We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in good location.”
Review of Orpheus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orpheus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Gouvia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Having been to Gouvia many times I'm used to the general standard of accommodation in the area and the Orpheus is as good as any. Christos and the staff were friendly and helpful. The bed-linen and towels were good quality and changed frequently. There was a hairdryer and a small fridge in the room-both very useful. The aircon is very efficient and was included in the room price.The hotel is only a few minutes from the beach and a 5 min walk to the other side of the main road to the bus stop for Corfu town. Gouvia is a great place to use as a base to explore as well as having a good range of bars, restaurants etc. There was some noise from the nearby nightclub but this wasn't a major problem with the balcony doors closed . Really enjoyed my stay here and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaraNewtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Orpheus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 91 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Bar :

Excellent service and very friendly staff ! The cocktails are amazing...simply amazing ! The owner says he makes the best coktails in Corfu. You dont have to believe him, you have to try them all. He doesnt make them with economy like the other bars. They are rich in taste and alcohol. The music complets the cosy atmosphere with a huge variety of rock and blues songs.

Hotel :

its probably one of the most economic choises you can make in Corfu, but you get more than what you expect. The rooms are decent and very clean, spacious enough. And again I must say that the staff will help you with practicly anything, from information about the island to arranging a taxi transfer to the port for you.

Location :

Gouvia is a very nice a quiet resort, quite close to the town, which is great. The beach is not so crowded like in opther parts of the island. You have tavernas, mini-markets, souvenir shops very close to the hotel and the beach is just 1-2 min away.

Happy i made the choice to stay in Orpheus ! Recomended for people looking for a clean and nice hotel, not wanting to spend a fortune for it ! Great !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Van_Monk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Last year (2012) My husband and I enjoyed many fantastic cocktails at The Orpheus Hotel but didn't realise that it was also a hotel!. Earlier this year I discovered this hotel on Booking.com and so we booked three twin rooms for a family visit in July 2013 and what can I say except it was one of the best decisions we have ever made!

Christos and his family/staff were amazing and so friendly and helpful. Christos even kindly arranged a mini bus transfer for us when we moved from Gouvia to Kalami, a task I found impossible to do from England before we left.

The rooms were spacious, very clean and the beds were very comfortable. There was plenty of hot water in the bathrooms. The only thing I disliked was having a shower curtain and not a shower screen.(I did know this before we booked from the pictures though) The bathroom floor got flooded. This wasn't a problem though, we coped!
We booked room only and found a wonderful bakery on the road past the Gouvia Hotel, sort of near the Chinese restaurant. There were lovely items to take away from the bakery. Hubbie went out each day to bring me back breakfast in bed! (There was a continental breakfast available at the hotel but we didn't try it.)

There were safe deposit boxes to rent in reception at a very reasonable price.

The only downside would be if you had a late night flight as the hotel closed at midnight, a key entry was given to guests to enter past this time.

I will defiantly be back. The location is fantastic, the rooms great and near the centre of Gouvia but far enough from the noise to be able to sleep well. Very close to the Taxi rank too. Do book, it is incredible value for money!

Room Tip: All three rooms we booked were brilliant
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank teresaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the owner wellcomed us with a smile and made us feel like home. The rooms are well equiped and very clean, exactly the confort you need for your vacation at a resonable price. I loved the location because it's in the heart of the small, but lively village of Gouvia, 1 min away from the beach and a 10 km drive from the beautiful Corfu Town. The bar of the hotel offers a warm and friendly atmosphere and, let me say that there i had the best mojito ever !!! We spent almost every night there, enjoying the good music and a delicious drink. Also, in the lazzy afternoons, after comming back from the beach, i used to drink my coffee there and the cappuccino was great! The owner, Christos, a very charismatic and helpful guy, gave us all the tips for a perfect vacation. There are a few tavernas, souvenir shops and other facilities very close to the hotel, the taxi station is right across and about 2 min away, the bus station (local bus for Corfu Town).

So, long story short, we had a great stay in Orpheus. Good and economic hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great services ! Totally recomend it! We will go back to Corfu next year and for sure we're going to book the same hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MihaelaBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel, and for some reason we keep on returning, we last stayed in June 2013 and have booked again for September 2013 for one week. Everything has always been as promised, polite and friendly and only quality you can get from a family owned hotel, also very clean and as we were travelling with our two little dogs nothing was a problem. Everything you need is on your doorstep so if your looking to chill or party this lovely hotel will suit all. (Highly recommended)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was welcomed by the owner like a friend. Felt like coming home. Nice and clean room. Good atmosphere and great location. Would recommend it to anyone. Don't be fooled by the 1 star. Had a 5 star week! Thanks Christos and Nicoletta!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

At first I was a little afraid what can I expect from hotel with only 1 star, but after my stay there I can say that accomodation was better than in many 3 star hotels. Rooms where clean, the staff was REALLY friendly - and also the price was really good. Rooms where equipped with a fridge, climatisation and TV set - everything worked perfectly.
And the mohitos at the taverna downstairs - delightful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JustAnotherTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
0.2 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Gouvia
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Molfetta Beach Hotel
Molfetta Beach Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gouvia
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Popi Star
Popi Star
#14 of 17 in Gouvia
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orpheus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orpheus Hotel

Address: Gouvia 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Gouvia
Price Range: $31 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Orpheus Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Orpheus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orpheus Hotel Corfu/Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing