We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views, lovely warm pool, would go back...”
other traveler has booked this property
Stone Villa Maria
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone Villa Maria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Stone Villa Maria
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Gouvia, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Philip M
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing views, lovely warm pool, would go back - but need a car.”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

+ The views are probably the best in any Villa in Gouvia!
+ Lovely pool that stays warm so you don't get that shock as you jump in!
+ Two dining areas outside - although we found too many wasps in the top one and had to abandon it.
+ The villa is an impressive building and has been decorated by the owners to make it feel more homely than some rental properties.
+ The owners are friendly but will not bother you if you want peace but do regularly come round early in the morning keeping the outside lovely and clean. We had a cat bothering us with begging for food and they kindly came and removed it.
+ The maid regularly comes round to clean - we also had clean towels mid-week. She even did our washing up while we were relaxing after breakfast - felt very guilty!!!
+ We found BBC worldwide on the TV for a little bit of news if you wanted it.
+ From the top balcony you have a 180 degree view and even from the middle balcony the views are just stunning. Make sure you spend an evening or two with a coffee or glass of wine chatting on the balcony watching the boats come and go in the harbour. We took some binoculars - checkout some of those big motor cruisers!
+ Get up at least once to watch the sunrise from the balcony
+ Gouiva is busy but not completely ruined - we had two lovely meals in "Vergina" and the restaurant opposite as well - simple pizza, pasta + greek staples all cooked with great ingredients and friendly staff. You might be made to do some greek dancing in the restaurant Vergina!
+ Use the Dellia supermarket - big green building down on the dual carriageway - the AB is slightly tedious to get to and return from. The junction to get to Dellia is a bit hairy if you go directly from the villa but just drive carefully and you can swing round to get up the hill to the carpark. The others we checked were not as good as these two.
+ Do take a walk around the marina and wish to be that rich.....
+ Do book the Captain Spiros pirate BBQ trip - its great value (we paid around 25 Euro in 2017) - trip up the coast, lots of food, greek dancing, water fight with the other boat, snorkelling etc.
+ Ground floor is a completely self-contained flat - our teenage boys loved the independence! Just make sure they remember not to shut the door with the key inside .....

And the reason for 4 stars not 5....none of these are deal breakers for us - we would go back again as we had a lovely time :-)

- You MUST have a car - its a loooooong walk to town and you certainly wouldn't want to walk back up that hill either in a humid 35+ celcius.
- For nervous drivers the steep single track hill road up to the villa is a bit hairy - and you might have to manoeuvre to let a car past (happened twice to us).
- steps everywhere so no good for anyone with limited mobility
- Advertised WiFi doesn't really work anywhere on the island (intermittently we got the odd few minutes in the villa) including the villa as the internet connection for the whole island can't cope - so its a bit pointless!
- The advertised PS3 doesn't have any games or a charger for the handset - but it did mean we got to talk to our 13 year old!
- The pebbly beach isn't much to write home about but its not too busy.
- little bit of a wasp problem (couldn't use the top dining area) but you end up chilling about it - we had cirtonella + the spiral insect repellants going and it didn't deter them 100% but the lower dining area was ok in the end.
- remember insect repellant and bite cream as we had a few mossie bites.
- Air con needs refurbishment - our room and sitting room was a bit feeble but two other rooms ok.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stelios85...
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife, myself and our two grown daughters spent just about a week at the Stone Villa Maria. We loved the location as it was close to Gouvia and not far from Corfu Town. Of course a car is necessary to get around the island from the villa. A grocery store and restaurants are less than five minutes by car. Be aware that the drive up to the villas is a bit steep, but nothing worth worrying about.

The villa was well taken care of both inside and outside. Not only was the inside well maintained, the landscaping and flowers around the outside added to the beauty. As the balcony faced east, we woke up early to watch amazing sunrises; it was a beautiful way to start the day. The villa's pool and surrounding area was a perfect place for us to sit and relax after a day of bopping around the island. While the climate was very comfortable in May, unfortunately, that time of year does not really lend itself to spending a lot of time in the pool (a quick dip was ok).

The one issue we had with the villa was the wi fi was not very strong. Supposedly the wi fi connection had been upgraded prior to our visit but it was barely sporadic. From inside the villa is was near impossible for us to connect; we would have to stand outside in certain areas to be able to receive a strong enough signal. We called a few times but they were never able to resolve the issues. This is the only reason I could not give them a rating better than 4. While disappointing, we did not let this detract from our vacation. The Stone Villa Maria was overall a great experience for us and made our visit to the beautiful island of Corfu even more memorable.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: VIllas are beautiful, the views are incredible.
Liked least: wi fi connection was disappointing to say the least
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic6T6
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nearly Perfect”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This villa is as good as it looks in the photos. Although Gouvia is not the nicest resort on Corfu, it is actually a very good central base to get to the rest of the Island quite easily. The thing that strikes you most about the villa are the stunning views. It is located right on the top of a hill in a small group of four villas, one lived in by the owners. The 180 degree views to the front, from any of the three lovely balconies, are over the marina full of posh yachts and across the sea to Greece/Albania. To left and right are the mountains of North and South Corfu. The views to the rear are of lovely countryside and the sun sets can be watched from one of the smaller rear balconies. The pool and gardens are lovely, with many options of places to sit according to sun/shade and which view you like.
The owners are discreet and just come early or late to tend the garden. The maid was good too, changing sheets and tidying most days.
On the down side, not that there were any really serious bad points, the villa could be a bit more comfortable for evenings and nights. The furniture is provided with longevity in mind rather than comfort. The lounge furniture was pretty upright and of a really solid foam (eased by raided the beds for pillows) and the beds would survive nuclear war! They are really heavy iron frames with floorboards across, that combined with the same hard foam used in the sofas means that they are firm to say the least. All four guests awoke after little sleep with the same stiff backs. We managed to make it sort of OK by finding some winter quilted bed covers and folding them into about four layers to sleep on. On the plus side there is remote control air conditioning in the top two bedrooms that is really good.
The key question is always 'would I go back?' I think on the whole the answer would be yes, The views are outstanding and the pool area is lovely. With comfy beds it would be top notch.
(38 steps to front door!)

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Hard Beds
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond W
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing, bit secluded, steep hills”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

First of all, had a little trouble finding this as the road was not on our sat nav and couldnt find easily on google maps either, however we did manage to find it after pinpointing it on sat nav using map given and directions, very steep hill up to property make sure to rent a strong car, car definitely necessary as the walk is difficult, along roads, and quite far from main area of gouvia, however 5-10 minute drive, and the property itself was amazing, great views, lovely rooms, we had trouble with the wi-fi however the owner who lived nearby, (1 of the set of propertys up the hill, basically next door) was very helpful didnt fully understand but tried his best and called out a technician who also didnt fully understand english, but with there help plus my limited i.t knowledge we sorted it out and got it working for rest of the trip, very friendly and helpful owners and a lovely property, just be warned strong car is a necessity.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cheap, great views, friendly owners
Liked least: bad wifi, steep hills, long walks
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yordrib
Wigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great base with commanding views”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Villa right on top of the hills overlooking Gouvia Bay, great position. Brilliant pool and gardens, really private too. Very spacious villa, well equipped and furnished. Two outdoor eating areas to choose from. Bit of a trek to nearest bar, but position worth it, and only a twenty minute trek. steep road to the villa though and on several levels with lots of steps, so not suited to anyone with mobility issues. Bedrooms very comfy, each with en suite and balcony over the countryside. Only point of issue was the showers, not up to standard of rest of the villa and look like they came from Poundland - owners need to sort out and will not take much to sort out. but a minor quibble given the overall standard of this property.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool and gardens
Liked least: showers
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Reviewed May 14, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fourth time we've been, fels like home from home
Liked least: Hire car hire breaking down, soon sorted by George, the villa owner
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
777Jay
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2018
Dear Ms. Molenaar,

Kalispera from a still warm & sunny Corfu!

We are really glad when our guests come back to us with nice words. As a company it is our “mission” to ensure that our clients/friends have the most peaceful, relaxing & sunny holiday!

We look forward to accommodate you and your family again in one of our beautiful Villas in Corfu or Paxos.

Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing