it was a good base to explore Corfu which is a beautiful island.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ekim_zus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just came back from a week at the Art Debono on Monday. The hotel is spotlessly clean, with good facilities and excellent staff. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and immaculately maintained by housekeeping staff daily. The staff who seemed to work 24/7 were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I received flowers and fruit in my room on my birthday, lovely touches from a very well run hotel. I would thoroughly recommend the Debono.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Set apart from traffic and bustle, yet close to everything, this is a very good value upper mid range hotel. Lovely pool, pleasant room, helpful staff. Breakfasts adequate. Easy bus ride into Corfu Town and the delight of the Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

With my husband and daughter I sent a full week in Art Hotel Debonno. The ideal place to relax. A nice pool without noisy animations. A great pool bar. Fantastic and spacious rooms with a very nice bathroom and a big terrace. The housekeeping was impeccable. And the food was very good. An extended breakfast buffet that changed every day ! And a great dinner buffet with amongst others traditional Greek food. Very friendly and very professional staff. In short: TOPPER !

Room Tip: We had a corner room close to the swimming pool. Nice view and very quiet. Pool closed at 18.00h
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToonGrobet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
0.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
4.3 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
758 reviews
10.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,297 reviews
13.0 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Debono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Debono

Property: Art Hotel Debono
Address: Gouvia- Corfu, Gouvia 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gouvia
#2 Family Hotel in Gouvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Debono 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Debono has undergone complete renovation to create a more luxurious and stylish standard for 2012. The transformation has taken place throughout the hotel and been finished to an extremely high quality.With an enviable location in the northern region of Corfu, the hotel is located in Gouvia. It sits in 32 acres of private land filled with olive and palm trees that are surrounded by luscious gardens. Whilst the private location gives peace and serenity, Art Hotel Debono is ideally placed within walking distance of nearby central Gouvia, where you can find abundance of bars, restaurants, entertainment, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Art Hotel Debono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debono Hotel Gouvia
Art Hotel Debono Corfu/Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing