We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour de France base” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valerie's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bagneres-de-Bigorre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valerie's
Adelaide
1 review
“Tour de France base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We werent sure what to expect as we had not organised to stay at Valeries. We were warmly greeted by Valerie with some refreshing cold beers after our trip along the coast. The plan was to meet my brother and mate and ride some of the Pyrenean cols of the tour. The town is well located to many of the famous climbs including theTourmalet, In the evenings we would return for some lovely home cooked meals and local wine with good company. Enhanced with fresh food of the season from the amazing local markets each meal told a story. Bastille day fire works were just around the corner after dinner.. some of the best fireworks and music we have seen in a long while. I feel we must return some time to see everything covered in white during the winter as well as spend some more time in the thermal pools which I missed and a second horse riding lesson for my son. Valerie felt more like a long lost aunt to all of us. In short our four day stay was not only refreshing to the taste buds but also to the soul. We leave with fond memories to share with our friends at home of this splendid corner of South West France.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
23
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

The is the second time we have stayed at Valerie's and as always she provided a fantastic atmosphere with good food and excellent company. We were pointed in the direction of the slopes and local walks which were all highly recommended and did not fail to impress! The local food she provided was fantastic and we will most definitely be staying next time we decide to head to the South of le France! Thanks Val!

Lucy & Jake

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy4529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay with Valerie over Christmas in December 2011 and to say we had a wonderful stay would be an understatement. We were collected from the airport in Lourdes by a smiley Valerie who instantly put the group at ease and. Upon arrival at the B&B we were very impressed with the lovingly restored French townhouse and the facilites available to those who stay at there. The rooms are clean and comfortable with nice views across the square (particluraly of the tower which is beautifully lit at night).
One major plus point about staying with Valerie is the food! For a small fee we had tasty packed lunches, complete with delicious French bread, to keep us fueled on our days skiing, the breakfasts were delicious with a wide range of pastries and more of the delicious bread (Valerie's jams are amazing). Dinners in the evening were equally impressive and she was very flexible with regard to any dietary requirements, plus everything was washed down with wonderful local wines.
If you get the chance while there take Valerie up on a massage, she has a great little set up and it is perfect for easing the aches and pains of a hard day's skiing or walking.
Overall I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Valerie's to any travellers going to the area, you will be taken care of to the highest degree - and I, for one, can't wait to go back!
Marc

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

We took a leap of faith and landed safely in Valerie's lap. Let me explain. From 7,000 miles away, I was looking for a place to stay as a base for some hiking in the French Pyrenees. I am generally not a fan of B&Bs (too cloying), but the reviews of Valerie's intrigued me because they were so consistently good. I made reservations for three nights for my husband and myself, as well as for our daughter and her boyfriend.

The door was open when we arrived at Valerie's in Bagneres-de-Bigorre, a beautiful town in the Midi-Pyrenees, and I knew immediately that this was the right place...she made us a pot of strong tea, which she served with a homemade nut bread. The days went like this: Valerie cooked us breakfast, we shopped for lunch (fresh baguettes, fresh fruit, local cheeses and cookies), went on long beautiful hikes, had a late afternoon spot of tea when we arrived back, and a shower and a rest before sitting down to Valerie's spectacular dinners.

The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable and the 300 to 400 year old house is fully restored. Don't miss having dinner at Valerie's (20 Euro per person, a bit more for a special birthday dinner). She is a fantastic cook. Here's a sample: caramelized onion tart as a starter, pasta with smoked salmon and broccoli in a cream sauce, salad, bread, a cheese course featuring several local cheeses, apple crumble for dessert and all this washed down with three different local wines. Oh la la!

I couldn't agree more with the general sentiment expressed in the other reviews--although I would like to keep Valerie's a secret, it wouldn't be fair to do so. Most of the other reviewers are British so I want to add an American perspective. Three things that Americans sometimes expect: a lift (elevator), air conditioning, and a bathroom in the room. None of these are available at Valerie's (or the majority of accommodations in France). If you are looking for these, then look for an American style hotel. To me, the # 2 rule of travel is, "when in Rome, do as the Romans do" (#1 rule is don't pack more than you are willing to carry 10 city blocks). So be prepared to climb the stairs, use the bathroom off the hall, and enjoy the incredible place/person that is Valerie's. Bonne journee.

Room Tip: Contact Valerie early to book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phildrip
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

As others have said, we'd really like to keep Valerie's a secret but we owe it to her to spread the word!

We had a really relaxing time staying in Bagneres de Bigorre as a base for skiing/boarding in the Pyrenees. The trip between Bagneres and La Mongie only takes about 30 mins, and after a day on the slopes we were able to fully relax and wind down in an authentic French town.

Valerie is an amazing chef and went out of her way to cook tasty, traditional French food (don't come here expecting curry and pizza!) which was out of this world. She's also great company and was very helpful in pointing out various attractions in Bagneres - and even showed us round the ski slopes.

When our stay was up we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phildrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

I have just had 5 days in Bagneres De Bigorre at Valerie's who is an absolute delight, she made everything so warm and welcoming. The food was all fresh and outstanding. The house fits perfectly in the location, is clean and comfortable.

Valerie always went that extra mile to ensure we had everything we needed and to ensure we got to the places we wanted to go.

Thank you for a wonderful time I hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyfalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

A third time visit to Valerie’s in BdB and because the value for money is so excellent. We have seen no increase in price for the 3 years we’ve been coming and the house is as charming and warm as ever. The food is still as excellent with freshly squeezed oranges for breakfast and the largest and most delicious boiled eggs you have ever seen. We eat in every night because the food is delicious and wine is provided in the price of the meal. The ski was good and only after our third year, do we feel that we have skied all that is within our capability. Perhaps Val will move to the Alps for our next years ski trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHarryAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagneres-de-Bigorre hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Saint Vincent
Hotel Restaurant Saint Vincent
#3 of 14 in Bagneres-de-Bigorre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carre Py' Hotel
Carre Py' Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bagneres-de-Bigorre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Residence Des Thermes
La Residence Des Thermes
#5 of 14 in Bagneres-de-Bigorre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Thermes de la Reine
Hotel Bellevue Thermes de la Rei...
#7 of 14 in Bagneres-de-Bigorre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Petites Vosges
Les Petites Vosges
#2 of 19 in Bagneres-de-Bigorre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Commerce
Hotel Le Commerce
#15 of 19 in Bagneres-de-Bigorre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valerie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valerie's

Property: Valerie's
Address: 1 Place Jeanne D Albret, 65200 Bagneres-de-Bigorre, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Bagneres-de-Bigorre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bagneres-de-Bigorre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed, Breakfast and optional evening meal (booked in advance). Renovated traditional town house on 3 floors situated in a quiet square in the old town close to all amenities. I can accommodate up to 8 guests. Please visit my own website for more details ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valerie's Bagneres-De-Bigorre, France - Midi-Pyrenees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing