We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely little haven”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of gite and your parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of gite and your parking
Entrance and parking at the front Main house with friendly Labrador to greet you.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front of gite and your parking
Entrance and parking at the front
Main house with friendly Labrador to greet you.
Cosy lounge/diner
Quality furnishing
Modern kitchen appliances
As you come up the spiral staircase
King size bed with two separate mattresses and bed settee
Bedroom looking towards shower and toilet room
Your private undercover terrace where smoking is permitted
Sit outdoors and enjoy the grounds
Enjoy the private gardens with outdoor seating
Pond garden looking towards Cidre Barn
Bicycles for your use
Terrace and garden looking to pond
Autumn view
Our two horses that live on the property
Our local big birds taken by one of our guests
Views along the beautiful Valley of the Vire by horse back
Spectacular skies all around the property
Home from home
Property entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saint-Lo, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
lmg201420...
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A lovely little haven”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Delightful gite, designed for 2 but open and spacious. Quiet location but easy access by car to all that Normandy has to offer, easy access to Normandy ports and a stress free journey from Calais.
We didn't want for anything in the gite, very comfortable with good facilities throughout and use of lovely outside space as well.
Owners very welcoming and friendly, as is their dog.
We have rented many French gites over the years and this is certainly one of the best. We had a wonderful relaxing time and would definitely recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2017
Lisa, thank you so much for your lovely review, much appreciated from all my guests who book through tripadvisor and I think that Lacey deserves some credit too for loving everybody who comes to stay at the Cidre Barn. Regards Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJo...
2 reviews
“Best Gite we have stayed in”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Easy to find, great parking just near the gite door. Were greeted by Christine with food and wine. We found it very peaceful, set in the Normandy countryside with a good supermarket 5 minutes away in the car.. Central to Norman castles, D day beaches, Mont St Michael, Bayeux etc. English TV a bonus. Loved the horses and labrador.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just like home
Liked least: Spiral staircase took some getting used to.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutbackCh...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very cozy and comfortable”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in Cidre Barn for a week and used it as base for exploring that section of Normandy. The barn was beautifully renovated and very comfortable. The loft bedroom was large and very light. The downstairs sitting room a was also very comfortable and the kitchen area had excellent facilities.
A rear porch with a BBQ was a treat as was the access to a large garden.
In short it was perfect for us.
The Carrefour in Pont Hebert was certainly good enough for all our needs. No need to travel into Saint Lo.
The area is very light on for decent restaurants and the BBQ was a bonus.
Christine and Ken were very helpful with local advice.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambuslang, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, tranquility
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jenny M
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully finished and lovely people”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights over Easter and was exactly what we needed. Very relaxing and quiet with beautiful surroundings. The hosts were a lovely family, very helpful and accommodating and made sure you have everything you need but never intruded. The place is very clean and done perfectly with good furniture and well equipped. Few cities and places to visit within a half hour drive radius but ever so peaceful and tranquil. We are a young couple and if your looking for a quiet escape we would highly recommend and will definitely return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2016
Thank you Jenny, as it's lovely to know that young people want to escape sometimes and enjoy this area of beautiful Normandy too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Liste...
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for a week this September and it was everything you could want. We both needed a break and this was such a relaxing and quiet atmosphere; perfect!

The bed was amazingly comfy, the shower excellent, the place came equipped with everything you would need and was perfectly clean. There was even a bottle of wine as a welcome present!

For stargazers, the sky at night was stunning (luckily it was clear and no moon) and the large garden was perfect for the warm evenings. We also enjoyed the company of the owners' friendly and very well behaved dog.

Chris and Ken were both lovely and happy to help with any questions we had. Would definitely recommend to any couple looking for a relaxing getaway.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK1605
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“The most beautiful cozy and comfortable holiday apartment I have rented this year”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This old Cidre Barn has been converted into a nice and pleasant and  practical holiday apartment. . The rooms were very clean and comfortable- perfect for our needs.

Chris and her husband were the perfect hosts, very helpful, thoughtful and friendly.
The barn is located in a quiet rural area with a lovely feeling of tranquility, and not far away from the most interesting tourist site seeing .

All promised in website were fulfilled and we recommend it .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing