We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Tourmalet

Chalet Tourmalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1 View from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1
View from the kitchen
Nearby river
Summer in the valley
Lounge
Spring skiing
Chalet in winter
Dining area with a view to the garden
On a Tour de France route
Driving down from La Mongie
Bedroom 4
Sample Bathroom
View from the balcony/ terrace
Home produce
In the heart of the Campan valley
Payolle Lake in February
A wonderful place to see Spring flowers
Come and see the famous 'Mounaques' of Campan
View from the Col du Tourmalet towards Bareges
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bagneres-de-Bigorre, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Seadeuced
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday location”
Reviewed June 18, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Another great holiday with Carolyn & Stef. Great host ad great friends.
We normally stay for skiing but decided to see what it was like with no snow on the ground. Wasn't dissapointed, the county side is beautiful and the mountains still dramatic even if you have to drive over instead of ski down them.
As always the food at Chalet Tourmalet was beautiful and we were made very welcome. Looking forward to returning now in January.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2018
Thank you Les. Glad you were able to see more of our wonderful area and look forward to welcoming you back in January! C & S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahgQ72...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pyrenees cycling week”
Reviewed June 9, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Perfect location for many different routes whether cycling from chalet or short drive to take on different cols.
Carolyn and Stephan were the perfect hosts being wonderful company and attentive to all of our needs.
Carolyn's food was full of variety and worthy of a Michilan star and even Stephan boiled the eggs to perfection!
Great week, great hosts, great food.
Highly recommended, 5 stars!
Thank you
Sarah and Simon x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2018
Thank you both so much - it was a great week which we enjoyed as much as you. Hope we get to see you again. C & S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinheyb...
Northfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 Stars for EVERYTHING!”
Reviewed May 23, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Spent 4 days cycling with 7 friends. Carolyn and Stefan were much better company than my friends!
We all had a great time, along with a lot of laughs (and tears cycling Tourmalet!)
Was like being looked after by my Mum and Dad, nothing was ever a problem for Stefan and the food was out of this world. Carolyn could defiantly run a Michelin star restaurant no problem, it really is that good.
I will defiantly be going back next year and will be recommending to anyone thinking of going to the area.

Thank you both for a great weekend and see you next year!
Kev

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2018
Wow! Thank you Kevin, we are blushing! Seriously, we also enjoyed looking after you guys and hope we can welcome you again to Chalet Tourmalet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnL436...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cycling weekend”
Reviewed May 21, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Wow, just back from a great cycling weekend based at Chalet Tourmalet
Couldn’t have been better.
8 guys intent on cycling the Cols.
Carolyn and Stef are great hosts with much knowledge of the area and were so helpful.
We were picked up and dropped off from Lourdes airport and on arrival immediately felt ‘at home’.
Carolyn’s cooking is exceptional and we all felt thoroughly spoiled.
I can not recommend Chalet Tourmalet enough.
Try staying there you will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2018
Thank you John! We enjoyed your company too. Hopefully we will see some of you back for more cycling or skiing soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisyear...
South Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing week.”
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Visited the chalet in January as a group of 8 for a skiing trip and I can’t praise the accommodation and hosts enough. Carolyn and Stefan are amazing hosts and really do make the experience the best it can be. The food throughout the week was amazing and the drinks available made it the perfect combination.
Thank you for an amazing week and I hope to be back next year!
Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2018
Thanks Lewis, so glad you had a good week - we enjoyed the group staying with us. Dani has already been in touch about dates, so see you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_emberto...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic week”
Reviewed March 18, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Me and a group of 7 friends stayed at Chalet Tourmalet for a week in January 2018. Carolyn and Stefan were more than accommodating. They gave us lifts to and from the mountain every day. As a previous chalet host myself, the food was above and beyond my expectations. The chalet was everything you would need after a day of skiing, especially the hot tub! Overall a great experience and would recommend to everyone.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2018
Thank you so much! Looking forward to having you back. Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Week Skiing in the Pyrenees, Amazing Hosts and Location.”
Reviewed March 12, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Chalet Tourmalet, having missed out on my skiing for the last 20yrs a long-time friend and I elected to undertake a road trip from the UK to La Mongie in the Pyrenees. Having skied all my youth this was a decision that took many months to make on location and dates and seconds to confirm we had found a gem.

Our hosts Carolyn and Stephan provided us with an excellent service from the onset, we were assisted and catered for in our every need. From special dietary to advising on routes, availability, dates, translation service, arranging ski hire and so on, the list is endless. We were also provided with a UK mobile number for communication on route allowing valuable updates on our arrival.

Our car journey was via Portsmouth/Caen taking 10 hours from Caen including 4 stops, 2 for fuel and 2 for a longer leg stretch. Adhering strictly to the speed limits and with a Toll Tag fitted to the car sun visor; it could not have been made easier. Those who elect to fly can fly into Toulouse, Lourdes – Tarbes and Pau (Pau is a little over an hour away, Lourdes – Tarbes less, and Toulouse around 2 hours).

Our stay was made extra special by the wonderful service and home cooking, Carolyn is a culinary wizard in the kitchen and Stephan is a true gentleman with a “nothing is too much trouble” service. The skiing was fantastic, which covers 100 km and rises to 2500 m, with 70 runs and 34 lifts. The local service was friendly, helpful and warming, this is millionaire skiing without the millionaire inflated price tag.

Chalet Tourmalet is a home from home, quiet bedrooms with an on-suite ensured our every privacy. The chalet and the rooms are warm, spacious and very comfortable, from the peace and quiet to the scenic surroundings - there is something for everyone, young or old, all year round.

My personal and huge thanks to Carylon and Stephan for making our stay extra special, wonderful hosts, fantastic couple and amazing service.

Also, my thanks to Graham a long-standing friend; for finding such a great location just 20 minutes from the slopes.

My only regret was that one week was not enough, next year’s dates are already in the diary.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2018
Wow, we are blushing from your kind words! Looking forward to having you here next year. Carolyn & Stefan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing