We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good View”
Review of Hotel Port Marine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Port Marine
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for only 1 night on 15 May 2012. It was still low season, so we managed to find ourselves a corner room with quite a good view of the harbour area.
We were concerned about the noise, for the hotel was situated on a very busy roundabout, but with double glazing this was no problem.
The hotel was quite far away from all things happening in Sete, but with a brisk walk, one would be in the hustle and busle of Sete in no time.
We did not have breakfast, for it was too expensive, measured against South African standards.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILIKETRAVEL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Port Marine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 424 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights in a 3rd floor sea view room. No it was not noisy (double glazing) - the balcony is about 1.3 meters high, only a dwarf would be unable to see over it! The rooms are of a good size, comfortable and clean. I'm not sure where the critics of this hotel stayed, but we were very satisfied with the facilities.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms have a nice view, and double glazing keeps the noise down.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed one night during the holiday season. Three of us with our adult daughter. Very small room, complicated and uncomfortable extra-bed. No soundproofing and worse a very busy road AND a very active disco just accross the street. Uncooperative front desk.
All this for only 170 Euros. Look for some other place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I wanted to enjoy a peaceful, restful long week-end next to the see. Unfortunately everything offered by the hotel was the opposite. The room was above the entrance of the hotel. The see-view for which I paid 118E/night was small and only if stand. The hotel is situated in a roundabout and you hear all the noise of cars, motorcycles, etc. even at 4 o'clock in the morning!!! There are not enough parking places so you need to find one yourself around the hotel or to pay the garage. The breakfast is offered on a terrace with a beautiful view to the see, but it is very "thin". You need to think twice what you eat other wise you will stay hungry. I definitely won't return in such a place!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zuzu51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of April, and agree with previous reviews that this hotel is in need of updating and redecoration. The room we had overlooking the sea (as long as you were standing) was quite small and not somewhere you would want to stay for more than 1 night.
The maintenance in the bathroom was poor, with poor attention to detail. It’s not that the bathroom was dirty, as such, but the bathroom was just outdated and very very tired.
We had a look around, and found the swimming pool and breakfast room on the top floor. Great seafront views from here, but the room smelt so bad that there was no chance we were going to eat there.
The charge was 104EUR for the room, and 8 EUR for secure parking in a garage, which we feel was overpriced. Our recommendation is ... find somewhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belld01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We had stayed at this hotel a few times previously, but since our last stay it has deteriorated to such an extent that we would never stay again. It is overpriced for what it offers and the only value is the free parking. We had a "suite" which was very pokey, the bedroom had just enough room for the bed (which was very uncomfortable) with terrible pillows, and shabby furnishings. You couldn't swing a cat in the bathroom. The loungeroom had awful stained and worn carpet and chairs, the rest of the furniture was old shabby and mismatched, and looked like it came from an op shop (probably did). The windows had never been cleaned, nor had the tiny balcony. Dirty curtains. No English on TV (they could have at least provided CNN in English). Traffic noise from the roundabout was unbearable so you couldn't have a window open. There is a disco (Americlub) across the road which thankfully was not operating during our stay, but would imagine this would also be very noisy when operating. The staff were not very friendly - very typical French who look down their nose at English speaking tourists.
On the plus side, the view is great and it is walking distance to an array of excellent restaurants right at the port (avoid the overpriced fancy restaurants in the town itself). I would not choose to stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed three nights and wished we hadn't stayed one. We paid over the top rates for a 'suite' - really more like a rabbit hutch. Obviously a once large room divided into two poky ones. We wanted a sea-view but you had to stand up to see the sea! It was stuffy, scruffy, stained and thoroughly past its sell-by. This hotel has little to recommend it apart from the car-parking and the friendly staff. The swimming pool area is unattractive with no bar facility and no towels provided (nbot even at a cost). The proximity to the port is good but there are better hotels - and they are cheaper too!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sete hotels
0.9 mi away
Citotel Imperial
Citotel Imperial
#6 of 18 in Sete
321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel le National
Hotel le National
#4 of 18 in Sete
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#9 of 18 in Sete
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
#5 of 18 in Sete
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Sete Centre
0.7 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Sete
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Marine

Address: Le Mole Saint-Louis | Le Mole Saint-Louis, 34200 Sete, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Sete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Price Range: $104 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Port Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Port Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Port Marine Sete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing