We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baffling ratings”
Review of Hotel le National

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel le National
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Overall a poor experience. The closure of reception in the afternoon was extremely inconvenient (yes; I should have noticed this perhaps, but this was one of about 10 booking I made and I simply could not read the small print of all of them).
My room was tiny, poorly decorated with peeling wallpaper, and sparsely furnished with poor quality bed, desk and a small cupboard (it does not merit the name "wardrobe").
There is virtually no separation between bed and bath rooms. The shower comprised a shower tray and curtains.
If my room was representative of the hotel as a whole (and I did nose into a couple of other rooms which seemed similar) I cannot understand why this establishment is top rated on this site. As a bargain basement 30E a night place it would be acceptable but at nearly twice that it is very poor value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mchumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 254 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel is near the station in a quiet street near the Moliere Theatre. It is a pleasant 10 minute walk to the centre of Sete or you can take a bus from nearby bus stop for €1.
The hotel owner was very welcoming, the room was a good size and the air conditioning was greatly appreciated. It was excellent value for money.
We enjoyed exploring Sete and visiting nearby Montpellier by train.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby_of_Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We are a 24year old couple who stayed here for 2 nights in August 2010 while travelling around the south of france

Great place - as in all other reviews - great location, fantastic service by the friendliest hotel owner who let us store our bikes in the lobby, gave us endless maps and information about what was going on - where to go/what to do.

Rooms were spotlessly clean - amazing value compared to others in town that we looked at. Very quiet through the night

Parking was on the street just outside the hotel - we had no problem getting a space

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I'm not surprised that this is the No 1 hotel in Sete. The receptionist is very attentive, welcoming and will go out of his way to make sure you have a good stay. The foyer and communal areas are very nicely decorated - perhaps the rooms are a little more old fashioned but for the price, quality of service and attention, this hotel is good value for money. You can park for free right outside the hotel. We loved this town, the people, the food and the wine!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here for the Worldwide Festival in early July, having booked the hotel on the basis of cost and location (very near to the train station in a lovely street).
The rooms were quiet, modern and very clean, with excellent air con. The free Wifi was quick and very easy to set-up.
Eric, the manager, was very helpful and friendly.
I would certainly recommend it to others and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WME01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here for the Worldwide Festival in July. The hotel location is fantastic - close to the station and near buses for the beach. The receptionist was lovely, very helpful and friendly and our room was nicely decorated and cleaned every day. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelKittyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

this is a lovely hotel, and we really liked the way the stairways and foyers were decorated. our room and the ensuite were clean and nice. would recommend - it's only about a 5min walk from the train station and the owner is friendly, and the price is good, too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knpderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sete hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Port Marine
Hotel Port Marine
#8 of 18 in Sete
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
#5 of 18 in Sete
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Sete Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Citotel Imperial
Citotel Imperial
#7 of 18 in Sete
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Sete
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#9 of 18 in Sete
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le National

Address: 2 rue Pons de l Herault, 34200 Sete, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Sete
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Price Range: $71 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le National 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel le National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le National Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing