We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of Hotel le National

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel le National
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

As with another review, the end of our cycling holiday from Bordeaux. Hotel is clean and comfortable, and away from the crowds of the canal. Good breakfast, and friendly host. Convenient to everything you might need. Great outdoor market (can't remember the day) at the end of the street. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PickwickClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    108
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
38
147
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel was so convenient and a beautiful walk to the town. It is a great value. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and thoughtfully decorated. It had a small balcony facing the opera house. They offered a nice breakfast buffet. It was very easy to find a place to park the car. The building is charming. We loved Sete and would return to the le National. Just be sure that you realize that the office is closed in the afternoon; so time your arrival accordingly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust196744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Imagine, if you will, cycling fifty miles along the canal du midi route from Le Somail to Sete. Imagine, too, that Sete`s canals and city waterfront is the wonderful surprise it was to me a weary old Englishman on a hot August day. Then to find the two star Hotel Nationale being in such an imposing building raised my morale. The Impression is of a sound , perfectly adequate place, next to the imposing Moliere theatre ,which is being renovated. Just park your bike in the spacious hotel lobby. Take the lift to your comfortable ,large bedroom with its balcony overlooking the theatre.. unpack your bags and, feel ABSOLUTELY secure/safe!
Wallow in a hot bath/shower -and then explore. You are only 500 yards from the mainline railway station;also there is an excellent restaurant -- lunch only ,thirty yards from the front door. Other restaurants are dotted about in a quarter mile rdius of this quiet hotel I slept like a log.

Room Tip: choose one overlooking the Moliere theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank servabofidem35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is 5 minutes walk from the train station where we arrived but we had to wait until 5pm before we could check in, we new this in advance so great problem. Our room was on the first floor facing the opera house/theatre and we had a small balcony as well. The toilet was seperate from the shower room ,which is very handy in the morning with 2 people getting ready. that first night we walked into the main part of sete, around a 15 minute walk and had dinner at one of the many restaurants. We took breakfast in the morning and there was a very good selection of cold fare. The owner was very nice and accommodating and we had a comfortable 3 night stay here. I agree with other people that this is more like a 3 star hotel rather than a 2 star and is very quirky. We enjoyed sete but it is very busy and also industrial and touristy at the same time.
We found all the restaurants serving the same thing , they are all very similar so i do not think it matters where you eat

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBHAM5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Others have noted that this hotel is worth more than its 2-Star rating and I agree. Decor of public areas is tastefully quirky (e.g the casual placing of the antique bicycle on the first floor landing!) and thoughtful decorative touches around the breakfast buffet. Our double room (#7) was adequately sized for the two of us, plainly and freshly decorated. Shower room (loo is separate) was small but again, adequate. Continental breakfast content was well above average.
Street parking outside the hotel is unrestricted 7/7 and the hotel is just a ten minute stroll to the quayside restaurants etc.
Given that this small hotel is run hands on by the proprietor with minimal assistance, the afternoon closure seems very sensible. Why have somebody hanging around the reception desk doing nothing on the slim off-chance that a customer might appear before 5pm. Our confirmation made the arrangement very clear, so there was no inconvenience at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilchalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel has been recently renovated and while the fact that the reception is not open until 17:00 could be a problem you are informed when booking. The staff are very helpful giving an introduction to the town and its attractions. The rooms are large for a two star and very well equipped with a good WiFi connection. Being on a side street it is quiet but still an easy stroll from the station if like us, you arrive by train. Breakfast is the typical french self service but with excellent bread, croissants and honey. All in all an enjoyable place to stay in Sete at a very affordable price.

Room Tip: Just remember you can't check in until 17:00, just have a drink at the nearby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Overall appears better than its 2star rating. Very clean and rooms a good comfortable basic standard with great breakfast. Be aware reception is not permanently manned and hotel closed during the afternoons.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetFlipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sete hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
#6 of 18 in Sete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#1 of 18 in Sete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Port Marine
Hotel Port Marine
#8 of 18 in Sete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Sete Centre
1.5 mi away
Citotel Imperial
Citotel Imperial
#4 of 18 in Sete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sables D'or
Hotel Sables D'or
#3 of 18 in Sete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le National

Property: Hotel le National
Address: 2 rue Pons de l Herault, 34200 Sete, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Sete
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le National 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le National Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing