We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood, amazing views and very good service”
Review of La Coquerie

La Coquerie
Ranked #21 of 284 Restaurants in Sete
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a new restaurant opened last week
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great seafood, amazing views and very good service”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The restaurant's location is awesome, high in a hill overlooking the Mediterranean and the Jean Villar theater. We were received with a warm welcome from Anne's husband (Anne is the chef). He gave us very good advice regarding local wines to complement Anne's seafood. Anne will bring you whatever fresh seafood they have found in the market combined with vegetables from their garden. The presentation is a work of art and the taste is amazing! The night we tried it we had as amuse bouche a mussel that was stuffed with some cream that was the best mussel I have ever tried. This was followed by 4 different seafood plates and then dessert. The service was friendly and unrushed. Be prepared to splurge as the restaurant is not cheap, but the food, the great service, the wine and fantastic views are well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hernan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    33
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fethiye, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Chef”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When the restaurant opens at 8.00 p.m. the Chef, Anne Majourel is there to give you a warm welcome. However don't expect to be let in early for an aperitif that is not the way this restaurant works. The set five course menu is original and explained well by the staff in good english for the non linguists amongst us. We for example, were treated to a delicious cucumber sorbet flavoured with thyme accompanying our apricots for the desert course. The 2 wines we chose did not live up to their price tag at 52 euros a bottle.

They do it their way which may not suit everyone but suited us very well indeed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“rude”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Entered the completely empty restaurant at 3:00 pm to ask about directions. Was told by whoever was there that "he is not a tourism office". I would not set foot there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank cancer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely - worth the detour”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

If you are travelling and aren't familiar with local delicacies and are in the mood to learn, this is great. Was warm and inviting, - love open kitchens - satisfies my OCD tendencies. Let Anne chose for you. Just perfectly run show for the space, and the best of languedoc on each plate.

Helpful?
3 Thank BrisbanePrincess_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Aervice and View”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a quirky and cool little place. There is no choice of menu - but waht is prepared is exquisit

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Coquerie also viewed

 

Been to La Coquerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing