We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Gouvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gouvia Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spent two weeks here in Sept 2013. Basic hotel, clean comfortable friendly. Breakfast a limited continental breakfast, evening meal set menu was adequate but repeated every five days. This was a budget holiday and value for money. Not really suitable for people with mobility problems no lift and many rooms mean negotiating steps.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor on the side of the pool are convenient. For swimming but there steps to be neg...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Gouvia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a budget hotel and it shows. It,s basic problem is that it,s a restaurant,A very good restaurant,with a hotel attached. The bedding and towels were clean and changed regularly
although the room and bathroom were small. The pool area is decent and I think that the rooms at the poolside were better. It is also situated on the main street in Gouvia and if you
get a room on the street side it can be very noisy. In the height of summer you will need
to have the windows and shutters closed because of the noise so you will have to budget
in another 7 euros a day for air conditioning. For a 14 day holiday it,s almost 100 euros.
The food is tasty and plentiful so if you can get a poolside room and this is your budget
then this hotel is worth the money.

Room Tip: get one far side of the pool away from the road.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lancashirejimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Staff lovely.friendly
Food nice.no choices
Rooms too sml.balcony ok
Showers far too small lovely area.beach lovely .lovely marina and good location.was asked which floor we would like.nice change.no lift for elderly thou.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at the Gouvia Hotel for 4 nights in June 2013. As i hadn't paid much for the room, i wasn't expecting much but i was pleasantly surprised.
The room was spacious enough, the bathroom adequate (although typically Greek!) & it was clean & tidy. I had a massive terrace, a hairdryer & a mini-fridge.
The pool area was very quiet with enough beds & tables & chairs for everyone. The pool, although not heated, was very refreshing in the 40 degree heat!
I popped down for breakfast on 2 of the mornings &, although not a great choice, i was happy enough with endless cups of coffee & a bowl of cereals.
Reception were very quick to check me in & very helpful when i was querying a launderette (500 yards up from the hotel, opposite the entrance to the Park Hotel & they'll deliver to you) & when i needed a return taxi to the airport.
The restaurant at the front of the hotel (Mythos) is a lovely place with fantastic, friendly staff who looked after me the whole time i was there (I traveled alone). The food is lovely & reasonably priced & they do wine by the 1/2 litre :)
Tips in general:
Make sure you have plenty of cash as the 2 ATM's run out of money fast. The nearest cash point outside of Gouvia is at the supermarket on the way to the airport or at the Star Bowl.
Visit the kebab shop next to the Moukas restaurant for lunch or a very cheap dinner. The chicken kebab with chips is only 2.50 euros.
Avoid a room at the front of the hotel as, although the road noise isnt that bad, there is a 'club' a few doors up that's open till 7am
Def avoid room 117 as it's at the front of the hotel getting all the noise but is also at the top of the stairs so you cant have a lie in with all the people going down to breakfast!
I was definitely impressed with the hotel & would stay here again. I would recommend this to people who wanted a short, cheap get away for some much needed sun.

Room Tip: Avoid room 117 due to the music & the noise of people going down to breakfast.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WellTraveledPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Only stayed at the hotel for one night we found it be clean , comfortable and good value for money

Rooms reasonable size with everything one needs , good hot shower ,plenty of wardrobes and nice balcony facing the pool .

The restaurant was at the front only negative was the road traffic noise when eating but a nice enough place to dine with a good atmosphere food was absolutely fine .

Staff were all very helpful , the guy on the desk I assume is the owner whilst not one for small talk he did thank us for staying and wished us a safe flight home which was much appreciated.

Yes I would stay here again it is not luxury but if you are looking for a central hotel close to the beach and ammenities perfect choice if on a modest budget .

Room Tip: Rooms on higher level best
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POLLYTOURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked this hotel for 2 weeks purely from seeing it from the bus back to the airport in May. This is a very good hotel , the rooms are clean and a reasonable size. The bathrooms as in all greek hotels are small but funtional but perfectly useable. The breakfast is usual greek fayre, coffee or tea, orange juice, sliced bread , cheese, ham, tomatoes, egg, butter, jam,and 3 cereal types. This was serve yourself and perfectly good food and you can each at much as you wish. The staff are very polite and friendly.
The hotels restaurant is very good a massive range of meals and you can have a 2 course meal with a bottle of house wine for appros 44 Euros.

Room Tip: The larger newer rooms are in the annex on the other side of the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Phil_P1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a nice little hotel in the centre of Gouvia. The location is fantastic, 250m to the beach and 10m to shops and bars. The hotel does seem to have a contract with school and colleges so be aware that there may be lots of teenagers in large groups about but to be fair they were never a problem to us.
The rooms are very small, but clean, and a triple room does consist of 2 beds with a z bed at the bottom of them! Not too good if you are there for a week or so and the bathroom is so small that you could have a shower, shave and a s**t all at the same time! Also beware that the plugs are so far down on the wall and hidden behind a side table that the mosquito bite plugs didn't work.
The manager is a grumpy so and so but is helpful enough and the rest of the staff are lovely.
The breakfast was a strictly greek affair consisting of bread, ham, cheese and a boiled egg but when it came to dinner they excelled themselves........it was brilliant! There were 3 courses, a good choice of food from the main menu and they were happy to accommodate any wishes, the bread and butter was plentiful and fresh and the food itself was well cooked and nicely presented. The staff were also very helpful when we wanted to go on a boat trip that coincided with dinnertime, letting us eat 2 hours early.
It has it's good points and bad points but all in all a lovely little hotel that is good for the price paid.

Room Tip: Rooms on pool side have the best views as rooms on the back overlook a building site. If you do op...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kimberley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
0.1 mi away
Popi Star
Popi Star
#14 of 17 in Gouvia
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Govino Bay Corfu
Govino Bay Corfu
#8 of 17 in Gouvia
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Bay Hotel
Silver Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kontokali
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel Corfu
Paradise Hotel Corfu
#5 of 17 in Gouvia
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Molfetta Beach Hotel
Molfetta Beach Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gouvia
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gouvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gouvia Hotel

Address: Gouvia 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Price Range: $40 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gouvia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gouvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouvia Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing