We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location to explore Sete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location to explore Sete”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice location to explore Sete for 1 or 2 days. Nice reception, good clean room (101), decent size. Room and bathroom could do with a restyle/refresh, bit stuck in the 80s. But hey, its for a good night sleep in a central location. Took petit dejeuner across the street. Very friendly helpfull staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    125
    55
    11
    7
See reviews for
37
159
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel is older style but clean and comfortable. We choose a superior double room which was at the top of the hotel facing the canal. We found the view intriguing and the fish restaurants around the hotel plentiful. You can open the doors/windows to get extra air but as we were there in April I don't know if this is effective in summer. It was a good place to stay en route to the Pyrenees from Avignon area. The canal and harbour area in Sete are interesting but I cannot imagine it being a really good longer term holiday destination unless you sail. Parking on street really difficult and the hotel has 4 or 5 parking spaces below (9 Euros/night) so get there early if you want one. For us - A comfortable stay in a town that gives a different perspective of France on a 9 week driving holiday.

Room Tip: Not too aware of room offerings but suggest you would only want a room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at Hotel L'Orque Bleue in September 2012 and found it to be a very comfortable hotel for my purposes. I initially scheduled a 2 night stay, but while at the beach I strained my right knee. Initially I could hardly walk, and I could not drive my manual shift rental car without great difficulty, so I ended up staying at this hotel for a further 2 nights. They were very accommodating of my situation. The hotel night attendant helped arrange to get me some medications to relieve my pain and swelling. The staff both before and after my injury were very nice, friendly and helpful. Even though they have indoor parking, these spaces were very limited and always taken so I had to scramble to find parking on the street. Sete itself is very congested and street parking tough to find. The room and bathroom were very large and spacious and comfortable. And the room was clean. Breakfast was pretty good by French standards. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. This is a very nice place with nice people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeninUkraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a simple (no view) and quite comfortable room (the mattresses were starting to be in need of replacing). The continental breakfast was huge and very filling, but was not included in our room rate. There is a lift if required. A great location right on the Royal Canal... We really enjoyed our one night stay. A nice simple place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a better quality room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B-McTavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Booked a 2 night break here. Perhaps its because its November but we found the whole town drab and this hotel only just OK. I booked because of the lovely image of the courtyard but, as the locals think its winter down there, the courtyard was shut up. We saw the room I'd booked and decided a cell wasn't acceptable for 2 nights for 2 people so we upgraded for a whopping 50% more. The room overlooked the quay which is a working port rather than a holiday sailing destination. The smell of diesel can be offputting when the boats are preparing for cast off.
No mini-bar, tissues, shower screen and a rather strong smell of must in the room if you keep the window closed. Breakfast is perfunctory and no choice; bread basket, yoghurt carton and apple sauce. Friendly staff on reception but overall, the place lacks charm and the above average price is purely for its location.

Room Tip: If you don't want a small room with no view, opt for the more expensive €96 euro one. Parking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

When we first saw this hotel, at night with the facade illuminated, our jaws dropped. We determined to stay here on our return trip and we did - extending our stay to two nights as we liked both the hotel and Sete so much. You choose this hotel for the views over the canal. We had to change rooms after one night and both had that wonderful view over the water, the boats, the town and Mont St Clair behind. Just glorious. And not at all noisy in October. Boats chugging up the canal at night sound quaint rather than noisy. Undercover parking (restricted, so book when you book the room, 9 euros) and free reliable wifi. Breakfast was good. Nine euros each bought juice, jug of coffee, yoghurt, compote, cereal, fruit, rolls and instead of one large croissant, a baby one, plus a baby pain chocolat and a sugary brioche. It really did last us all day until we ate at Chez Francois which is just over the bridge. The rooms are not as chic as the comunal areas and room 323 might have been considered small for the price (103€). But we preferred it's plain grey decor and white bathroom to the rag-rolled brownish walls and yellow bathroom of the larger room 322. The saving grace there was the size of the bed - big. Both rooms have spare furnishings to keep them feeling as spacious as possible, but it's the central position and that view that count. Also, the hotel is on the right side of the canal for evening sun. The houses opposite glow red in the early morning - making for excellent photo oportunities - and you bask in the sunset. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Third floor front for the best views of all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popsical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Good location, on canal overlooking Sete. If you can afford a room with a balcony, go for it! Great atmosphere watching the boats and general hustle and bustle. Room itself had a kingsize bed and TV, although it looked a bit faded. Furniture badly knocked (with handles etc. missing). Bathroom very dated, with no shower curtain and poor water pressure. Didn't take le petit dejeuner, but breakfast area looked attractive and appealing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sete hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#1 of 18 in Sete
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Port Marine
Hotel Port Marine
#8 of 18 in Sete
392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel le National
Hotel le National
#6 of 18 in Sete
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Citotel Imperial
Citotel Imperial
#3 of 18 in Sete
297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sables D'or
Hotel Sables D'or
#2 of 18 in Sete
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#9 of 18 in Sete
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orque Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orque Bleue

Property: Hotel L'Orque Bleue
Address: 10 quai Aspirant Herber, 34200 Sete, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Sete
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Orque Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the canal Royal, in the heart of the city of Sete, l'Orque Bleue is the ideal destination for business trips and unforgettable holidays. With a unique wiew over Sete, its channels and the St Clair hill, this beautiful hausmannian building welcomes you in a quiet, charming, modern and confortable atmosphere. En-suite, hair dryer. Reversible air-conditioner. Lift. TV . Phone. Internet high speed connection wifi , free. You will find quietness while staying in town. Lounge for meeting. Coffee break. Parking near the hotel.Private garage (with reservation). Pets not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel L'Orque Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Orque Bleue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing