We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“3rd visit for us. Can't wait to go back for the...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Tourmalet

Chalet Tourmalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1 View from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1
View from the kitchen
Nearby river
Summer in the valley
Lounge
Spring skiing
Chalet in winter
Dining area with a view to the garden
On a Tour de France route
Driving down from La Mongie
Bedroom 4
Sample Bathroom
View from the balcony/ terrace
Home produce
In the heart of the Campan valley
Payolle Lake in February
A wonderful place to see Spring flowers
Come and see the famous 'Mounaques' of Campan
View from the Col du Tourmalet towards Bareges
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Bagneres-de-Bigorre, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
malcin
Foulbec
2 reviews
“3rd visit for us. Can't wait to go back for the fourth!”
Reviewed February 20, 2019 for a stay in January 2019

Yet another fantastic ski holiday spent at chamet Tourmalet with Carolyn and Stefan. We can confirm all the rave reviews already published by other guests.
Holidays don't get better than this!

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2019
Thank you Malcolm! See you next year then!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P13610
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Warm friendly hosts who catered for our every need.”
Reviewed October 4, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Carolyn and Stef were the perfect hosts. We had a very warm greeting and were made to feel at home straight away. We had an evening meal with them which was delicious, as much as you could eat and a generous supply of alcohol. We could make use of the communal tea/coffee making facilities anytime, day or night. Breakfasts were equally as good as the evening meal and generous portions. The room was clean and comfortable with good en-suite facilities. The morning that we left Stef gave us a fantastic breakfast and then supplied us with cheese-filled croissants and yoghurt for the journey. If we return to this area again we will definitely stay with Carolyn and Stef again. Thank you for a fantastic couple of days!

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2018
Thank you for your kind words. We hope we get to see you again sometime in the near future. Best wishes Carolyn & Stefan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitch_n_R...
2 reviews
“2nd visit. Nowhere better”
Reviewed August 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Our 2nd visit to Chalet Tourmalet, and yet again Carolyn and Stef were fantastic, offering great service, lovely food and oodles of help, advice and friendly conversation.
The Chalet is situated near Ste Marie de Campan, is a large detached chalet with great facilities for a group of up to 9 or ten.
The 3 of us were there for a week, v.lucky with weather, enjoyed cycle rides up Tourmalet, Aspin, Hourquettes d'Ancizan, Soulor etc. Lots to see and do. Pic du Midi on foot or by cable-car is a particular treat.
Many Thanks Carolyn and Stef - top marks yet again

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2018
Thank you so much Pete. You are most welcome. Hopefully see you again soon. Best wishes Carolyn & Stefan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurensD1...
Flanders, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Without a doubt the cosiest chalet of the Pyrenees!”
Reviewed August 6, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had planned a hiking holiday in the Pyrenees and had a few days to spare. We wanted to spend these following the Tour de France. No better place to watch than along the Tourmalet ascent of course! We arrived late due to awful TdF traffic but Caroly and Stephan made us feel at ease right away. Two super friendly hosts with lots of great stories to tell. They kept finding ways to make our stay even better. Carolyn lent me her bike to ride up to the Col du Tourmalet, Stephan drove us up to where we wanted to watch the Tour de France pass by,.. He even made me drink all his trappist beers!
The food was great too! On beforehand, we decided to take diner there the first night and go out the second. After diner the first night, we quickly asked if we could stay for diner on our second night as well.

Usually I'm not a big fan of the B&B-concept as I feel like I'm intruding people's privacy but I felt really comfortable staying with this lovely couple. If you're in doubt, doubt no longer and spend your holiday here!

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2018
Wow! Thank you guys for your endorsement. Hope to see you again sometime and haven't forgot about the photo. C& S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEB27
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What an absolute gem of a place”
Reviewed July 31, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed with Carolyn and Stephan whilst Denis cycled the Tourmalet and Aspin. They catered for our every need and were so helpful with all our planning. THE FOOD!!! What a cook, Carolyn!! Didn't want to eat out at all! And so reasonable. The ambience, the care you put into your special place and the great conversation! We will be back! Thank you both for your expertise and a great place to stay!

Date of stay: May 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2018
Thank you both for your kind words - we enjoyed your stay as much as you did! Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D
1 review
“Ski Holiday with Friends”
Reviewed July 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

By far the best holiday I’ve ever had!

Carolyn & Stef were such incredible hosts, both extremely friendly and ready to bend over backwards to ensure a fantastic stay!

Carolyn’s cooking was just perfect, delicious home cooked meals that left us all in love with every single meal. The Chalet was beautiful too, Especially the living/dining room with the log fire where we often fell asleep after a long day of skiing.

Stef was great too, every morning ready to drop us off wherever we were going in the mountain, giving us all the tips of where was great to go on the mountains which runs were best for everyone in their abilities, and again picking us up with just a phone call with the condition we had “a half pint ready for him at the bar”.

Both were great company and definitely made the holiday what it was. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great homely feel surrounded by fantastic people.

Thanks for such a great holiday both!!

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2018
Thanks Tom for your kind words. We throughly enjoyed looking after you all that week. Hope we get to see you back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twowheels...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“a fantastic base”
Reviewed July 23, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

my good friend Mark and myself planned the trip to the Pyrenees to enjoy the many local iconic cycling and tour de France routes. We were not disappointed. we were over 8 hrs late to arriving due to BA flying us in without our bikes and I was worried that we would not eat that night. I needn't have, arriving at 10 pm Carolyn and Stef' we there waiting for us, and after seeing us in, introduced us to the fantastic cooking we were to receive for the rest of our 4 night stay. I can truly say that we were left wanting for nothing. Highlights were the substantial cyclists breakfasts, and evening meals, great conversations hospitality and fantastic scenery. There are two very good cycle shops within easy distance and if you want to eat out plenty of local restaurants. highly recommended

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2018
Thank you Richard - we enjoyed your stay too! Hope to see you back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing