We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprisingly good hotel ...”
Review of Hotel Port Marine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Port Marine
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Reviewed April 11, 2009

A really quite surprisingly good hotel given it's three star rating. The rooms are perfectly adequate, the views excellent and the restaurant is better than you'd expect. There's free parking. I only stayed one night on my way back from Spain to the UK but found it a pleasant stop-over.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandakirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 441 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2008

Hotel has an excellent location just next to the sea and famous canals.
Our room had a seaview and was very nice considering hotel only has 3 stars.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

I would stay again in this hotel and would also recommed it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aroundtheblueglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

We had 3 nights in this hotel, following a visit to the tourist information office. It's down on the old port, Approximately 2 kilometres from the train station, but we WALKED it with our wheeled cases, carefully avoiding the dogs mess every few metres, and back when the time came.
We were first shown to a seaview room, but the armchair was badly stained so we opted for a room at the back, large, excellent digital tv ( tho no English programmes), with separate bathroom and toilet. Excellent value, and very clean. Reception staff so so. Didn't seem very helpful most times, and declined to show any knowledge of English. But we liked the hotel, and as someone has mentioned, alongside the canal is a host of excellent restaurants specialising in seafood, eg, Moules Frites about 8 euros for a huge pressure-cooker of them. And whilst this is very much a working port, and not cosmetic, the area outside the restaurants is not unlike the Grand Canal in Venice, if that's not being too fanciful.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
2  Thank Cynffig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2006

My wife and I stayed here in a 'suite' (larger room with small balcony) for 2 nights in July. The room rate was €144 per night excluding breakfast. Smaller rooms with no balcony cost about €90~ €100 per night.

Plus points :
* well located to visit Sete ..vast array of restaurants within short walking distance of hotel.
* car park (but in busy times you'd need to be back at hotel before 5pm to be sure of getting a spot. Probably only about 12 spots in total). As previous reviewer said, Sete itself has narrow streets and seemed to use to be permanently traffic choked.
* small swimming pool on 4th floor terace. However we didn't use it (we went to nearby beaches) so can't rate it.

Negatives:
* we found staff (with one exception) surly and with poor or non existant English. Most seemed to have some attitude problem to English speaking guests, we felt. Most guests when we were there were French.
* near busy and noisy roundabout ..while we had a balacony, it faced directly on to roundabout and was therefore very noisy and unattractive to sit out in.
* Breakfast pricey at €9 each. Just outside main door to the left is a bar which does breakfast for €5.50. We found it perfectly adequate.
* AmerKay Club oppoiste HOtel appears to have all night discos..at least while we were there. However problem was not sound from disco itself (we didn't hear it in our room) but car noise and shouting from guests leaving disco at 6.00 am following morning. We may have been unlucky to have stayed in HOtel when AmerKay Club were running discos ..it may not be a regular occurance.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2006

We stayed 1 night in May 2006 as a stop over between Barcelona and Monaco

Located at the far end of town near the port, it was a bit of a walk from the train station, but that was our choice.
The staff were all very helpful and spoke very good English.
Our room was on the 3rd floor at the front, overlooking the Mediterranean. Very large room with a big bed. The toilet is seperate from the bathroom. The LCD TV was a nice treat.
There are plenty of fantastic restaurants nearby with great seafood that is "straight off the boat" fresh.
In summer the roof top pool & cafe will have the best view in the town.
The taxi from hotel to train station is approx €20.
We will be back there again, for more than 1 night next time!

4  Thank Bamboli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2006

I stayed in this hotel over Easter 06 and I can't find much wrong with it to be honest, good location JUST outside the main drag. Sete was nice to wander around and look at the market and eat copius amounts of oysters, they were very cheap and excellent quality, and the shop that sold them was very close to the hotel.
If you get a room here try and get one with a balcony (there are only six rooms with balconies) see photo, you get a good view of the crashing waves from you room and I would say more light in the room. I recon the best thing about this hotel was the fact that it had a private car park which came as a relief as the town of Sete wasn't made for cars to be parked in their narow streets, not sure if the other hotels around offered parking, but if they don't I would go for this one. The restaurant looked nice, but we didn't eat their as we wanted to look around the town for a restaurant. Room was small but clean, well painted and the bed was firm, I had a good nights sleep in it.
I've got to say the only draw back is that the hotel isn't a nice looking hotel, it is modern and functional and that's it, check out the photo i've attached.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JuandeBarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: A entretenir! Disfonctionnement total du wifi au rdc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Inter-Hotel
Thank christopherJ4939MQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrLormand, Directeur général at Hotel Port Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sete hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
#4 of 18 in Sete
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Sete
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#9 of 18 in Sete
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Citotel Imperial
Citotel Imperial
#7 of 18 in Sete
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Sete Centre
1 mi away
Hotel le National
Hotel le National
#5 of 18 in Sete
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Marine

Address: Le Mole Saint-Louis | Le Mole Saint-Louis, 34200 Sete, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Sete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Price Range: $81 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Port Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Port Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Port Marine Sete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing