We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very welcoming hosts, fantastic food”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Tourmalet

Chalet Tourmalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1 View from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1
View from the kitchen
Nearby river
Summer in the valley
Lounge
Spring skiing
Chalet in winter
Dining area with a view to the garden
On a Tour de France route
Driving down from La Mongie
Bedroom 4
Sample Bathroom
View from the balcony/ terrace
Home produce
In the heart of the Campan valley
Payolle Lake in February
A wonderful place to see Spring flowers
Come and see the famous 'Mounaques' of Campan
View from the Col du Tourmalet towards Bareges
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bagneres-de-Bigorre, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
clholla
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very welcoming hosts, fantastic food”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Visited with friends and family at the start of October, the chalet was beautiful and the surrounding area is very picturesque. Carolyn and Stef, the hosts, were very welcoming and the food was superb. An ideal place to stay for both cycling in summer and skiing in winter. Would definitely recommend.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2015
Thank you Clare. We hope to see you again next week year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregAlll
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Arran MAMILS cycle tour 2015”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Outstanding hospitality, good quality food and plenty of it. Ideal base for cycle touring, including Tourmalet, Aspin etc.. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2015
Thanks Greg! We enjoyed your stay too. Hope we get to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very magnifique.”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A real gem.
Delicious food and the warmest of welcomes.
Carolyn and Stephan really did go the extra mile to make our stay so very enjoyable.
Fantastic breakfasts and dinners with home baking squeezed in- between.
A great location for cyclists with easy access to Col du Tourmalet, Aspin, Peyresourde, Azet, Houquette and many more.
I really cannot recommend Chalet Tourmalet highly enough.
Merci

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all aspects fabulous.
Liked least: nothing at all.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2015
Thank you Peter! We do hope we get to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham M
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I never write reviews but this really, really deserves to be given 5 stars!! This is a really nice chalet, very clean, comfortable rooms and everything you would want/expect. However what sets this apart is the absolutely superb hospitality provided by Stephan and Caroline. I cannot speak highly enough of them, on every single level they did everything possible to help and make you feel very special. For example, we were on a cycling trip and had a major mechanical at top of a Col which was over an hours drive from Chalet, no problem to Stephan who came to collect us. Another example, one of our party was staying at a rather quiet local hotel that provided sparse breakfast and no dinner - again no problem to Stephan & Caroline that welcomed him into our chalet as one of their own guests. Fed him breakfast, dinner and also drove him back to hotel late evening. Other touches like the fire being light for our return after a hard cold day in the saddle and lots more. Seriously if you are going to this location to cycle, ski, hike or just to relax do not think about going anywhere else - a true gem! Thank you S&C!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great chalet but warm, very kind hosts made the trip!
Liked least: Nothing - really I can not fault one aspect (maybe Stephan's jokes!).
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2015
Graham, thank you. We had a lot of fun with you guys and really enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we get to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALCOLM G
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great room, spotlessly clean, in a delightful chalet.
Excellent food and wine with two really terrific hosts, who looked after a couple of wayward cyclists for a few days. Many thanks to them.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful hosts.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Thank you Malcolm and Helen. Safe onward journey and come back and see us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, excellent hosts”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Chalet Tourmalet is situated in a large amount of land set well back from the local road leading between Sainte Marie de Campan and the very popular skiing resort of La Mongie. An excellent location for skiing in the winter and walking and cycling at other times of the year (the Tour de France had literally passed the front of the property only days before I visited). The Campan Valley is stunningly beautiful at all times of the year.

Carolyn and Stefan are great company and excellent hosts who made me feel thoroughly at home, ably assisted by their dog Dodge. Nothing seemed too much trouble. There are a variety of foods on offer at breakfast including cereals, fruit, croissant, toast (home made bread) various home made preserves and tea/coffee/juice. Carolyn is an excellent cook and the evening meals were wonderful and varied.

The accommodation is spotlessly clean and the room I had was generously sized with en-suite.

Accommodation can be booked on line but passing trade is also accepted if bookings allow – look out for the yellow framed bike at the edge of the road.

Strongly recommended for families/couples/groups of friends and singles like me. I will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, local amenities, excellent hosts, real 'at home' feel.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Thank you for your kind words - come back and see us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina1141
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Home from home with perks”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We arrived at the very end of the ski season and was pleasantly surprised to find this gem of a swiss style chalet in what looked the middle of no where in the French Countryside of thr Pyrenees.
Carolyn was a brilliant cook and Stefan and Carolyn were perfect hosts.
The ski resort itself is at the top of the road that the chalet is based. In july the same road stages the Tour de France.
The Chalet is very comfortable and clean, there is a hot tub but we didn't get to use it as we were too engrossed in the sociable atmosphere of Chalet Tourmalet.
For dining one needs go no further than the Chalet. The views from the Chalet are fantastic with sheep in the meadows and a mountain range backdrop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The food and wine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
Thank you Tina for your review. We hope to be able to welcome you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing