We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Return visit”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Tourmalet

Chalet Tourmalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1 View from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1
View from the kitchen
Nearby river
Summer in the valley
Lounge
Spring skiing
Chalet in winter
Dining area with a view to the garden
On a Tour de France route
Driving down from La Mongie
Bedroom 4
Sample Bathroom
View from the balcony/ terrace
Home produce
In the heart of the Campan valley
Payolle Lake in February
A wonderful place to see Spring flowers
Come and see the famous 'Mounaques' of Campan
View from the Col du Tourmalet towards Bareges
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bagneres-de-Bigorre, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dennis M
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return visit”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Well as I said we would return
We did had a fabulous time again
Do not miss this great opportunity to receive the excellent hospitality given by Carolyn and Stefan

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2017
Thank you Dennis! Same time next year? Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpreet...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food, views and hosts....Simply amazing!”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Carolyn and Stefan are unbelievably amazing hosts. Not only are they incredibly welcoming and accommodating, they are a lot of fun to be around. Carolyn's food is wonderful and after a long day of cycling her cakes were perfect for recovery. This must have been the only cycling holiday where I gained weight! Stefan is a delight, full of jokes and stories you are guaranteed to have a whale of a time.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Thank you Harpreet! Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwioutth...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food & location”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Carolyn and Stefan are lovely hosts, very down to earth and chatty. We aboslutely loved Carolyn's cooking!! She catered very easily for me a vegetarian and another guest who was gluten-free along with the 6 normal eaters. The food was amazing! Stefan picked us up from Pau and dropped us in Tarbes at the end of our 5 night stay- great he could offer this transport service to those without a rental car. We had a small double room with a nice en suite bathroom. Everything was very clean and tidy. Wifi reception was good in the shared living area downstairs and there was British tv here too so we could keep up to date with Tour de France and Wimbledon news. I made use of the book exchange corner and enjoyed chatting with our hosts and the other guests who were staying at the same time. It was a relaxing few days. My husband loved cycling up and down the nearby mountains, raving about the quality of the roads and the bike he hired (thanks to Carolyn's recommendation). Aside from the food and watching the Tour de France riders fly past, a highlight for me was walking to the top of Pic du Midi- highly recommended! Our stay here was pricey but we were there in peak Tour de France season so not that surprising. It was a beautiful relaxing place with plenty to do if you wanted to explore and very kind hosts. We can recommend it to others!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Thank you for your kind words Kate. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travelling and maybe we will be able to welcome you both back another time. Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P
2 reviews
“What a place”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was my second time returning to Chalet Tourmalet and I can say that yet again it didn't disappoint in the slightest. Carolyn and Stefan are the perfect hosts, making their home yours for the duration of your stay; never before have I felt more welcome whilst on holiday. Not only did they welcome me into their home, they made my stay as comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing as possible, taking care of me, showing me the Pyrenees and cooking me the most amazing food. The chalet is always kept clean and tidy, which only helps to enhance the beautiful scenery you are surrounded by whilst there. The chalet is situated in the perfect place, enabling you to open your shutters in the morning and have your breath completely taken away by something that should be on a postcard, not in front of you. Would I recommend Chalet Tourmalet to others? Of course.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, Hosts, Food
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Thank you Dani! What a lovely review! We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harriet a
1 review
“Beautiful views and amazing hosts.”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The most amazing thing about Chalet tourmalet is waking up to breath taking views every morning, it never grows old and is absolutely worth the stay. The hosts are particularly great because they make you feel so at home it genuinely feels like you're staying with friends in such a welcoming atmosphere and they go out of their way to make sure your experience is the best it can be. The food was insanely good and I would recommend this Chalet to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and views
Liked least: that I couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2016
Thank you Harriet! It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W
1 review
“Amazing! What a great week!”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Spent a week with fantastic hosts in this superbly situated B&B. An ideal base for cycling cols such as Aspin, Horquette, Luz Ardiden and even Hautacam, and obviously the Tourmalet plus many more. Stef also offers to pick up and drop off cyclists for longer rides and transfers to and from airport..Why wouldn't you want to hear his jokes?? Carolyn is an exceptional cook with plentiful breakfasts and 3-course dinners available at bargain €20. Cake and tea is also on offered throughout the day. We were made to feel very welcome and the rooms were spacious and clean. Laundry and fresh towels offered. A fantastic week with great company...get it booked!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery, company, food
Liked least: Leaving!! Ha!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2016
Thank you Mark for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Carolyn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Not long been back from another wonderful week of skiing in the Pyrenees topped off with a fantastic stay at Chalet Tourmalet. This is our 6th time staying at Chalet Tourmalet and it never disappoints! As soon as you enter Chalet Tourmalet, with the view of the pyrenean mountains, you cannot help but relax instantly. The rooms are always beautifully clean, all ensuite and the food absolutely delicious. The hosts Carolyn and Stefan go out of their way to accommodate your every need, nothing is too much trouble and they make everything easy so you can truly relax all holiday. Every day started with a hearty breakfast and after a long day's skiing ( and some Apres in the resort!) the fire was always lit when we arrived back at the chalet with a scrumptious cake awaiting us. After a soothing dip in the hot tub on the veranda we tucked in to a beautiful meal cooked by Carolyn with Stefan as Sous chef. We are already planning another trip to Chalet Tourmalet! Thank you Carolyn & Stefan for another wonderful week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing