We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the food!”
Review of Le Marie-Jean

Le Marie-Jean
Ranked #40 of 277 Restaurants in Sete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $87
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved the food!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've only reviewed the best restaurants of our vacation, and this was definitely one of them.

We arrived at our hotel and asked the manager where to find delicious food and he recommended Le Marie-Jean.

The menu included a 3-course dinner with wine for only 16.50 EU. We had fresh oysters, and mussels in garlic butter, lamb, creme brulee and a glass of very nice white wine. It was all delicious! The staff was very friendly and explained the items on the menu to us and the service was excellent. The ambiance of Le Marie-Jean's was cozy and warm.

We highly recommend Le Marie-Jean to any traveler looking for a great deal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz and Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    121
    30
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Typical seafood restaurant, a bit touristy”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The food is really good, surprisingly good for a touristy place like this. The daily menu was better than expected. A la carte dishes were not worth the price. The interior design inside was quite tacky, sitiing on the street felt like dining on a motorway. All in all a good experience but not one to be repeated. There are better places in the surounding smaller illages.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
231 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very competent, good value, dog friendly.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I chose this on the basis of TA reviews and found them accurate. Food simple and good, good value set lunch, competent service. Dog friendly too. We arrived quite late but service was not adversely affected.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank verity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beziers, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bastille Day dinner”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just returned from Sete where we spent Bastille Day. We followed the previous reviews and weren't disappointed. Despite this being a busy public holiday we had a lovely three course meal from the €15.90 menu . Ample choice and very good attentive service. Be careful as there is a similarly named restaurant nearby which we can't vouch for. Instead of trawling the streets, just go here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard7852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Seafood soup!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

There are a lot of restaurants along this row. Not easy to choose from walking by - so go here. Food is wonderful. Definitely have some soup and otherwise eat what they suggest.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckFamily15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Marie-Jean also viewed

 

Been to Le Marie-Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing