We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Coquerie

La Coquerie
Ranked #18 of 274 Restaurants in Sete
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a new restaurant opened last week
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Diappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Five courses, 4 great, one not so great. Veal inedible. Service shocking. Requested advice from sommelier who showed zero interest in us. In fact, he spent the entire evening speaking to his friends Very badly designed. Seating very uncomfortable. Felt like we weren't really wanted there and were a slight irritation. Which is disappinting when spending over £300. We would have spent more if anyone had shown the slightest interest in our lack of wine!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Alexiamaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    32
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sete, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bargain for top quality gourmet meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Bravo! Located on the hillside of Sète overlooking the mediterranean, 4 tables are set in the high tech kitchen where the chef Anne and her teams concoct the daily unique menu, with produce coming straight from the local fruit and vegetable market and fishermen's boats. The dishes are refined, elegant, fresh and tasty. Anne has paid special attention to sourcing fabulous local wines for her wine list. I would not recommend this restaurant for a romantic tête à tête meal as there is not much intimacy, I would recommend it as a "gourmet food experience". Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VELISSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Almost like having a fine chef cook in your home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

La Coquerie, which means galley, is a restaurant. It could also be the closest thing to having a chef cook in your own home, although few homes have a stunning view of the port of Sete and the Med. The wedge shaped room has as much glass as floor space. There are just four oyster shaped white tables so bookings for two at busy times are going to be a challenge.

Anne Majourel was at the stoves for 20 years at the Ranquet in the Gard (near Anduze) earning a Michelin macaron. After a two year pause she has emerged in Sete and created a layout where she can interact with her diners – behind a long curling bar half the room is the kitchen. Anne cooks and often serves the dishes to personally explain them.

The menu offers a no choice 5 and a half courses that changes daily according to the ingredients, especially fish, she buys at Les Halles (indoor market). Plats might include filleted red mullet layered around a slice of hot foie gras or loin of sea bass from a large wild fish with sun tomatoes and basil. For dessert, baked local pear with a verbena sablé and a glace of quince and rosemary. The dishes aren’t over elaborate and rely on herbs for seasoning and to accentuate freshness.

Husband Jean-Luc acts as sommelier and the wine list, more a pile of cards strung together, appears to be a selection of organic standard wines. There’s a nod to natural un-sulphured wines such as the expressive Foulaquier Pic St Loup Les Tonillières 2010.

La Coquerie won’t be for everyone, just four tables ensures that. For those seeking a €55 menu experience of the best the region has to offer then add La Coquerie to a pretty short list.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank grahamt34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Brilliant cuisine in amazing setting...best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

First off, I must add that i was looking forward to this restaurant opening for a long time. I spend a lot of time in the region and visit many restaurants looking for the perfect meal...and alas, I have found it!!
Anne is a Michelin rated chef ( 1 star ) at her former resto in Anduze, so her reputation is already made.
The restaurant is very, very small....I believe maximum of 15 people with a superb view on the Med. The decor is minimal, modern and fresh. The kitchen is open, so you can see her and her sous chef work. The atmosphere is lively as restaurant is tiny. Anne serves the food as well, and she is very personable
Now for the food..the menu is set daily by Anne who does the market in the mornings, and you have no choice. It is a menu that she chooses everyday.
I would categorize my meal as very fine, delicate and incredibly fresh. This is a Michelin experience without the pretentiousness.
Amuse Bouche: Tempura Soy leaves, Tempura shrimp
Starter: melon gaspacho, marinated maquerel with a type of aubergine, tomato salad.
Starter: grilled oyster, muscles with a chorizo crumble
Main: Wild loup ( fish ) with a tartare of vegetables
cheese platter
desert: poached peach with vanilla syrop and a fresh ice cream on side.
Menu never stays the same I was told, so dont expect this exact menu.

One of the best meals I have ever had, all for 55 euros, which is very reasonable for what you get.
I write this review with hesitation because I am certain it will soon be very difficult to get a seating here. Enjoy...you will adore this gem of a gem.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank gohabsgo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Coquerie also viewed

 

Been to La Coquerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing